We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel great for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Ranked #63 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel 2 days before our trip, looking for something affordable to be in Cartagena during the "Reinado Nacional de Belleza", the National Beauty Contest, what normally means full hotels and high prices in the whole city. We were lucky to find a Double Room with breakfast incluided for 388,000 Pesos., the hotel is located in "Getsemani", a barrio of Cartagena, still in the old historic part of the city but NOT inisde the walled historic center how it's stated in the website, what is a difference, because it means more walking. The hotel is a colonial building, totally renovated with a beautiful entrance, nice wood work on the ceilings and lushious green courtyard with a well. They have 3 categories of rooms, how I understood, we had a more basic double room on the ground floor what was apart from the restaurant and bar and therefor very quiet, but at this time the hotel had only occupancy of 8 rooms, out of the 35 rooms. The staff is very friendly and warm, but a bit slow. There was no breakfast buffet, you order what you want and the food and coffee arrives step by step, what has to be done better. The bar in the third floor on top is lovely with a nice view to the fortress and part of a harbour, the only minus is the fact that the hotel is in front of a small busy bridge. There is a small pool with place for 5 long chairs and a round daybed. The staff was so nice to show us 2 other categories for rooms, the "purple room" is the one suite, very nicely decorated in a romantic design with own balcony,spacious with a kitchenette and a tub made of stone. If you want to use the Spa, you have to ask at the reception to call the therapist because she is not there all the time, so plan this in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the opposite corner of bar and restaurant. Some rooms are darker than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I think what made my experience worthwhile for me at this hotel was the level of proffesionalism and helpfullness of the front desk staff... They would really go out of their way to make my stay comfortable.
The hotel itself is small and lovely. If you're a light sleeper avoid rooms on the ground floor especially the ones facing the street.
Food is really good at breakfast, rooms are clean and unique with daily refreshment of L'occtiance products
The hotel is 5 or 10 minutes walk to the historical centre and also offers tours to other top destinations.
I never got to use the spa coz the therapist was late and i had other plans...

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, and try to avoid the street facing rooms, there is a nightclub exactley op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLoverXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

from the moment you walk in, you encounter a very nice decoration of this colonial house and great service. The location is fantastic! within walking distance of the historic center, the San Felipe castle, la Manga bay, etc.
The courtyard, rooftop (no other hotel in Cartagena has this view) and the restaurant are simply amazing. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very courteous and they would do anything to make sure you have a pleasant stay.
we definitely are planning to stay here once again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was between giving it a Very Good & Average rating.. The hotel IS beautiful. The courtyard is gorgeous, lush & green . The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable (a bit on the dark side though) . The shower is great- super water pressure and lovely L'occitane amenities ( which were replaced randomly) . The Wifi was free & had a good signal. When I had interaction with the staff it was always good .

If you are there for a conference in town ( as I was) or any kind of trip that requires a good night sleep on a weekend or pre holiday night.. forget it. GO ELSEWHERE ( or request to be on the 1st floor in a corner. The beautiul rooftop bar has some very loud music and nearly all the rooms open up to the courtyard. I understand that Cartagena is foremost a vacation /party town ,but also hotels are primarliy for sleeping last time I checked. I had a room on the top floor and the music just came directly in. Luckily, I brought earplugs.

Another sticking point besides the bar is the cost ..in general Cartagena is expensive, but I think this hotel is considerably overpriced. Its lovely but.. not that lovely.

I had a meal at the restaurant and it was very good - they served it to us out in the beautiful courtyard which was maybe the highlight of my stay there.

All in all - it is a pretty boutique hotel and the rooftop bar /pool is gorgeous. If money isn't really that relevant to you , perhaps you might find this a value. Also it is in walking distance to the Convention Center.. but we ended up taking a taxi as its "just" a bit too far in the heat if you are wearing business attire.
Side notes: :Be sure to stop at one of the mini markets ( they are kind of disguised) to get water - they charge an exhorbitant 5,000 pesos for a minature water- you can get a liter for 1,500 down the street. Also go to the ATM at the airport - its in the check in/departure hall ( most inconvenient) , There aren't many that are super obvious in town & some in my group had trouble with the ones they found.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor can be loud when the bar is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel is well located, easy access to the old city. Beautiful view of the city from the pool to the bay and Castillo de San Felipe - in fact, just the view makes it completely worthy. Excellent service and nice locations to spend a relaxing weekend at Cartagena. The restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Armeria Real is housed a expertly renovated colonial gem; the hotel feels modern and updated, without loosing any of its intimate and historic charm. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, large modern bathrooms, small balconies or living rooms--some rooms also have lofts and kitchenettes. The rooms are a bit dark, but this is perfect for a romantic get-away. L'Occitaine products are generously provided daily. The rooftop bar and pool are simply spectacular, especially in the evenings. The restaurant is good, if its service is a bit slow, but the fajitas and red snapper are hard to beat.

The service is personalized and professional; the owner is American and is quite welcoming.

Definitely the best choice in Cartagena in this price-range; it's a more intimate alternative to the Sta. Teresa or Sta. Clara. Not too far from the Convention Center, or the Havana Club--a bar with live music and the best mojitos in town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opera101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but had a lovely dinner at its restaurant, El Reducto. Was initially attracted by the contemporary/funky dining room decor: very elegant & appealing. Was pleasantly surprised to find that one can dine in the main dining room or on the beautiful rooftop or gorgeous courtyard. We ate in the courtyard & had a wonderful meal. Food is nicely done & service was attentive, but unobtrusive. Highly memorable & beautiful meal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse L, Gerente at Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Thank you for everything.

For us it's greatful you'd had a fabolous dinner in our restaurant.

Sincerely
Ilse Lopez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.5 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#61 of 159 in Cartagena
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 159 in Cartagena
634 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
0.7 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 159 in Cartagena
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa

Address: Getsemani Calle Larga con Pedregal esquina No. 25-28, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $133 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing us, “ARMERIA REAL LUXURY HOTEL & SPA”. We are a new accommodation option in the city of Cartagena de Indias, our mission is based on the philosophy of providing our guests with high quality of services, comfort and luxury at the right price.We are located in a privileged site of the walled city, with 360 degrees of view: The “San Felipe de Barajas” Castle, Convento de la Popa, Fort of Pastelillo, Fishing Club, roofs of houses in downtown, Towers of Churches and Convents, and all the majesty of the Bahia de las Animas, a few meters from the Convention Center of Cartagena de Indias - Julio Cesar Turbay, located in the traditional Calle Larga, where it weaves the story of Cartagena’s Independence.Our beautiful house hides in its corners the culture of our Race and a history of freedom. Built in the VXI century and restored in 2010, preserving the architectural standards and measures of the colony in terms of areas such as bathrooms, bedrooms and social areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing