We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portal de Getsemani
Ranked #36 of 169 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We made a reservation online, but when we arrived they asked us to pay four our room, saying they hadn't received any payment. That same evening they discovered the price had been payed already via our visa card, and they said they would return the cash we had given, but they hadn't enough at the hotel, so ultimately we left and they still owed us money!!!!we had to leave very early so we couldn't talk to the hotel owner. the person in charge was friendly but THIS IS NOT PROFESSIONAL
the place is hot and small, the "pool" is actually a bathtub. NEVER AGAIN, such confusion is UNACCEPTABLE

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose this place due to good reviews and location. The location indeed was good (10 minutes walk to the old town). However, we didn’t really understand, how someone could write any positives about this awful place. Casa Portal De Getsemani was shown as a guest house with rating of 4 star. However, it would much better fit in a category of a poor quality hostel. From the very beginning we were told that we had to stay in whether we liked it or not, although the web policy stated something else. We contacted Booking.com and were advised to stay-in at least one night just to prove that we showed up. During that time, the monies were taken from our bank account without our approval, just in case we would decide to leave.
The lady, who looked after the house, although very friendly, did not speak any English. The breakfast, although included in the price, was of extremely poor quality (no choice whatsoever; ever day a piece of bread, either juice or coffee and eggs - no more then that!!!).
The room was very dark and dirty. There were just two small lights which didn’t give enough light. Even during the day, there was not much light as the room had only a very small window. The towels were just changed after 3 days of our stay which was completely unacceptable considering the very hot and humid weather in Cartagena (and just after we asked for it). Hot water in the bathroom every other day. The bathroom itself was very small (had to go inside the shower if wanted to close the door of the bathroom). No ventilation whatsoever. Rust of the tap. Toiletries included just a small soap.
The beds were very small and uncomfortable (base made of concrete). No storage for the language whatsoever (wardrobe very small, old, smelly and dirty).
An outdoor pool was tiny and dirty. Free Wi-Fi only in a communal area which didn’t have an air-condition making impossible to browse the net for longer than 5 minutes due to the heat.
Definitely would never recommend this place to stay. On the very same street, there were much nicer and cheaper HOSTELS with hammocks and English speaking staff.
No social life as there were just 3 rooms in the whole house.

Please refer to the photos which show the real state of the house. We also recorded a video which shows much better the poor state of Casa Portal de Getsemani.

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE THIS PLACE. Check the cheaper, cleaner hostels options located closer to the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a reservation for casa portal that was made over 2 months in advance. However, when we got there we were told it was full.
The excuse was that the website was to blaim for the overbookings. On the question why they did not inform us of this in advance I never received an answer...

Instead they redirected us to another hostel, supposedly of the same organisation, and offered us a room there. Although this place looked better than casa portal, with a large room and swimming pool, we did not take it. The lady was not particularly friendly and the whole situation spoilt it for us.

The fact that another review mentiones the same tells me that this is standard operating procedure to expand business instead of a malfunctioning website

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank 19Caesar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Casa Portal de Getsemani in September 12. Cartagena is an enchanting Spanish colonial afro-caribbean creole city full of sights, sounds, smells, tastes. Our barrio, Getsemani, awoke to the cries of street hawkers with their papayas, citrus, plantanos. Later salsa and cumbia and champeta from doorways, somewhere in the background someone practicing the trumpet, children playing futbol in the street. Aromas of frying fish and plantains.
The bed and breakfast served both as our gateway to and refuge from this world. We could sit in the living room enjoying the tropical warmth and watch and hear the life of the neighborhood. Or we could retreat to our quiet air conditioned bedroom. Or we could cool off in the quite tiny but perfectly cool courtyard pool. Sipping on cuba libres or aguardiente or aguila. Every corner has a corner store. Some have two. All are ready to provision you with chilled bottles of ron or aguardiente complete with complementary plastic shot glasses.
Oh yes, the breakfasts. Must mention the breakfasts. Lovely fresh tropical fruit juices, eggs, queso, papaya, patacon, empanaditos, toast, marmalade, cafe. Every morning anticipation. What will we have today?
FInally and most importantly the hospitality. Muy simpatico! In short, Lea is a true jewel. Ever smiling. Ever helpful. Ever patient with our virtually non-existent Spanish. We considered ourselves most fortunate to have her as our host in Cartagena. Un abrazo grande para Lea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannibalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las internas, porque la que da a la calle es algo ruidosa por la gente
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertofagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank YaraSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 169 in Cartagena
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patio de Getsemani
Patio de Getsemani
#5 of 169 in Cartagena
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 169 in Cartagena
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast
Casa Relax Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 169 in Cartagena
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Sierpe
Casa La Sierpe
#68 of 169 in Cartagena
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Marta Cartagena
Casa Marta Cartagena
#28 of 169 in Cartagena
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portal de Getsemani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portal de Getsemani

Address: Getsemani Calle Lomba 28-01 Esquina, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $99 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Portal de Getsemani 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Portal de Getsemani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing