We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, pretty alter, otherwise ho hum”

Convento La Popa de la Galera
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.50*
and up
City Tour of Cartagena Including Convento de la Popa
Ranked #11 of 193 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great views, pretty alter, otherwise ho hum”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

La Popa was highly recommended, so I was sure to go there. The building is not particularly well maintained. The grounds are not particularly well done. If you are taking a city tour on one of the Chivas, it's a stop that's included. So, enjoy the views and the history. Otherwise, it's just a snooze.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sculptor-for-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    917
    452
    62
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You step back in time”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

you feel you are on inquisition times the minute you walk there. Beautiful architecture and colonial construction. Worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kalifa282003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Visit with a awesome view”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This convento is located on top of a little mountain and you can see the whole city, very attractive view and a place for great photos.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“There is beauty in its simplicity”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The church is small, but there is something charming about it. It's not fancy, and anything you can say WOW... I mean if you are going to expect Rome and the Vatican you will be disappointed. But that's not what this is. This church is hundreds of years old. The steps and walls are all original. You go there to see history and understand were you are. You have to see the beauty in its simplicity. It's high, so you must take a taxi, and he has to wait for you to go back down. I didn't feel disappointed, I was glad to have gone. I liked it. Would I go again? Probably Not, but yes at least once should be given a chance. The views are nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzsmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tranquil Convent”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful convent with a very nice interior patio. Wear comfortable shoes so that you can enjoy the walk around the convent. From the top terraces you'll have beautiful views of the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank edmadelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convento La Popa de la Galera also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Convento La Popa de la Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing