We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is beautiful but it's biggest selling point is its staff who are so helpful and welcoming. After staying in a few places in Cartagena this was the first we stayed in where staff spoke English.
The only issue we found was trying to find staff at breakfast , or indeed, where breakfast was being served. More information on arrival would be useful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been to Cartagena several times, however my last visit was shorter than normal so we chose to stay in a hotel located in the Center of Cartagena instead of renting in Boca Grande. Ameria Real is very clean and the staff there are very generous and helpful. The location is close to several shops, has an onsite Mediterranean restaurant "El Reducto" and is a safe environment. A short taxi ride will take you to the local beach. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cartagena. You will not be disappointed with the colonial style hotel with spa and gorgeous view of Cartagena as you can see the whole city from the balcony view!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed the weekend and absolutely loved it. I went with my Fiancée for vacation and to do some research for a wedding that were planning to have in Cartagena, Colombia. We fell in love with the hotel immediately from the decor, ambience, staff, to an enmities offered is an overall great getaway. Close to shops and lots of fun to get into. Historic district Colombia is so romantic and truly is a gem of Colombia.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Nice to be very close but outside the main tourist area. Good restaurants around and the area worth to be known. Excellent service, nice pool. We took a duplex room and it was great. The only thing is that the bedroom downstrairs is noisy due to the trafic. The hotel could make something to lower the noise. They propose a trip to the Real Island and it is fantastic to relax.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AV_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

i liked the armeria hotel, great location n Getsemani, 10 min from the old city. Spacious room, lovely and simple but nice atmosphere. Fantastic sitting area in the terrace, great view, to chill with a drink. Still far from the service wise, not very well organised but it ca be improved. The place is romantic and great for couples as well for single travellers.
There is a small spa, but better to get the appointment on time.
my suggestion for the management, is to work on the service rather than the luxury.
I still had a great time!

Room Tip: any room are beautiful, you can chose between 1, 2 or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My favorite hotel in the area, excellent food, excellent people, the breakfast is delicius you can chose cereal, eggs with wathever you want, colombian coffee, tropical fruits, the restrooms are perfect with comfortable spaces, the pool is beautiful with excellent sea view.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank catleya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Armeria Real was a great, safe choice for a first time trip to Cartagena. Staff was helpful and accommodating, food at the hotel was amazing (especially the ravioli). Room was well-designed and clean, beds were comfortable and showers had good water pressure. Sweet little balcony off the bedroom in our "family suite", which suited two couples perfectly, despite being able to hear each footstep, etc., taken in the room above us. Great rooftop pool with water views and San Felipe Fort. Overall a solid stay- we were quite happy with it!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better. Street noise along Calle 26 starts early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaneof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 157 in Cartagena
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 157 in Cartagena
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 157 in Cartagena
1,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
0.5 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa

Address: Getsemani Calle Larga con Pedregal esquina No. 25-28, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $135 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing us, “ARMERIA REAL LUXURY HOTEL & SPA”. We are a new accommodation option in the city of Cartagena de Indias, our mission is based on the philosophy of providing our guests with high quality of services, comfort and luxury at the right price.We are located in a privileged site of the walled city, with 360 degrees of view: The “San Felipe de Barajas” Castle, Convento de la Popa, Fort of Pastelillo, Fishing Club, roofs of houses in downtown, Towers of Churches and Convents, and all the majesty of the Bahia de las Animas, a few meters from the Convention Center of Cartagena de Indias - Julio Cesar Turbay, located in the traditional Calle Larga, where it weaves the story of Cartagena’s Independence.Our beautiful house hides in its corners the culture of our Race and a history of freedom. Built in the VXI century and restored in 2010, preserving the architectural standards and measures of the colony in terms of areas such as bathrooms, bedrooms and social areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing