We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patio de Getsemani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patio de Getsemani
Ranked #6 of 158 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent 7 weeks traveling through South America, and this was one our favorite hotels. The building itself, like Cartagena itself, which I fell in love with, is very old and full of character. Built around a central courtyard, the hotel has only a few rooms, which retain the old (original?) clover- shaped interior windows for ventilation. The beds in the double rooms are huge, and the showers are the best cold showers you'll ever take. (They're not truly cold, because the water is warmed by the ambient air temp, which is so hot you'll want a cool shower. Believe me. I'm cold natured and love nothing more than a hot shower, but did not miss them in Cartagena.)

Don't be misled by the "jacuzzi" on the rooftop patio. It is actually a cold-water plunge pool, and provided delicious relief as I sat up there sunbathing, enjoying the view of the water and the gleaming towers of the new city. You can also buy beer, drinks and snacks from the small kitchen. Breakfast is included as well, and the service is very friendly and helpful.

We loved it here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cjdoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
62
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

After checking in way early on our first day and sleeping a bit we headed out of the hotel only to run into a very organized game of street baseball, which turned out to be par for the course for this amazing (though sketchy) neighborhood. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful with our constant questions and drink orders (the beer's priced the same as the grocery store; drinks on the deck are a must). The breakfasts were quite tasty, one was among the better meals of our trip. One minor complaint, the wifi didn't work in our room unless we opened the window into the courtyard, but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Not every room has exterior windows. If that matters to you, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Super location in getsemani so you get a great local experience. There is an unobstructed view of the fort from the roof terrace which was great for a late night drink. We looked at a huge amount of places in cartagena and this place was the best value. Great staff, breakfasts really good quality, room always cleaned and the hotel too. Water is cold but you'll be crying out for a cold shower walking around in the humidity in cartagena. Saw the baseball on the street outside on Sunday which was great fun. Getsemani is a vibrant area, more rough and ready than some other parts of the centre but its worth the visit. We even watched a football World Cup qualifier on one of the local streets with the match projected onto a bed sheet and loads of people watching, an experience you'd be unlikely get in other areas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caparso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here three times on our trip through Central and South America and were really impressed with the hotel and its friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel is located in Getsemani, an area that isn't quite as polished as the old city of Cartagena, but which feels a lot more vibrant and full of life thanks to the area still being home to Colombians. There area few sketchy characters floating around the area, but we never once felt that there was any threat day or night. Local people tend to spill out onto the pavements at all times, playing music and chatting, and that means there are plenty of people around as you walk around, even late at night. Virtually everyone was friendly. There are lots of good bars and restaurants within a short walk.

The rooms in the hotel are quite large, have air conditioning and very large and comfortable beds. We stayed in rooms 10 and 12, both of which had windows onto the street but we weren't troubled by street noise, except for a Saturday night when someone had set up a sound system just down the street - but thats what earplugs are for. Room 10 had the bigger bedroom space and a smaller bathroom, room 12 was the opposite, but both were easily big enough for two people to spill the contents of their bags into and still have plenty of space.

Breakfasts are good and varied. We had fruit of different types, fruit juice, eggs, pancakes or some other dish with coffee every day. They offer snack foods and drinks at pretty reasonable prices. There is also a roof terrace with nice views where you can have a cold beer.

The staff are really helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. We left our bags there while we went along the coast for several days, and on our last day we decided at the last minute to have a late check-out, which was accommodated and reasonably priced.

For what you get, the hotel is a very good price all-round, especially for Cartagena where hotels can be very expensive.

Room Tip: I prefer a room with an external window, some rooms have them some have interior windows. make it cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions in and out of Cartagena.

The Good:
The rooms. Aircon works great, if couple there are two double beds put together so is huge! Shower fitting is huge almost like a rain shower. Note though that there is only one tap. So in afternoon it's a comfortable lukewarm. In morning it's a little chilly.
Staff very friendly.
Very reasonably price for what you get.
Breakfast varies and is decent.
Wifi works well most of the time.

The Bad:
No fridge to keep drinks cool. But will chill them for you.
Area not that great but no problems and while loads of tourists around the area, this place is on the quieter side of Getsemani.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, location is 5 min away walking from the old town, at night it might seem dangerous but nobody ever bothered us about anything.
The only downsides were there was no hot water and if u like to sleep in you probably wouldn't be able to, since people having breakfast downstairs are very very loud since 7:30 am.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aistejja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

(+)
- very clean and comfortable rooms
- great rooftop with jacuzzi and view of the city
- super friendly staff with family-like welcome
- short walking distance from media luna street (5mins) and the center (10mins)
- by far the best hotel for the price range

(-)
- neighbourhood can feel a bit sketchy at night but we never felt troubled by anything.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomeOtherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 158 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio de Getsemani

Property: Patio de Getsemani
Address: Getsemani Calle del Pedregal 26A-79, Cartagena 0123, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patio de Getsemani 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Patio de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing