We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Marta Cartagena
Ranked #25 of 157 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“A place like home”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Colombia is a beautiful place! This was my first visit, with 2 of my other friends, and I absolutely loved it. We stayed at Casa Marta in Cartagena and Casa Verde in Santa Marta.

Casa Marta is located a few minutes away from the walled city and the central clock tower area. Everything you want to see in Cartagena is right there and easily walkable. Don't rent a car here.

If you want a place that feels like home, don't look beyond Casa Marta. Also if you want the real Colombia experience, please stay at this place. The experience you'll get is better than a 5 star hotel. Mama Marta and her assistants are very helpful and do everything they can to assist you. They make your breakfast everyday, coffee and book your onward reservations. If you need anything, you just gotta ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    33
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Is located in a central area in the walled city where you have a few minutes walk, is quite accessible.
Marta is very friendly and concerned about your staying, which makes the atmosphere very pleasant.
I recommend it 100%

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranLarenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is charming. Marta (the owner) makes you feel at home since the very arrival. She said: I have to tell you this is not a hotel, this is your home at Cartagena....
I was like staying with family, she helped us with our transportation to Manzanillo del Mar, and to and from Cartagena´s beach.
Her helper (sorry i cannot remember your name) will do everything to make you feel home.
Breakfast was good, and the beds were really comfortable.
The neighborhood is great, with character and a bunch of places very close to have a drink or dinner, right outside of the door there is a nice plaza (square) where locals gather at the evening, (even for dancing in the street on sundays) great ambiance...
We were there only for one night, but we wish we had stayed for a few more days.
if you have any problems founding the place, tell your driver that it is almost in front of the National Police Precinct.
I place to come back, definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noctiluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

At first, when you arrive you see the police station across the street (good), then you meet Marta, who is a very friendly and helpful lady (very good), on top of that you realize how close the hostal is to the Historical Center (excellent).

Marta helped us with a map and anecdotes about Cartagena, it was easy for me as a spanish speaker, but overall she can assist you in having a great time in Cartagena.

It is safe, comfortable and you feel welcome.

Room Tip: The room we stayed had AC, WiFi and a decent bathroom. The only thing was that it was next to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosEAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Casa Marta provided safe, clean and spacious accommodation in the Getsemani area of Cartagena. Short walk to the historic centre past lots of tasty eateries. We agree with the comment below that you feel like you are entering someone's house and about disturbing Marta and the cleaning ladies. Marta speaks little English and due to our beginners Spanish we had to communicate via google translator!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lodging in or near the old city of Cartagena can be on the expensive side. We wanted to find something that wasn't a hostel, but reasonably priced, clean, and safe. Casa Marta did the job! The guesthouse is owned by Marta and she has two rooms to rent with a/c and private bath. Because it's her house, the rooms are well taken care of - beds are new, sheets and floors are clean, etc. Each room has it's own lock, so it's similar to a B&B.

Having spent a few days earlier staying inside the walled city, we weren't sure what to expect of the Getsemani neighborhood which is just outside. Turns out we loved it - Casa Marta is close to Plaza Trinidad where people socialize in the square, Cafe Havana, and lots of hip bars and restaurants for the backpacker scene.

The only downside is that with just two rooms you feel a little like you are entering someone's house so when we came back at 4am after a long night of dancing, we felt bad having to wake up the cleaning lady to let us inside. But all in all, I would recommend this to others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's been a few months since I along with a friend stayed for a few days at Casa Marta. But we are certainly not forgotten! We had a wonderful and great time! We miss it and if we would get the chance we will definitely return soon. The hostess and the staff provided us with open arms. They were very friendly and helpful with everything. For the first 2 nights we booked a twin room. It was very spacious, clean with a private bathroom. Casa Marta is within walking distance of the old historic center and other attractions. Also in the evening we found (two young blonde girls) it no problem to walk back. Marta (hostess) found that less pleasant. She was very caring, she called us ‘sus hijas’  (her daughters). When we decided that we would love to stay for one more night, Casa Marta was already fully booked. But Marta insisted that we would stay at her place and so she arranged that we could stay at her private property. We slept on a sofa and made use of her own private bathroom. We then continued our journey to a other city, Santa Marta. Here we stayed at the house of a cousin of Marta. Marta wanted to be sure that we would have a good time, so she asked her cousin if she could take care of us. And here it was very pleased us well. It was so nice to meet such nice people who are so welcoming to let us stay at their own house. Marta Again, thank you very much for the great time and we hope to see you in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 157 in Cartagena
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
#2 of 157 in Cartagena
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 157 in Cartagena
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#6 of 157 in Cartagena
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mary
Casa Mary
#26 of 157 in Cartagena
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Colonial
Hotel Villa Colonial
#14 of 157 in Cartagena
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marta Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marta Cartagena

Property: Casa Marta Cartagena
Address: Calle San Antonio # 25-165 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marta Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marta is a colonial guesthouse situated in the city's historic district of Getsemani. The house has been carefully renovated to modern standards and has two bedrooms with a maximum capacity of 4 to 5 people each. Each bedroom has air conditioner, fan, fridge, Satellite TV, and a private bathroom. Internet service and breakfast are included free of charge. A nice plunge pool is also available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Marta Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing