We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 167 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Traveled to Cartagena in the summer and it was simply amazing, brought to you in part by Lez Lezards Bed & Breakfast (not really, but it is that worth staying there). Marcus (the owner) is superbly helpful and wants nothing but the best for his guests. Breakfast is home cooked, and some may argue that it's not this or that and what not. For me though, it was home away from home. Turtles runnin' around and everything, it truly is the place to stay and out of the old walled city touristiness (but still close enough to easily walk to it). Overall, I wouldn't stay anywhere else or ask for anything more... wait...also, the room above the entrance way is the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanchitoPistoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 353 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Les Lezards and it was a much needed sanctuary from the hectic and hot city and a great place to base ourselves. The property is tucked away behind a huge door in a small street near Plaza Poza and is surprising oasis of lush greenery and decorated with a vast array of interesting artefacts and curios collected from around the world.

We stayed in the Africa Room for a week and appreciated the extra room. Initially we had no TV as the area for it had recently been painted but once we requested one, Marcus promptly replaced it and he was great at helping us with information about the city and tours etc.

The breakfasts were perfect and don't be concerned about the resident tortoises - they want to eat everything except your feet!

Room Tip: We had the Africa Room and while we didn't see the others in detail I think it was one of the be...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Lez Lezards in Cartagena in Sep 2013 and overall we really enjoyed the experience.

The location is very nice, its in Getsemani and very convenient to walk all over the old city in Cartagena. Its also very close to a square (for the Iglesia de la Trinidad) and plenty of restaurants and people at all times of the day and night. This area had (we heard) a reputation of being somewhat dodgy earlier, we certainly loved it and felt very safe at all times.

The main squares and restaurants all over the old city are within a 10-15 min walk, and even the seafront is only about 15 min away. The rooms are clean and air-conditioned ( a little small, but you won't be spending much time inside your room) and Manuela who runs the place will provide you a delicious breakfast each morning (Eggs, fruit, fruit juice, cereal etc.). There's even an adorable tortoise on the property and a small hot tub on the terrace (highly unlikely you will use it).

All in all, its a convenient, comfortable base to explore Cartagena for a few days and the people are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I travelled to Cartagena with my friend and my father. We were very pleasantly surprised when Marcus' place turned out to be a comfortable, affordable, relaxing place to stay.

Marcus' place is located a 5 minute walk from the old-city. His staff is friendly and nice. If you cannot speak Spanish, be aware that the staffs' English is limited, but they were incredibly friendly at trying to communicate with us over the language barrier. They are sweet and attentive and we have absolutely no complaints.

Marcus is a wonderful host. Whenever we had questions about activities around the city, he went out of his way to arrange them for us. We really felt like he opened up his home to us.

I will definitely stay at this place if I return to Cartagena.

Room Tip: Marcus has many different kinds of rooms in his house. If you have any particular needs or requests...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This bed and breakfast was ideal for our large group. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and included amenities that made the stay very comfortable. All the helpers at the house were very kind and prepared a wonderful breakfast everyday. The house is very well located, close to the old city and convenient to everything.The size, cleanliness and location provided by this house gave us great privacy and security making our group feel at home. Much better than a hotel, good internet and above all Marcus was a kind and caring Host. Will definitely go back and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

There were more positives than negatives about this place. The location is good, in the Getsemani area by Plaza Trinidad, and overall it seemed very safe and secure. It is in walking distance of most of the city within 30 minutes, and there is a market 1/2 block away if you need to buy food items. The rooms were generally quiet and the A/C functional and also quiet, the beds comfortable. The bathroom window was open-air and you could get considerable noise there from the neighbors and a hostel next door, but with the door closed you would hear very little. Since the window in the bath is open, it also lets in the mosquitoes and a myriad of other flying insects, so definitely try to keep the door closed. Good water pressure and warm water in the shower, no tub present. The small lizards in the room hopefully helped keep the bug population down, and they stayed close to the ceiling or in the waste-basket, so don't worry about them. TV in the room had good picture and many channels. Coffee was available in the kitchen in the morning after 7 a.m., and the breakfast was available until noon. A variety of fruit was served, with bread/toast and eggs. Loved the two house turtles that crawl around the ground floor - watch your fingers when feeding them, though! Marcus, the owner, was helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations but was generally missing-in-action while we were there, which seemed considerably different from most bed-and-breakfast places we've stayed. The wi-fi access was good, and also free. The ride from the airport was free and easy though you're on your own for your return back home (Marcus will call you a cab). On the negative side, the drawers and cabinets were all very musty and smelled a bit of mold, so we were reluctant to store any belongings therein. (Cartagena is very hot and humid, which probably doesn't help matters.) We found the housekeeping spotty, the bathroom and rooms were never cleaned during our stay and the wastebaskets were emptied only once, on the 4th day of our visit. The linens and towels were thin and some were ripped and had holes, there were some stains on bedding items and the pillows looked as though they had seen better days. Though advertised as having fans, the room had none, though the A/C was sufficient. Our room was on the ground floor, on the right and adjacent to a little table and chairs that were used by other guests to socialize. Unfortunately, if they smoked, the smoke came right into our room due to the cracks and spaces around the door to our room. Would recommend that Marcus consider making this a no-smoking facility unless he can assure that the rooms are sealed better. Last, but not least, at around $100 USD per night this place seemed over-priced for what we got, which was confirmed by other people who left during their stay to find a nicer and more economical place. Would I stay here again? Yes, but I would look for price breaks (some coming after us got their rooms for $70 USD) and I would request housekeeping come at least every couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcus l, Owner at Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear guest,

I’m sorry to read that you had so many issues with your stay at our little b&b.

I’m really sorry that you considered I was “Missing-in-Action” though we met several times during the day and night, every day of your stay and talked about a variety of things such as places to visit, restaurants to check, schedules and hints on the city. There are also 3 employees at the house that have always been available for your needs.

Yes, we always offer to pick-up our guests at the airport. We believe that a smiling driver at the airport will make arrivals easier and help our guests avoid the hassle of arriving at a new place without knowing how to move around, sometimes without speaking the language. The return to the airport is much easier and straightforward, no way to miss it or to get lost. We do however offer airport drop off as well, with our driver, if you need it, for an additional cost.

We have 3 ladies, Manuela, Epi and Maribel that take care of the 6 rooms. Their mission is to clean and keep the rooms tidy every day, several times a day. Your room and bathroom have been cleaned every day during your stay. The wastebasket has been emptied during each clean up. The only day that the room had not been cleaned was a rainy day when you stayed the whole day in the room and you specifically asked Epi not to do the room that day. She changed the towels and cleaned the bathroom though.

I’m sorry that you considered the towels and sheets thin and in bad shape. Linen is Egyptian 400 count thread and each bed has a set of 2 hard and 2 soft pillows. The duvets are light down feather filled, though you asked to remove it.

If something was wrong with the quality of your room, you should have advised us and it would have been taken care of immediately.

I would like to note that the bathroom does not have a window but a 12 inch diameter oculus for ventilation. There is no hostel next door ( it’s 3 houses away from ours ) nor can much noise come from that opening. There may be some mosquitos, that won’t get in the rooms because they are air-conditioned but there are not a “myriad of other flying insect coming in” and there is no “bug population in the room” !

The rooms are not advertised as having fan. The patio has fans. The room has a five months old 12.000btu split air conditioning that is extremely silent and is 30% more powerful than needed for the volume of the room.

The door to your room has cracks and spaces ?

I’m sorry if smoke from some other guests in the patio bothered you. You’re absolutely right, this should not happen. If you had told us we would have solved this issue immediately.

Our rates are clearly stated in all our listings and are standardized. There may be promotions available but no double occupancy room will ever be at US$70. You are maybe talking about the single occupancy room. Somebody left to find a nicer and cheaper place ? Why would you say that?

Then, there is no room on the right when you enter the guesthouse and no room is directly on the street.

Again I am sorry for what happened and hope that we’ll have another occasion to serve you better.

Sincerely,


Marcus Loerbroks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I chose this bed and breakfast because of all the wonderful reviews and everyone was right. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

The daily breakfast was muy delicioso and helps you get started for your daily tourist activities. Location of the bed and breakfast was great, it is close to Centro where a great deal of museums and restaurants are located. Also it is also near Plaza Trinidad where people hang out every night and all the other local spots. Marcus was very helpful and gave excellent advice of where to go and the restaurants he recommended were great.

The ladies who work at the house are also very friendly and pleasant.

Visiting Cartagena was great and having a worry free place to stay at made the vacation even better.

I look forward to staying there again :-)

Room Tip: I loved the room. I had a bathroom with shower ceiling open.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noninalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle de las Chancletas 10B-39, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and romantic colonial guesthouse in Cartagena de Indias, in the vibrant and traditional Getsemani area, one of the last truly exotic places in the Caribbean, the most dynamic downtown location where new boutique hotels, bars and restaurants sprawl. Positioned in a quiet street, away from traffic and commercial activities, and just a few feet away from the Arsenal and the booming Calle del Guerrero and Media Luna night spots and at walking distance from all the best restaurants and attractions. The house designed by award winning architect blends colonial with mediterranean style and is decorated with items and maps collected during worldwide journeys. All rooms are custom designed. The cotto floors with spanish ceramic accents help you cool down and unwind surrounded by an abundant tropical vegetation with adult mango and palm trees. Guests can relax in the patios and enjoy an open air tile jacuzzi on the terrace and a mirador/solarium with views on the Cathedral, the churches of San Pedro and La Trinidad and the Castillo San Felipe. The house is on a north-south axis and enjoys plenty of natural ventilation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing