We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location,great staff”
Review of Hostel Mamallena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Mamallena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

new hostel,this place is really clean and the staff are very helpfull.

Located in a central part of town,dorms hav AC ,but the private rooms don't so they get very hot and uncomfortable

think a common room is being built,and kitchen is getting finished but still good to use

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

A good written review for us, but a bad score!! Please form your decision to stay with us based on what he said rather than what score he gave us :) Our guest kitchen is fully up and running and the common room will be coming soon. We´re also working on our onsite cafe where we will have free breakfast(soon........).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Fabulous hostel, great location and friendly staff, in particular Stewartthe owner who was on hand day or night with any queries or issues we had re the city. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and facilities were perfect with nice kitchen and 3 new computers. Definitely recommended if visiting Cartagena.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Cheers David, we really appreciate the review. But please don´t set future guests expectations to high, they could be disappointed and leave a bad review!! Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hostel is really well located in the tourist area of Cartagena. We stayed in a private room with bathroom.
Positives:
- clean rooms
- comfortable beds
- good facilities - computers, fridge and tables and chairs in the courtyard
- helpful staff (booking tours and other advice)
Negatives:
- the dog poos and wees in the courtyard and doesn't get cleaned up until next morning so it smells a bit
- bathroom doesn't have a door to separate from the bedroom
- no aircon and Cartagena is a very hot town, although our room never seemed to get so hot that the fan didn't suffice.
- the rooms surround the busy courtyard so it gets noisy, but not too late at night to be a real problem.
Overall really good value and I didn't become aware of a better option in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. You have raised some issues and they are valid ones. Toilet doors will be coming, and soon. It's just that we are improving the place and they were a little further down the list than other things! You're right about AC, it is a hot city here and it's another thing thats on our list(the list is long and expensive.....). But we do tell everyone on check in that we don't have AC and if you stay you've obviously accepted that. Our prices also reflect the fact that we don't have it. Suki(the dog) is another issue. She is house trained to go outside, unfortunately she obviously sees our courtyard as outside, and she is only 6 months old! As soon as we are made aware of a mess we do clean it though, and I think we're usually pretty quick about it. If you see it then just let us know and we'll take care of it. Over all I think Suki is more of a benefit to most people than a problem. She is very friendly and loves to play. But if dogs are a problem for you then you probably shouldn't stay with us.

But for you it seems the positives far outweighed the negatives so that makes me happy! I'm glad that we could help you have a great time in Cartagena and we are working on the issues you raised. If they are the worst problems you had here then I think we're doing pretty OK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I didnt stay here my 4 friends did, sadly i was in another hostel up the street. We had a little run in with the Policia however and thankfully Stewart got up out of his bed and came down to the Police station to translate for us and sort everything out. Even though I was not staying there he still pretty much gave me free run of the place. Cool laid back hostel and the location is spot on. Thanks a mill Steward

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

No problem, happy to help out any time, glad we got it so there was no problem. This is a good warning about the "dangers" of drugs in Cartagena though. Even though these guys didn't have any drugs they were accused of having them by the police , who stopped them by the side of the road. This is pretty common in Cartagena and they will stop and search you for no reason. They'll either make something up about drugs or steal money from you. If you do have drugs then you have bigger problems. Obviously this isn't all the police.

Another tactic is for a dealer to sell you something and then inform the police. You'll get caught, pay a large bribe and the dealer will get his drugs back. Or you'll buy something and the next morning two rather large men will turn up at your hostel demanding that you pay them a lot more money for what you bought. You'll feel intimidated and probably pay. These are all too common in Cartagena and I've seen it a lot in our few months of being open. Easiest way to avoid it is to not buy drugs. And don't say we didn't warn you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here so can't comment on the rooms but we chose to book our Volcano tour here! The owner was very helpful, they charged less than other hotels, only 30,000 each and the tour was brilliant!So much fun!
The hostel is a great place to go for information in English, there's a list of boats to Panama and the staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at all of the Mamallena's on our recent trip to South/Central America and they were all wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and hard working. The private rooms were really nice and being improved every day. Great loacation not far from the old city. Stuart the owner was very helpful with all of our needs. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A very well run hostel with extremely friendly staff that are willing to help with any inquiries, Stuart the Australian owner was super helpful and extremely honest in helping us choose the right boat for our panama crossing. Great location and unbelievably cheap laundry service.

Room Tip: Aircon rooms are cheap and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
46.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
45.9 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 248 in Cartagena
136 reviews
45.6 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#4 of 248 in Cartagena
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#7 of 248 in Cartagena
104 reviews
45.6 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#8 of 248 in Cartagena
143 reviews
45.8 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#9 of 248 in Cartagena
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $13 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing