We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a vibrant area”
Review of Patio de Getsemani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Patio de Getsemani
Ranked #4 of 171 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here three times on our trip through Central and South America and were really impressed with the hotel and its friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel is located in Getsemani, an area that isn't quite as polished as the old city of Cartagena, but which feels a lot more vibrant and full of life thanks to the area still being home to Colombians. There area few sketchy characters floating around the area, but we never once felt that there was any threat day or night. Local people tend to spill out onto the pavements at all times, playing music and chatting, and that means there are plenty of people around as you walk around, even late at night. Virtually everyone was friendly. There are lots of good bars and restaurants within a short walk.

The rooms in the hotel are quite large, have air conditioning and very large and comfortable beds. We stayed in rooms 10 and 12, both of which had windows onto the street but we weren't troubled by street noise, except for a Saturday night when someone had set up a sound system just down the street - but thats what earplugs are for. Room 10 had the bigger bedroom space and a smaller bathroom, room 12 was the opposite, but both were easily big enough for two people to spill the contents of their bags into and still have plenty of space.

Breakfasts are good and varied. We had fruit of different types, fruit juice, eggs, pancakes or some other dish with coffee every day. They offer snack foods and drinks at pretty reasonable prices. There is also a roof terrace with nice views where you can have a cold beer.

The staff are really helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. We left our bags there while we went along the coast for several days, and on our last day we decided at the last minute to have a late check-out, which was accommodated and reasonably priced.

For what you get, the hotel is a very good price all-round, especially for Cartagena where hotels can be very expensive.

Room Tip: I prefer a room with an external window, some rooms have them some have interior windows. make it cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 152 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions in and out of Cartagena.

The Good:
The rooms. Aircon works great, if couple there are two double beds put together so is huge! Shower fitting is huge almost like a rain shower. Note though that there is only one tap. So in afternoon it's a comfortable lukewarm. In morning it's a little chilly.
Staff very friendly.
Very reasonably price for what you get.
Breakfast varies and is decent.
Wifi works well most of the time.

The Bad:
No fridge to keep drinks cool. But will chill them for you.
Area not that great but no problems and while loads of tourists around the area, this place is on the quieter side of Getsemani.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, location is 5 min away walking from the old town, at night it might seem dangerous but nobody ever bothered us about anything.
The only downsides were there was no hot water and if u like to sleep in you probably wouldn't be able to, since people having breakfast downstairs are very very loud since 7:30 am.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aistejja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

(+)
- very clean and comfortable rooms
- great rooftop with jacuzzi and view of the city
- super friendly staff with family-like welcome
- short walking distance from media luna street (5mins) and the center (10mins)
- by far the best hotel for the price range

(-)
- neighbourhood can feel a bit sketchy at night but we never felt troubled by anything.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomeOtherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice in Cartagena. It's not too far from the centre so easy to walk in. There are also bars and restaurants nearby. My room was quite basic but clean and comfortable. The roof terrace with jacuzzi and sun loungers is a nice touch. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite small but varied. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cb72caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly staff always there when you need. They all make you feel at home. The surroundings may appear dangerous but is a safe place. The breakfast are yummy and different every day. The hotel is near the Centro Histórico of Cartagena and you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is located in the historical but less upmarket part of Cartagena. Its very close to main attractions but the surrounding houses are really run down and the crowd of youngsters hanging outside the hotel can be a little intimidating especially if you are walking back late at night on your own.
The people manning reception were really friendly and helpful. We were lucky enough to be there for New Years Eve and they gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and xmas biscuits. In my opinion this was very thoughtful.
Breakfast was of good standards but make sure you arrive early as in a couple of occasions we arrived late and missed out on eggs and bread.
The hotel can be quite noisy. Some of the guests at the hotel were really loud and started having breakfast really early in the morning and shouting. Although we had a room on the first floor being a patio hotel the noise travelled up. But I guess this is not the hotels fault, however be aware that it can get quite noisy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are much better than the ground floor rooms as its a patio hotel. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vale999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 171 in Cartagena
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
Posada La Fe - A Kali Hotel
#2 of 171 in Cartagena
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#5 of 171 in Cartagena
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#7 of 171 in Cartagena
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio de Getsemani

Address: Getsemani Calle del Pedregal 26A-79, Cartagena 0123, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $61 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Patio de Getsemani 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patio de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing