We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and again overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Real Cartagena
Ranked #70 of 157 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing special and again overpriced”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is another example of Cartagena's totally overpriced hotel scene (we paid approx 100 usd/night which was a last minute offer on booking.com).

- tiny bathroom (you can hardly sit on the toilet since it is right below the tiny sink. No space at all to store anything in bathroom, hot water (wow, had almost forgotten that existed!!!), bath room featured a lot of haur from former guest(s)....
- room decently sized with some space to store stuff, no daylight
- room and furniture old, need upgrading urgently
- air con and fan worked fine, as did TV
- breakfast small and quite disappointing (do not go for the "sandwich")
- breakfast staff seemed very uninterested and took ages to acknowledge us although there was only one other table of guests...

All in all another disappointing experience...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
42
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights. Payed for a standard double much more than in many other hotels and casas. Truth to be told is that the thing that annoyed us the most is that the room did not correspond with the price we payed.

There were 2 days, first and last that it was quite dirty. I assume another lady did the clean up. Last day had to kill a roach which was not nice at all.

Besides that, the staff is awesome! The lady in the reception and the two guys that do the night shift and breakfast are great and helpful. They made our stay much better.

Breakfast was really good and abundant, freshly made, even the juices which change every day. We started every day with a lot of energy thanks to this.

Word of advice: the facade is no longer green; bathrooms are quite small; showers need a huge upgrade.

AC works very well and the fan as well so you can climatize your room as you please.

Internet wifi works really well.

I would review the pricing and cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I only stayed here one night as my hostel had a double booking and moved me to this hotel. What an upgrade! This place was great. Centrally located, clean and well appointed, with attentive staff. There is a terrific pool area in the courtyard and a resident parrot. My room was large and the bed was really comfy. There was was good AC and a large television. The bathroom was nice (even if the hot water was in short supply). Breakfast was included and was excellent and filling.
I don't know what it costs (as i didn't have to pay) but it was a great place for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is quaint and well maintained, the staff is very friendly and are always ready to help.
We had a large room on the third floor with a view of the inside patio and pool. Lots of hanging baskets with greenery and areas to rest in all floors. The bathrooms are new but very tiny. My husband is tall and it was hard for him to move around inside. Other than that we got good service, breakfast is included although it could have had a Buffett, I ordered toast and they only had white bread, they are geared towards local breakfasts not for international tastes. We got a fruit plate, juice and choice of eggs prepared in the local way. Very good though.

Room Tip: If you stay on the third floor there are no elevators. The pool is by the first floor rooms but gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great value hotel to stay in old city. This is the place to stay as very close to all historic attractions. Not much english at this hotel, but this gave me the opportunity to practice my Espagnol. Ok with the odd overnight guest(s) you might have. Friendly parrot who also spoke spanish in the courtyard.

Staff generally friendly. One major issue i had was the need to be let in at night - no key to exterior door - although did not seem to be a problem to wake up the night guard. Cleaning not always spotless, and sometimes short of towels - no problem to get additional onces though

Jacuzzi on top floor which i did not see anyone use, good free wifi, small pool in courtyard which was nice in the heat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyd11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

When visiting Cartegena you definitely want to stay within the old walled city. Casa Real is a small, reasonably priced, clean, well located alternative. Its an old Spanish Colonial, nothing fancy but we enjoyed our stay. The staff was helpful and efficient. Breakfast was cooked to order, though the chef's lack of English led to some interesting though tasty culinary adventures. You can practice your Spanish with the talkative parrot (-:

Room Tip: No suggestions. We were on the 2nd floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#57 of 155 in Cartagena
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#44 of 155 in Cartagena
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel
Centro Hotel
#105 of 155 in Cartagena
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Heredia
Hotel Boutique Casa Heredia
#67 of 157 in Cartagena
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcones de Alheli
Hotel Balcones de Alheli
#18 of 157 in Cartagena
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de los Reyes by HMC
Casa de los Reyes by HMC
#66 of 188 in Cartagena
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Real Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Real Cartagena

Property: Hotel Casa Real Cartagena
Address: Calle del Cuartel #36-122, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Real Cartagena 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Real Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing