We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
whistler
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hostel found this by chance was looking for medi Luna as per lonely planet, which is directly opposite this place, when we arrived with friends they also said to stay here, however they were full, spent one night in medi Luna and left the next morning straight away to move, felt medi Luna didn't have a vibe it was heads on beds where as at this hostel they help u with everything tours are clearly spelled out on a board and will help u with everything

Also this hostel cheaper and u get breakfast

Terry, Australian manager was great, relaxed vibe,

Later in week recognized other ppl that I saw in medi Luna, they too had switched over

This is a new hostel, so this is reason why not in lonely planet

Only negative, not really they suggest one company for fast /slow boat to islands of only one is running that day go to docks urself find a boat, and rooms can get hot but they supply many fans, and was even hotter next door, !! However it is Colombia and humid .....

Wonderful stay

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    153
    68
    23
    12
See reviews for
7
141
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely social hostel! Great staff that are very helpful. Prefect for meeting people! The rooms are clear with fresh white sheets. In a good area of Cartagena with lots of places to eat nearby, cheap and good Colombian food!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomspellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Clean, comfortable and no stupid rules! We stayed at Mamallena for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hostel was just getting up and running at the time and as there were renovations going on there was a discounted rate. Stuart the aussie owner was very friendly and helpful as were the rest of the staff. In a good area with plenty of cheap bars and places to eat, and just walking distance to the old town, Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are A/C and non A/C rooms available for both dorms & privates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PE1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place has a kitchen, free breakfast & coffee, is one of the cheapest in Cartagena. It's perfectly situated in the same street as bars, right around the corner from some cheap eats and walking distance to the old town.

The staff are very friendly and always available to help with anything you need. Drinks and snacks are available to purchase, there's free wifi and three computers for free use.

There's plenty of information around for tours and your next stop, no matter where you're going - particularly if you are going to Panama by boat.

The air conditioned room is actually cheaper than non-air conditioned rooms elsewhere. Book ahead to make sure you get a bed in there.

Each night there were some people sitting around having drinks but that generally ends at about midnight when they either go to bed or go out.

All of the bathrooms are being refurbished, a tv room is being setup upstairs (there's currently a tv to use in the downstairs cafe/bar area - which is also a work in progress). So even though there's some work happening, it's still a cool hostel with what you need for a fun visit to Cartagena.

Room Tip: As of Sep 2012 there is one room with air conditioning - if it's available, take it. An extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

stayed here for a week and could of stayed for a month,great location in the heart of all the action,rooms are very spacy and clean,the owners are great, stuart knows just about everything you need to know about the city, taking boats and stuff like this, he is like a walking lonley planet and he want to help you as well,.the thing i liked about thes hostel the most was the layout the comon area,it brings the poeple together and creates a realy good vibe,i was traveling alone so it was perfect for me i meat some poeple the first day i arrived and that made things easier.thank you mama llena and well when i go to panama i will be staying there as well.....the dogs are really fun as well.A ll i can say is if you are in cartagena this place rocks...

thank you
nick

Room Tip: not sure just stayed in one at the back it was very big and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for one night before moving next door (more on that later) and I'd like to add my thoughts. This place was well reviewed (rave reviewed pretty much here on TA) so me and my girlfriend took a double room for our stay in Cartagena before leaving to sleep on Playa Blanca.

Double bed was good and new, with two good pillows and a sheet with what looked suspiciously like spunk stains on it. There was no A/C nor ceiling fan, but a floor fan that was rattly as all hell and provided minimal cooling - we slept the other way round and naked around to be closer to the fan, and I was still sticky and way too hot. No windows in the room, just some cutouts in the wall, so not much ventilation = uncomfortably hot. Bathroom was very small but clean and fresh looking with no door but at least a curtain. Two other single beds in the room and it backed onto an alleyway in which there was some pumping disco music on the night that we stayed.

It's a very backpackery hostel, by which I mean some young backpackers were sitting around drinking beers and playing poo-head (profanity filter..). There is a kitchen. After a lousy night trying to sleep in the heat, and not really feeling the vibe of the place, we checked out in the morning and went to another hostel.

Staff were pretty nice. One has a puppy that is a rescued street dog I think - kinda badly behaved but cute nevertheless. It goes to the toilet in the courtyard area. When I actually met the owner, who I talked to via email before coming, I found him a bit brusque and dismissive. Me and my girlfriend wanted to go and stay on Playa Blanca, and were trying to get some information. We had checked out by then but knew from our stay they were doing tickets. He said that '100%' the cheap, slow boat would leave on Monday and we could buy tickets from him. We questioned him saying that the flyer on the wall said every day except Monday. He promised again that it definitely went on the Monday. We went to our new accommodation and asked there and they said that it didn't go on Mondays but we went back and bought tickets there, keen to leave the next day. Talked to different staff at Mamallena at that time and they too promised 100% that the boat would be leaving. Got up at 6am the next day, walked down to the docks and found out that was wrong and they had screwed us. I'll keep it short but it involved 2 hours of stress (and when we went back they didn't offer any discount or anything, just said 'oh okay well pay 15,000COP more and you can go on the speedboat' and I didn't appreciate being messed around despite asking repeatedly if they were sure about it.

Anyway, regardless of Mamallena's refurbishment situation, we moved into Hostel Marlin, next door, getting a big private room w/ ensuite, ceiling fan, A/C and free breakfast, for 5000COP more. It was great and we saw others that we had seen the previous day at Mamallena. Maybe once it's done up it'll be better - or maybe it's just not for me.

Room Tip: Some dorms have A/C that I think you can pay a little more for, but AFAIK none of the privates do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Ok, first I have to apologise about the boat to Playa Blanca. The company that we work with DOES leave on Mondays, usually...... Unfortunately on that Monday the boat was cancelled, and they had called us to tell us on Saturday. They told one of my staff who then didn´t pass the message on. We accept responsibility for that and when you return we did our best to fix the problem. I know that you didn´t wait too long at the boat terminal as the people there told me you found out straight away(the boat leaves at 8am, is a 5 minute walk from the hostel so I´m not sure why you got up at 6am). You then returned to the hostel and we gave you discounted (not full price)tickets on the fast boat to Playa Blanca. So you did actually get to Playa Blanca, you actually had less time on the boat and it cost less than $5 more each. We do apologise though, and it obviously wasn´t our intention for this to happen, but was a staff error and in a busy place this will happen from time to time.

But just because your angry with us over this doesn´t give you the right to tell outright lies. You did not stay with us and I remember that because I was working the entire day. I asked where you were staying and you said the other hostel. You made no mention of staying with us the previous night and I know that you had not checked out that morning. I also remember speaking about a total of 20 words to you. If I was brusque in that time, then sorry.

The other hotel is also not just 5000 pesos more for an AC, it´s 20000(or 40% more).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Colombia, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in! Stuart and his staff are all very friendly, helpful and all speak english, which is very refreshing. The hostel has a great atmosphere and loads of character with a nice outside communal area. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There are various tours and activites available, which can be booked from the Hostel.
The location of the hostel is ideal with lots of restuarants and shops nearby and it's just a short walk to the Old Town and other attractions. All-in-all a great stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
15.8 mi away
Mucura Club Hotel
Mucura Club Hotel
#2 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
7.2 mi away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
44.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#110 of 148 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
49.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#25 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Property: Hostel Mamallena
Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing