We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it and you won't regret it!”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Book it and you won't regret it!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I spent a month traveling both Colombia and Panama and Mamallena (Cartagena) was among the top hostels I stayed at. I felt safe, the staff was superb, the atmosphere relaxed, rooms/bathrooms clean, the price fair and the location perfect. My only complaint was that the 8 person dorm room upstairs had an air conditioning unit so intense that once it kicked on around 9 or 10pm the room turned into an icebox of frozen doom. If you didn't have an extra blanket with you or a towel to use as well as the sheet provided, you were in for a cold night. But hey, all things considered, if the worst part about Mamallena's is that they have an AC unit that works too good, I'd say they're not doing too bad! I must also make mention of the truly fantastic staff members!!! Absolutely terrific people who were so helpful, genuine and always at the ready. There was nothing I had to want or need for that wasn't made readily available by this fantastic crew.
Thanks again for making my first experience in Colombia a positive one!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKenzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    160
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
7
142
122
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hostel achieves the hard balance of social, friendly vibe with a place you can relax and actually get some sleep. The room and shared bathroom was really clean, and although we only booked a room with a fan it was enough to keep cool at night. The location was perfect too with plenty of cheap eats around and a short walk into the old town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the owner Stuart involving himself directly with guests to ensure all their needs were met and seeking feedback on their services. This hostel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIllTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am a 38 year old Irish man travelling solo in south America. I have been in many hostels in Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia Chile Argentina and Brazil to date. This is one of the most fun and awesome easy going place I have come across!! Deeps, the fantastic unbreakable front desk lady Deeps, is just incredible. With 2 days notice I mailed the Hostel looking for a trek to the lost city, a boat to Panama and a place to stay. Deeps responded so quickly and with solutions that just amazed me. I am senior manager in Multinational companies for years, and this my friends was the best service I have received in south America to date, believe me!!, I was blown away with the lady Deeps knowledge, professionalism and a energy.. If your looking for clean, great clientele with a laid back ethos, then this is a the place for you!! I highly recommend it, to the fullest! And would definitely.... definitely come back here again mainly cause of Deeps, because she is the hardest working lady ever that can fix a problem or query so easily!!!! Come with a smile and a positive attitude and Deeps will take care of the rest! :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

Room Tip: Contact Deeps.....she is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great location for all backpackers, on the street where everything happens, close to attractions, bars and street food. Very user friendly hostel with helpful staff and good beds to sleep in.
Social bar out front always had decent music on as well and free shots!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRISIORDANOV1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a great stay at Mamallenas. Perfect location, well maintained, great vibe and extremely friendly and helpful staff. It is a really social, lively hostel and would 100% recommend, especially if you like to have a good time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alexanthony90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I planned to stay four nights but I moved out after the first. It is very much noise in the inner court yard, even is someone is talkning it feels like there are standing in your room.
Party all night, the person that worked at night did not care, I personally had to try to tell some people to stop praticing Spanish outside my door at 5 am.
I was woken up constantly during the night from people heading home and I am not easy to wake up normally.
In the morning one of the employes "trained" a parrot to say something, meaning repeating the same sentence like 500 times. Extremly annoying to listen to at 7 am...and a parrot in a hostel...if I knew I would never had gone there.
When I checked out earlier they just told me they were sorry and that other people also had complained...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
These reviews continue to amaze me, stating things that have been said before and that are obvious when you enter. You knew the price and you saw the room before accepting it. You walked through our courtyard and saw all the tables and chairs to get to your room, you must have known it would be in use. It is a hostel and it was Saturday night. While we don't let people make noise in the courtyard at night people still do continue to do it, especially when they come home after a night out. We do our best but we're not their mum, nor yours. We didn't train the parrot to annoy you!! We didn't train the parrot to say anything, its a parrot and thats what they do. We actually do try to keep it locked away in the mornings and it comes out later. Most people like it hanging around at breakfast and interacting with every one.

All in all we do our best to control the people that are here, but they're all adults as are you. There is nothing wrong with you asking people to be quiet and we expect people to take responsibility as well as our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We loved our stay at Mamallena's in Cartagena. It's in a great location, the staff are friendly, professional and really helpful!

We had a private double room withe ac which was really reasonable, clean, spacious and comfortable.

The hostel is really social - there is a bar at the front which has a happy hour everyday (awesome cocktails). There is also a large patio area in front of the private rooms with plenty of seating where you can meet fellow travellers. Despite the patio being directly outside our bedroom, we didn't find it too noisy. The staff are good at moving on any late night socialisers around 11:00/11:30pm to the bar area.

I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We need more people like yourself :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
15.8 mi away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
58 reviews
15.7 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
493 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
393 reviews
44.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#110 of 153 in Cartagena
128 reviews
46.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing