We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
79
35
5
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
35
5
5
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 125 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017

First the good: Casa Marta has an excellent location, right next to the Plaza de Trinidad, which is basically where all the night life is in Getsemani. Despite being so close, the room we were in was actually quite quiet. It was clean and had everything we needed, although I don't think its aesthetics are going to blow anyone away. It was fine.

The people at Casa Marta are generally friendly, which is good, as they don't give you a key to the front door, so you need to basically ring the bell every time you enter the property. But they always answered with a smile and everything was nice.

My main issue with the Casa is that it's not really a hotel, B&B, etc. It pretty much felt like staying in someone's extra room. Upon arrival we were asked to enter our information into a spreadsheet, handed our key, and that was it. No welcome, no map, no suggestions of where to have dinner, local attractions, etc, etc . . . basically nothing that you would expect to get as the basic level of welcome when you check in to a hotel (and which we received at all other hotels we stayed at in Colombia). Again, the people weren't mean about it, they just didn't seem to care at all to offer help (e.g., we didn't even realize the pool was for our use until later when we read about it on Trip Advisor). Similarly, whenever I left the room to go into the hallway, I felt like I was staying in somebody's house, as they tended to be hanging out a few steps away (with a small child). This didn't cause any problems, but it wasn't very much like a hotel.

Overall this place was fine, as we had a guidebook and there are plenty of places nearby to have breakfast (which was not included in our stay), and there are late-night convenience stores for anything else you need. If you don't care about those sorts of services, then this place is a pretty good value for the money. If you do want that sort of attention in your hotel, then you should probably look elsewhere.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017

The hotel is in a wonderful location, you can walk everywhere. Rooms are clean and simple and staff (don't speak English) are very helpful. No breakfast but there are several coffee shops within 100 meters. Good restaurants in the area as well

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank PaulB12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

We found this hotel rather expensive for the quality on offer. 755€ for 4 nights, 3 people in the same room. Bye the way, this amount was debited from our account DURING our stay, without the slightest notice or bill, so be aware!! On my bank account there is no mention of the local currency, only dollars and euros.
We booked this hotel based on other travellers opinions, however quite a number of these opinions were recorded in 2014, 2015. I get the impression we're not even discussing the same place, something (or someone) must have changed along the way. The service generally was very average, not enough towels in the bathroom, only Spanish spoken, we had to fill in our details on a computer when we arrived, this is a first for me, and I've been in quite a few hotels and B&Bs. The swimming pool which features on various photos is just an oversize bath, and was anything but clean. On a positive note, the breakfast was good. To summarize, if you're going to fabulous Cartagena, shop around for something better than this. Otherwise, we absolutely loved Colombia.

Room tip: Only 3 rooms I think, better to avoid the small one, I had to pull the bed slightly away from the wall to move around to my side!!!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmv1976, Manager at Casa Marta Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We regret to see that you didn't have a good experience staying with us.

This is quite unfortunate as most of our guests do enjoy their stay, but we recognize that not all guests have similar preferences. For instance, some guests don't mind the language barrier at all and are aware of our billing policy, which we explained to you in writing. You also received an invoice with the breakdown of your expenses. The reason why we do this is because we've had many bad experiences where guests checkout without paying. In any case, we will further clarify our policies with the online booking agent you chose so as to avoid similar misunderstandings in the future. Additionally, we will look into the situation with the plunge pool, this time of the year is a windy and rainy one and sometimes sand and tree leaves tend to accumulate, but we can assure you the water is clean as we do maintenance in a weekly basis.

Regarding the pictures, we have this issue all the time. Often guests upload pictures onto our trip advisor page, sometimes of the wrong place and sometimes inappropriate ones. We are constantly writing to trip advisor on this matter.

We, however take full responsibility for these observations and will strive to do better.

On the positive side, we appreciate that you liked the breakfast.

With best regards

Casa Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Can't beat the location and the price. It's in the oldest part of Cartagena. The rooms are spacious and have AC (you'll need it!). The hosts are friendly and helpful. You can walk all over the old sections of Cartagena from here. There are fancier places out there but I doubt if you can beat this for the price

Room tip: Only two rooms. Either is good. Even though they both face the street and there is a busy plaza very near the noise level was minimal
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RRB-MDFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

We stayed for three nights at Casa Marta and it was the perfect choice for us - quiet, cosy, safe and not far from the action in Getsemani. Marta, Ana (Marta's niece who speaks excellent English) and Miguel looked after us very well and were attentive to our every need - whether it be advice, directions, bookings for onward travel and making us feel welcome in their home. We had some hilarious conversations with Marta via Google Translate and we always got there in the end - part of the fun! The room was clean and comfortable and about 15 mins walk to El Centro in Cartagena's old town. Breakfast was good and varied each day and there was the much needed A/C in the room and small pool to dip in to keep cool in the heat. Would definitely stay there again if back in Cartagena!

Special mention for Ana, who went above and beyond by coming to our aid a number of times after we had left Casa Marta by helping us to arrange travel in other parts of Colombia through her extensive range of local contacts and knowledge - we came to think of you as a friend and will keep in touch, thank you!

Room tip: The property only has two guest rooms, but both are spacious and have good facilities
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews