We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Marta Cartagena
Ranked #25 of 155 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Simple yet great.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Casa Marta has one thing no other lodging can boast - Marta. She is wonderful and so helpful! Her whole staff really bend over backward to make your visit to Cartagena great. The accomodation is basic - good beds, good AC, good shower and good simple breakfasts. The neighborhood is not inside the old city, but not far to walk there. Others have mentioned noise but we had nothing but quiet even though the room is on the street. Very pleasant stay and a lovely time in a FABULOUS town! Had some good eats at DiSilvio around the corner, and the little Mediterranean place on the corner had great cocktails, though we did not sample their food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    33
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Out stay at Casa Marta was amazing. Superb location with everything in Cartagena within close proximity. Great rooms with AC and large showers. The house is beautiful and the pool is great for an afternoon dip. Marta and her staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We were travelling around Colombia for 3 weeks, so needed some clothes washed before leaving Cartegena. It was done in 9 hours free of charge. I would come back to Casa Marta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've stayed at Casa Marta for 4 nights with our 1,5 years old boy.
The staff is great! They are very childfriendly, playing with our boy and watching him when we had to get something from our room. They also offer nanny-service they told us.
The room is a good size, working aircon, good shower and everything is clean. Our room was cleaned every day.
The location is okay, in the sense that you can walk to the old town easily and that the surrounding area is also nice to explore. Cartagena is not a big town, so everything is easy walkable.
The only downside of this property is what others also mentioned, the noise at night. The nearby plaza, church and street come alive at night with the noise of very loud music. We had good earplugs, but still it's a lot of noise. My husband and baby were sick during our trip in Cartagena and then it's especially uncomfortable when the night is so bad for a good sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

casa marta was wonderful. Marta and her staff are some of the nicest people I have encountered while traveling -- our first night, she sat with us, patiently explaining in a mix of Spanish and English where things were in Cartagena, using maps and photos. Breakfast every morning was freshly made -- a mix of a fruit of the day and a hot meal (arepas, eggs, chorizo, etc.) we stayed here for 4 nights, and the first thing Marta said to us was "mi casa es su casa" -- and she held up on that promise. We were in Cartagena for a wedding and Marta and her staff ironed all our dress wear free of charge, helped the girls find a local hair salon to get our hair done, and opened the door for us at 4am when we cam back after a wild and crazy party. The pool is perfect for a late night dip after being in the sweltering humidity of the city all day. I'm someone that's used to staying in hotels, but I would definitely return to casa Marta next time I'm in Cartagena.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with "dirtriderroger".

I spent 6 nights at Casa Marta in June. Marta and her girls were super nice and helpful, the house & room were very clean, the bed was comfortable & the A/C worked extremely well. I also felt totally safe. There are a lot of good restaurants within walking distance & it's about a 10 minute walk to the historic center.

My only 2 issues:

1. The nightly street noise that earplugs could not block out. It would be great if Marta installed double paned windows.

2. The breakfasts were a complete disappointment! No fruit, ever. Same 2 juices for all 6 breakfasts (I could walk out the door and choose from 8-10 fresh juices for about $1). One day a dry arepa, the next day 2 cheese sticks, another day 2 fried yucca balls & another morning 1 corn pancake with a little cheese on top. The only day I was served a real breakfast (scrambled eggs with tomato & onion, & fried plantains) I found a long black hair in my eggs (I'm blonde). The coffee was weak and super sugary. For $95 per night for 1 person I expected something a little better, especially in a country where fruit is abundant and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you come to Casa Marta expecting the Ritz you will be disappointed, but for the price it cannot be beat. Marta and Yole are fantastic and will make you feel at home. The neighborhood is wonderful. (I highly recommend hanging out at night in the church square around the corner with a beer and some street food.
Overall a great place to stay and a way to experience Cartagena more locally.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drunkmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

To set the scene right, you will rent a room in a house with three rooms; this is not a boutique hotel or a B&B in the traditional sense. It is more like renting a room in a friend’s house for few nights. You will be welcomed like a long lost friend, and treated to traditional Colombian hospitality by the owner (Marta) and her helper.

Our room had three beds; one queen and a couple singles. It would be perfect for a family; but it feels like a lot of beds in a room for just a couple.
Here are the pros and cons of Casa Marta, as I see them:

Pros:

1) It’s clean – the rooms are not run down and all the facilities are clean.
2) It is an easy and safe walk to Old Town, just a few blocks and 5 – 10 minutes away.
3) The house feels old and historic, but not too old. It’s been renovated nicely and is comfortable.
4) The host and her helper are gracious and friendly. They helped us find local and authentic restaurants and helped us to find our way around town.
5) The room has good air conditioning and a small refrigerator.

Cons:

1) The breakfast was pretty simple; just some scrambled eggs, two pieces of white toast, coffee and juice. And maybe some fresh fruit. I like a substantial breakfast and always left the table feeling hungry (and I bought some whole wheat bread to add to the meal).
2) We stayed four nights, and our room was never cleaned. I’m not a clean freak, but the en-suite bathroom has old plumbing, so you put the used toilet paper in a waste basket. Not a big deal, but four days is too long to go between cleaning and our waste basket was jam packed.
3) The shower is electrically heated, and only worked half the time we were there.
4) Like I said earlier, you are renting a room in somebody’s house. While there is a small pool on-site, it is basically in the living room. This may feel a bit weird if you like to swim in a more private setting.
5) The beds were a bit hard; we didn’t get great sleep.

And now, some Cartagena travel tips:
1) Try some of the local restaurants around the Getesami area; they’re authentic, have a local vibe, and are much less expensive that those found in Old Town. And don’t forget to explore Getesami either; it has great old houses, fun streets, and feels much more like “Colombia” than Old Town.
2) The tap water seemed fine to drink, but is heavily chlorinated and doesn’t taste all that good. You can buy big bottles of water in the tienda just across the street from the church.
3) A taxi from the airport to Casa Marta cost about 12,000 Colombian Pesos (or just over US$ 6)
4) For a quick and rough US$ to Colombian Peso conversion, move the decimal point to the left three spots, and divide by two. For example: 20,000 Colombian Pesos would be about $10. This is not exact (our conversion was 1883 Colombian Pesos to the US$), but is a good ballpark.
5) Marta set up a boat ride for us to Isla Rosaria for a cost of about 60,000 Colombian Pesos/Person (about $32). The islands were very pretty, and the water much more clear than at the beaches around Cartagena. But the guide only speaks Spanish (this becomes much more important when discussing pick-up and drop-off times), the boats very crowded and the tour was very touristy. I’d still do it again, for 30 bucks, but don’t go into it with high expectations.
6) Lastly, we always felt safe. Colombia doesn’t seem to have that great of a reputation in the states, but I felt safer in Cartagena (and Colombia) than in many of the Central American countries I’ve visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dirtriderroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Patio de Getsemani
Patio de Getsemani
#5 of 155 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mary
Casa Mary
#26 of 155 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marta Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marta Cartagena

Property: Casa Marta Cartagena
Address: Calle San Antonio # 25-165 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marta Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marta is a colonial guesthouse situated in the city's historic district of Getsemani. The house has been carefully renovated to modern standards and has two bedrooms with a maximum capacity of 4 to 5 people each. Each bedroom has air conditioner, fan, fridge, Satellite TV, and a private bathroom. Internet service and breakfast are included free of charge. A nice plunge pool is also available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Marta Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing