We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly fine hotel, conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Cartagena Urban Royal
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were in CTG for a wedding and opted to stay here due to the more moderate price per night. The hotel is conveniently located to a lot of things in the Old City. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful when we had questions. We generally do not have housekeeping come in during our stays so I cant really speak to their service. I would suggest looking at the room before taking it. We ended up with a room on the second floor that had windows that faced an internal stairwell and not outside. It was a bit strange. We decided it was too much trouble to ask to move and we didnt go to CTG to spend time in the hotel room so it wasnt such a big deal. I agree with other reviewers that it's not the quietest place to sleep. Hotel had DirecTV and free WiFi. Always a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Czesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for NH Cartagena Urban Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights during peak period. Front desk was nice in accommodating the busy occupancy schedule but it all ended there and was offset by a terrible and inexcusable experience of major theft from my room.

My passport wallet which includes personal documents and reserve cash kept in my room was breached while I was away. A very significant amount of money was stolen and personal identifying documents were misplaced. It is unresolved if it was a member of the hotel staff (i.e. housekeeping) or intruder. All of this was kept in the in-room safe; which is not reliable. If the lock on that safe doesn't fully latch then the door will swing open.

Upon reporting this theft, the manager became defensive. The manager promptly dismissed me and this incident by suggesting that I lost or spent the money. Instead of being helpful and working to probe and solve this theft from my private guest room on their property, she spent the time and effort trying to convince me I was having a memory lapse. I later learned that they had different housekeeping personnel on each of the days. This exacerbated the problem. They also have the ability to examine the keycard logs but did not do so. They barely made an effort to speak with the various housekeeping personnel that entered our room. All in all they made little to no effort to investigate and resolve this; and losing this much personal property is not trivial and feels violating. Most importantly, based on my experience they did not act on this incident and place safeguards or find the culprit to ensure that thefts do not recur.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Decibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Based on the other hotels in the chain, we decided to stay here for 4 nights. The location was super convenient, but the website photos portrayed a more elegant accommodation. The staff was very nonchalant. I had sent numerous emails attempting to arrange transport from airport and finally went to the sister hotel in Bogota to get it set up. The hotel was clean but the hallways were often cluttered with dirty linens and the housekeeping cart. I didn't care for the scent of the cleaning products. After seeing some of the other hotels in the price range, I would have opted for other accommodations in the walled city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A reasonably priced hotel, great if you want to tour, or have a business trip that involves the Convention Centre (walking distance, 5-10 mins). The rooms I found a little basic and small, but sufficient for a lone business traveller. It does come with good double windows which makes it less noisy, but depending on which floor you are on and whether you face the plaza and which day it is, the noise still gets you to. Nonetheless, they a good hearty breakfast selection (eggs to order can take a while), nice small pool area with great views of Cartagena.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank travel-bitten-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The UrbanRoyal Puerta del Reloj has a lot of things going for it. The central location makes pretty much everything in the walled city within reasonable walking distance. The hotel itself seemed quite new, with a modern take on the guest rooms and bathrooms. Most importantly, however, everything was very clean. A nice touch was a rooftop terrace that overlooked the Puerta del Reloj and had views toward Cartagena's cathedral. Overall, we had a fantastic stay.

Pros:
-Central location on Puerta del Reloj
-Guest rooms with all of the modern comforts - air conditioning, free wi-fi, and a mini-fridge
-Rooms included two bottles of water and soda
-Room 535 has a beautiful view of the cathedral - fantastic waking up to such a great view
-Included breakfast was delicious, with lots of variety - lots of juices, yogurts, meats, and breads. Also, they had good coffee.
-Roof terrace a small pool and great views of the city.

Cons:
-Thin walls made it a little bit noisy
-Beds are very firm, a little uncomfortable

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel is in the middle of the old city. The restaurant downstairs has excellent food. Local sweets are available across the street during the day and at night there is music every where. Friendly staff and nice clean rooms complete tour stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I visited Cartagena for a wedding. This hotel was wonderful. The location is great, the restaurant downstairs was nice, and the staff were very helpful. When my husband felt sick, they called someone to see him within minutes, without charge. We also loved the rooftop pool. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.1 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#47 of 155 in Cartagena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 155 in Cartagena
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#23 of 155 in Cartagena
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#57 of 155 in Cartagena
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Cartagena Urban Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cartagena Urban Royal

Address: Plaza de los Coches Cr 7 # 34-10, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $92 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Cartagena Urban Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Cartagena Urban Royal is located within the walled city; it is the only hotel located at Plaza de Los Coches, beside the magnificent Puerta y Torre del Reloj. 28 modern rooms with individual air conditioning, cable tv with LCD 42” and complimentary internet access. This fresh and dynamic hotel offers a specialty restaurant, bar, Business center, Board room for 12 people and from the Terrace and swimming pool located on the top floor, enjoy a unique city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your NH Cartagena Urban Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing