We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem, if you can get past a few things”
Review of Patio de Getsemani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Patio de Getsemani
Ranked #5 of 157 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem, if you can get past a few things”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This little place was an unexpected find. It's certainly not for everyone, but if you have an open mind and are adventurous, this is a great place to explore the real Cargtagena, away from the tourists and crowds and the expensive shops and restaurants within the old city or Bocagrande.

I admit, the rooms are a little run down and the bathroom was a bit dirty. The hot water also didn't work the whole time I was there, but Cartagena is so hot, I really didn't need hot water. But.....if you can overlook all of that (haha!), staying at Patio de Getsemani can be the highlight of your visit.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The best part about this hotel is its location. While some may find the area "sketchy" or "scary," I found it to be a wonderful neighborhood and a great place to meet locals and other tourists. It's a short stroll to Plaza Trinidad - where the community gathers in the evening for beer, coffee, food, games, even zumba on the church steps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
66
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This really is the perfect place to stay in Cartagena! You feel really looked after here - it's completely safe, the staff are incredibly friendly, the rooms amazing, the Jacuzzi on the roof is a real treat and the location is perfect - really close to the buzz of Plaza Trinidad (a great place for a beer in the evening) and the vibrant streets of Getsemani. You have everything on your door step without the noise from busy streets or salsa clubs which you would have a few streets away. The area doesn't feel dangerous at all. This hostel is located in a great community - on Sunday there is even a baseball game between the streets around the hotel for which they close off the entire road! I would definitely stay here if we returned - it's absolutely worth the price and the perfect place from which to explore Cartagena.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareJohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week last year (September 2012) Yes the area is sketchy at night so I wouldn't recommend walking home at night, especially if you are alone. The hotel was clean, my only issue was that there was no hot water for most of my stay.. Hotel staff is super helpful and have no problem communicating in English. They were able to call me a cab at anytime and offered to book excursions if needed. Front doors of hotel lock for security reasons, and you buzz in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Cartagena wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Some other reviewers have been correct in mentioning that the neighbourhood looks 'sketchy'. It does, it is, and when the taxi driver locked the doors and wound up the windows when we entered the street I started to have second thoughts. However that was all blown away by the friendly welcome from the receptionist who dashed onto the street to help with luggage.

This is a tiny courtyard style house which has been converted into an 11 room hotel. All the rooms are generously proportioned, clean, have attached bathrooms and good air-conditioning. Some of the rooms only have windows which look onto the courtyard but they never feel claustrophobic. Decoration is minimal but all you need is there; including a mini safe and wi-fi. One thing worth mentioning is that all the rooms I saw had bathrooms with small glass enclosed shower cubicles. The door into the shower opens inwards and it is a bit of a squeeze getting in the cubicle and shutting the door. I weigh 77kg with a 33 inch waistline and I only just made it. So check first if you're excessively endomorphic.

All the staff are super friendly and helpful. You can rent bikes from the hotel and they have a reasonably priced laundry service. Breakfast was like the rooms. Nothing extra but nothing missing. There is no choice but it changes daily. The hotel is not expensive and the value is good.

From the beginning of the street to the Hotel entrance, the street does look a bit rough. Kids play with hubcaps and dogs roam in the night. It is hot so people are sitting out on the street. It looks threatening but only in the way that the set for West Side Story looks threatening. In fact all was fine and I was never uneasy at any time of day or night. Just about 100 m to the right is one of the finest hotels in Cartagena which is next door to an extremely good restaurant.

The hotel looks at the wall which surrounds the city. This makes a terrific walk and if you are gentle you can spot the spectacular green lizards which live on the wall. I would see them to the left of the hotel on the ramparts. They are 1-1.5m long and very shy but definitely worth waiting for. These are the only gangs which roam the area.

If I am ever in Cartagena De Indias again I would not hesitate to book the Patio de Getsemani again.

Room Tip: If you're fat, check you can fit in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 7 weeks traveling through South America, and this was one our favorite hotels. The building itself, like Cartagena itself, which I fell in love with, is very old and full of character. Built around a central courtyard, the hotel has only a few rooms, which retain the old (original?) clover- shaped interior windows for ventilation. The beds in the double rooms are huge, and the showers are the best cold showers you'll ever take. (They're not truly cold, because the water is warmed by the ambient air temp, which is so hot you'll want a cool shower. Believe me. I'm cold natured and love nothing more than a hot shower, but did not miss them in Cartagena.)

Don't be misled by the "jacuzzi" on the rooftop patio. It is actually a cold-water plunge pool, and provided delicious relief as I sat up there sunbathing, enjoying the view of the water and the gleaming towers of the new city. You can also buy beer, drinks and snacks from the small kitchen. Breakfast is included as well, and the service is very friendly and helpful.

We loved it here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cjdoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After checking in way early on our first day and sleeping a bit we headed out of the hotel only to run into a very organized game of street baseball, which turned out to be par for the course for this amazing (though sketchy) neighborhood. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful with our constant questions and drink orders (the beer's priced the same as the grocery store; drinks on the deck are a must). The breakfasts were quite tasty, one was among the better meals of our trip. One minor complaint, the wifi didn't work in our room unless we opened the window into the courtyard, but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Not every room has exterior windows. If that matters to you, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Super location in getsemani so you get a great local experience. There is an unobstructed view of the fort from the roof terrace which was great for a late night drink. We looked at a huge amount of places in cartagena and this place was the best value. Great staff, breakfasts really good quality, room always cleaned and the hotel too. Water is cold but you'll be crying out for a cold shower walking around in the humidity in cartagena. Saw the baseball on the street outside on Sunday which was great fun. Getsemani is a vibrant area, more rough and ready than some other parts of the centre but its worth the visit. We even watched a football World Cup qualifier on one of the local streets with the match projected onto a bed sheet and loads of people watching, an experience you'd be unlikely get in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caparso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#52 of 152 in Cartagena
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#39 of 152 in Cartagena
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 152 in Cartagena
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio de Getsemani

Property: Patio de Getsemani
Address: Getsemani Calle del Pedregal 26A-79, Cartagena 0123, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patio de Getsemani 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Patio de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing