We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Nativa Hostal
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$403
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
24
14
6
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
14
6
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 52 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Wow what an amazing 3 nights I had at this hostal. Below are some of the highlights:

- Great location inside the old town, close to great bars, restaurants and also the supermarket
- Very friendly and social staff. I was taken out for drinks twice and even shown around the oldtown
- Lots of Colombians stayed whilst I was there (virtually no Gringos) so was great opportunity to meet local people and practice my Spanish
- Dorm rooms have amazing aircon which is a must in Cartagena. I stayed in another hostel with an old aircon system and it wasnt very pleasant
- Each bed has a locker at the head of it large enough for your big backpack which is great for security. The beds also each have a curtain providing more privacy and less interuptions while sleeping
- Hostel had cooking facilities and communal fridge which was great for keeping drinks cold
- You could book various tours from the hostal such as Playa Blanca, Islas de Rosario

Overall I had a great time at this hostal and recommend it if you're heading to Cartagena

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just visited Cartagena and was told by a friend about Casa Nativa. I thank my frien for it! At a great price, you get to stay at a very decent and clean place in the middle of the historic center o the city! Everything in the historic center is within walking distance (the cathedrals, museums, parks and historic places). Casa Nativa is very clean, the beds are comfortable and have a space for you to keep your belongings under lock and the best thing are the owners who are always trying to make you feel at home. Tip: every weekend they do a gathering at nights were they offer food and drinks and is a good opportunity to meet everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EljocheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a very small hostel. 1 dorm for girls and 1 dorm for boys.
Good things about this hostel: Very nice people working there - they were helpful and kind. The dorm was nicely airconditioned, clean and had a big box to put your big backpack that fits and they gave you a key to lock it. Very good location of the hostel, in San Diego old town with walking distance to everywhere. Fast Wifi.

Bad things: 2 showers which were small and not very pleasant (or clean) to take a shower in. The hostel itself (common areas) are not very nice, not cozy or a feel like you want to hang out in. This applies also to the kitchen and "the dining area". I felt it was a bit dirty everywhere and old furniture. Another minus for me was the other people staying in this hostel, maybe I was unlucky but very boring people - I guess this place was just not meant to be for me. I checked in at about 10 pm and everyone was fast asleep (???!!!) Oh well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibzberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Casa Nativa is in the San Diego neighborhood, close to city walls along the Caribbean. This is a more desirable area than Getsemani, where most Cartagena hostels are located.The owner is fluent in English, very welcoming and helpful.

The sleeping area, two 8-bed dorms, is a stroke of genius. Each bunk bed has a locker built into the headboard; the keychain has an LCD flashlight for late-night access without turning on the overhead light. Each bunk has curtains providing privacy. A quiet wall air conditioner keeps it cool for sleeping. And the dorms have no windows, meaning they stay dark in the morning, another blessing.

Apart from the dorms, the only facility on offer is a tiny kitchen which doubles as a laundry room. However, there are no tables or chairs to sit at and eat...just a futon chair on the floor.

So Casa Nativa is a great and secure place to sleep, but it doesn´t offer the usual hostel amenities--common rooms; places to sit, eat, and drink, etc.

(Vegetarians rejoice: Cartagena`s two vegetarian restaurants are down the street from Casa Nativa!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymundo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews