We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colombian surprise, wonderful value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Cartagena
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Colombian surprise, wonderful value”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the resort Jan 16-23. After a 25 minute bus ride from the airport we arrived to find that our rooms (about 10 other couples as well) would not be ready for at least an hour. After lunch we asked if it was ready, the answer “in half an hour”. We waited 45 minutes still no room. Each person we asked at the front desk disappeared and never came back to tell us anything. After a further wait I spoke to one of the managers with the yellow ties (they are the ones who speak English and can get things done). Our room still wasn’t ready so they switched the room. When we got to the room, surprise, it had not been made up. Hanners our bell man called the front desk and they gave us another room which he let us into with his master card. Yes it was ready to receive new guests. I had to go down to the front desk to get the key cards, one of which wouldn’t work. One other couple was still waiting for their room almost 3 hours after arrival.
We were in Building 2 facing south. The room was pleasant enough with a comfortable bed but it did smell a bit musty from the AC unit which every room we went into also did. Not unusual in the tropics from our experience. The filters need to be changed or cleaned more frequently. If you want to sit on your balcony without frying after 11 am I suggest a room in Building 1 which faces north so your balcony will be in shade. All rooms above the second floor have some ocean view but I would not pay extra for an ocean view room since it is nothing special. The 3 buildings are in a U shape open towards the ocean (west) enclosing the quiet pool. Beware of the lounge hawks who go out at 5 am to towel the shady chairs around this pool, the main pool and the ocean side tents. There are plenty of lounges however there are not many in the shade and since it is a new resort the trees aren’t big enough to give a lot of shade. Some people were observed to be reserving chairs at multiple locations with one towel over two lounges.
The food was generally pretty good with good variety from day to day. However it amazed us that pans of food freshly brought from the kitchen were not hot when put out in the heating trays. This occurred at all meals at the buffet. The food at the Mexican restaurant was hot on the two occasions we were there. Lots of fresh fruit juices (mix them together for a taste treat especially the mango and passion fruit, awesome) and fruit at all meals. Good selection of salads. The Nativo a la carte serves a series of ten international menus. We tried 4 of them and the food was very good. If you are a vegetarian you will be out of luck since we did not notice any meatless entrees on any of the 4 menus. The red and white wines are very drinkable. Don’t be fooled by the bottles they are served in since they just refill them from plastic bags in the back. In speaking to many people it did not appear that anyone was sick while we were there.
They had bottled and draft beer at the bars. The cocktails were among the best we have had at an all-inclusive. Try the caipirinhas! Large bottles of water were available at the main bar if you ran out. The wait for a drink was never long. If you are in a hurry go to the quiet pool bar, no waiting but no mixed cocktails.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and tried to speak with you with their limited English. There was always someone around who could help with communication if needed.
Go to town on the free shuttle, it is very safe and you can even come back after dark. Walk the beach either way. Even with the hot sun the sea breezes keep you cool enough to walk at midday without overheating. The breezes continue well into the night keeping things cool. Humidity is low so it does not get uncomfortable when the sun goes down. In fact women should bring a wrap for the evenings outdoors.
If you like to bird there are at least 100 species around the hotel and along the roads. There is a large pond on the main road about 2 kms from hotel that is a great spot to bird. The roads are safe and everyone you meet greets you with a friendly hello.
There are 4 computers available with free internet access along with free WiFi if you can't bear to be incommunicado.
We would have rated this resort as excellent except for a number of front desk incidents. Overall we would definitely go back and would recommend it to others. I may even take my family here after next Christmas because the weather will be very predictable and hot with lots of sun. The hotel management and staff must be commended on correcting many of the problems noted in previous reviews.

Room Tip: All rooms above 2 floor have a view of the ocean and an ocean view room is not worth it. Balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7continentsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    439
    173
    75
    47
See reviews for
401
462
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was staying on the resort Dec 22 to 29 it was a amazing resort, I will come back again that's for sure.

I saw many negative reviews beofore leaving but the only experience that counts is my own experience, or heres a hint choose to attract a good time and you will :)

The rooms were very clean and nice.

The food was always fresh and hot and lots of variety every day of the week.

The pool was nice and cleaned daily. The resort is a perfect size everything is close by.

I have stayed on huge resorts and after being on a Small resort its way better. You get to know people you feel more relaxed and your not as tired.

This resort is great for familes, couples, and singles if your here to relax and enjoy it,

I was a single guy with a bunch of my family and honestly im glad we picked this resort everyone felt it was a good resort to relax and really take in Cartagena by day and night.

The steam room was great also after drinking at night I take a nice steam in the morning, honestly the resort had a lot to offer for a small resort. You were always able to get your drinks and food at anytime no problems.

IF anything you tip a little they will give you the best service. Use some basic spanish they love that.

The bars were awesome and the bar tenders always got me my drinks right away, but I also did some guest Djing two nights that really got a party going. They lack music but if you have quality speakers and music like my self you can turn even a resort like this into awesome time and thats what I did one night.

you choose how the experience is going to be so make it awesome I chose to and thats what I attracted and my family all felt the same.

Oh almost forgot the coffee was awesome always go to the main pool bar.

Joshua

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshuab1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Google Translation
Buenas Tardes Sr. Joshua

Es un placer para nosotros saber que tuvo una agradable experiencia en el Hotel Estelar
Grand Playa Manzanillo. Sus comentarios nos hacen trabajar cada día más fuerte para ofrecer a nuestros huéspedes el mejor de los servicios.
Esperamos muy pronto volver a hospedarlo, para así atenderlo con los altos estándares de servicio de Hoteles Estelar S.A

Cordialmente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed two weeks (Feb2-16) and had a great time. Was a little skeptical having read the poor reviews before we got there. Airport and hotel check in was smooth. We never had any problems with our room. It was clean but small, but we don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, I heard from other guests that the problems they had were nothing serious and were taken care of quickly. All the restaurant staff are pleasant and try very hard to serve you the best they can. We found the food good even after a two week stay. The entertainment staff does a great job in trying to get you involved. There wasn't the repetition of entertainment you find at a lot of resorts. There are two clean pools. One has the entertainers with music and pool games, the other is a quiet pool. The beach is not the greatest, but you can still spend the day there without getting sand blasted. The water does not lend itself for snorkeling but we found it safe to swim in or just wade out. They could probably stand to add another bar for the beach area as there is only one. The bar service is not the greatest. They don't seem to like the "Canadian Bubba" fills, however they were quite generous and had a great variety.
The only problem we encountered was with the tour agent. We booked a number of day trips,(including the Volcano mud bath which is a blast once you put aside the health and safety issues) . Unfortunately we had to cancel one of them and had and extremely hard time doing so. It appears we were the first travellers that ever cancelled a tour and it was not possible to get our money back. Long story short, we are still waiting for the credit to come through. To summarize, this resort will only get better as they become more accustomed to the touism industry.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor adjoining room. We found the connecting room doors allowed a lot of noise thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matatan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arrived at the Occidental Grand Feb. 9. Nice quick drive from the airport to the hotel. Check-in went smoothly but our room wasn't ready. Headed off to lunch and by that time, room was ready.

ROOM: We ended up with a junior suite and it was gorgeous. Very spacious and clean. Block 2 did have the sun all afternoon and extremely hot to sit out. Fresh towels daily and the bar fridge was adequately stocked. Until the third last day. When we enquired why our fridge wasn't being stocked any longer we were told it's now only every second day! Fortunately we still had water bottles we could fill but others tossed theirs out and couldn't find anything to put water in. ( No store to buy anything.) There was occasionally a musty odour but it wasn't constant. Nothing unusual.
BEACH: it's huge !!! You can walk for miles. Not the white sand and turquoise water which if you research the place, you would know that. There were about 6 sunshades by the ocean, taken very early in the morning. Wonderfully hot on the beach and the breeze was a welcome.
POOLS: Several pools all kept very clean. They were never full and plenty big enough for all guests. Loved the chairs in the water but wow, got extremely hot sitting there - no shade. Chairs in this lower pool were comfortable.
FOOD: Excelllent! Buffet was your standard fare with many choices. We discovered you could sit in the buffet and order off the menu, either the grill or Italian. Beef although a bit chewy was extremely tasty and they know how to use their spices well. The pizzas are a must - they are delicious and we had them several evenings. Desserts plenty and also delicious. Always fresh, sweet fruit…..never had better. We were surprised on the second last day; they stopped bacon at breakfast - very strange. Wine served was ok – didn’t try the red but the white was tasty and light. Didn’t try the a la cartes so can’t comment.
ENTERTAINMENT: During the day, they did try to get people playing games in the pool. Didn't see entertainment at night, mostly music playing but no dancing. Bar was busy until around 10:00 and then seemed to get very quiet. So if it's a party you're looking for, this isn't the place.
TOURS: Didn't take a tour from the hotel as we got our own private tour guide. For us, it's the only way to go and we ended up with quite a history lesson on Colombia. Going into the city of Cartagena was wonderful and so much fun. We felt very safe. The mud volcano bath.....definitely shouldn't be missed. What an experience! If you want just silly fun, this is the place for you. There are taxis outside the resort if you wish to hire one…just negotiate a price before going. We found their English very good. Yes there are pushy vendors in the city but they’re trying to make a living so a polite no and be on your way. Horse & buggy ride was fun and well worth the money.

We really couldn't find fault with this resort at all. Service is amazing and at meals, your glass didn't stay empty for long. They were right there refilling constantly. A little issue in the room took some time to get fixed, but they did come eventually. Bar service took a bit of time but why would people expect not to wait for a drink....you really do have to wait your turn. Blended drinks were ok. Beer (bottled) was good & cold, although again day before we left they resorted to draught beer. Loungers at the beach & pool - now there is a huge issue! We were fortunate to always have found shade and chairs, but others weren’t. When people say they are taken by 6:00 a.m. they're not kidding. By 9:00 forget finding one in the shade. It's a situation that makes many people angry to the point of being confrontational even. The reserving is one thing, but many people were in multiple areas and that's what burns me. C'mon folks many people went without shade because you've reserved in two pool areas, sometimes 4 chairs together !!! Something I would like to see management get control of. Staff were always pleasant and yes, some have a language barrier but learn a bit of Spanish and you’ll get along fine. Don’t think staff should all be expected to cater to our language. Very few kids there and although there was a kids club, don’t think there is a lot to do for little ones. All in all, this resort is gorgeous….guaranteed hot weather….wonderful staff. What more could you want. We did feel that services were cutback towards the end and can’t figure out why. Eg no bacon, draught beer and bar fridge being restocked only every two days. No biggie for us but many people were upset. They should have informed people to keep their water bottles so they can be refilled. We have heard that they plan on putting washrooms down by the beach and this definitely needs to be done. I think we were just lazy and didn’t want to walk to the lobby washrooms – not too far actually. I sure hope they add a store also. Make sure you have everything you need since there is nowhere close by if you have forgotten something. Also note there is no money exchange at the desk. Best to exchange at the airport (departures) or in the city. There was little communication as to when to be in the lobby on the day we were leaving. Different people received different times and nobody was sure when to be there. The Nolitours rep was nowhere to be found until the bus arrived. No times posted at the desk which caused a lot of confusion. Luggage was loaded in a separate truck and when we arrived at the airport most waited on the sidewalk waiting for this truck. After quite awhile it was discovered that the luggage truck was parked across the road. Would have been nice for the Rep to inform us where it would be instead of waiting around. We would go back probably and definitely, if they put up more sun shades and find a solution to the towel/chair saving game. Loved the place even with the minor issues.
Pat & Diane, North Bay Ontario

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. Block 2 does have full sun all afternoon & extremely hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank selectivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Customer

First of all I appreciate the time that you spent letting us know in details your comments and suggestions about your last stay.
Is important for us that you know that there are 200 sun roofs in the beaches and 250 around the two pools of a 192 room’s hotel
Unfortunately is difficult to control that some unscrupulous customers take several of them simultaneously for different moment of the day. We have seen that some sun roofs have been taken and they remain empty most of the day. Our staff is not allowed to touch the belongings that stay in the chairs to avoid misunderstandings with other guest.
Additionally, I want to say that we have taken careful notes of what you mentioned, to improve every day, in our commitment to make your next visit completely satisfactory.
I hope you allow us to keep serving you, in this your home.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We travelled to this hotel Jan 23-30th, 2012 with Thomas Cook (Sunquest). We were apprehensive because of all the bad reviews and spent a lot of time on the Trip Advisor forum.
Here are the Positives:
-The hotel is small, modern, clean, and in a beautiful setting
-The weather was perfect, sunny and hot every day, breezy and comfortable every evening.
-The flight was relatively short and in the same time zone. We arrived on time for lunch and a full day at the beach/pool. Our room was ready after check-in.
-On the last day, we were able to get up at a reasonable hour and have a leisurely breakfast.
-There was adequate shade at the beach and pool and the beach was excellent for walking.
-The beds were very comfortable and there was no smell in our room.
-The house staff supplied us with lots of towels and water bottles in our room.
-There are plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables at the buffet and omelettes made to order every morning.
-The fresh salmon made on the grill at dinner melts in your mouth.
-The wait staff were polite and pleasant and eager to please.
-The little bars set up on the beach and at the quiet pool are very adequate.
-There is an excellent, very clean, air conditioned spa with 2 flat screen TV's to watch while working out and showers and toilet stalls.
-The evening entertainment was less than stellar but fine for our purposes. We find the shows at the huge all-inclusives very repetitive and boring. There was always music and a singer and dancing was encouraged.
-Because it is a small resort, it is easy to meet people and the other guests were for the most part very friendly.
-The Wi-Fi is everywhere and excellent.
-The tour of the Old City was wonderful. The Old City was like many of the picturesque towns in Europe. Magnificent.

Here are the Negatives:
-Some people go to all-inclusives to drink alcohol morning, noon and night. They are very rude and have no respect for the other guests or their belongings. We heard that 2 such guests were expelled from the hotel.
-The breakfast and lunch buffets were deluged with flies. They were all over everything and some guests said that they would not return due to this problem. There were no flies at the dinner buffet. I guess they were sleeping after so much activity.
-The swimming pools were over-filled.
-There were lots of stairs into the pools, but no railings to hold onto. The stairs are slippery and a hazard for this reason.
-There is no lobby-just a front desk with a few couches.
-Many people had stomach illnesses, including myself, which makes me a little wary of returning to this resort. I have no idea what caused it.
-Dirt came out of our bathroom vent whenever the fan was on. They should clean out all the vents.
-If you go out early in the morning you will be bitten by no-see-ums.

Here is a room tip.....we kept our bathroom fan going all night in order to block out the sounds from next door neighbours. As you know the walls are paper thin.

We arrived on Monday, and Thursday evening, on the way to dinner, I fell down the concrete stairs leading down to the buffet. I sustained multiple injuries and the staff brought me ice for my ankle, but it didn't help. The doctor was called and after he saw me (in the buffet area) they called an ambulance and I was taken to the Nuevo Bocagrande Hospital about 40 minutes away in Cartagena. Norberto, the Recreational Director came with in the ambulance and stayed with us as interpreter and he even called our insurance company for us. Two wonderful ladies, whom we had befriended at the hotel, followed us in a taxi which the hotel paid for and the hotel also paid for our taxi back to the hotel. The hotel supplied me with a wheelchair for the rest of our stay. The Sunquest Rep. took us to the airport when we were leaving in a special car and someone was waiting for us with a wheelchair when we arrived.
I can't say enough about the care and kindness the hotel provided after my accident. Norberto is wonderful and really looked after us as we were terribly upset.
One thing though, I thought the hotel manager, Maria, should have contacted me, but she never did.
My husband would like to stay at this hotel again and I initially said I would not because I am worried about the stomach illnesses, but, we had planned to go back to the exquisitely beautiful Old City of Cartagena, and never did......so I will return.

Room Tip: Upper floor. All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Giffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Good Afternoon Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give your feedback. Your comments are most important to us since they allow us to improve the services and products we offer. We have been very pleased to read that your expectations have been exceeded and we would like to thank you for the good ratings you gave us in the various categories. However I am sorry to read that service at the areas were not covered and I would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused. This point has been taken up in our team in order to avoid such a happening in the future.
Thank you again for your comments on this website. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to the Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo Hotel or to any of our properties.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This place does not deserve most of the poor feedback and I am glad that a lot more people are responding with good reviews. The only poor feedback that was valid is that the rooms do have a mold issue. We inspected out filter and called the front desk and within a couple hours the filter was changed. I am sure they will have to do some major work to get rid of the mold smell but we asked for our sheets to be changed and we aired it out a couple days and the musty smell was almost gone within a few days.

The food was great, and you had a lot of options. My favorite was the baby beef from the grill at dinner. The people walking around with the wine and water were constantly around so there was no issue there. You could ask them for anything and they would have no problem getting it for you. All you have to do is get their attention and ask. Some people think that by buying the plane ticket they get a free servant, those people were the ones complaining. The service at the bar can be slow but sit down and chit chat with some fellow Canadians (I would say 95% of the people there are Canadian). I think the longest I waited was about 5 minutes.

As for the beach, the sand is soft but it is a darker sand so no white beaches here. Near the water it could use some cleanup as there was debris but not enough to complain about. Having the water sport toys was great to have around to go play in the water with.

In the end was had no problem communication with the staff and it was fun to learn some Spanish along the way. The few requests we had were fulfilled in a timely manner. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Also if you plan on spending time in your room do the favour and upgrade to the suite, we didn't and regretted it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank klilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Good Afternoon Guest,

We appreciate your time in sharing your experience at the Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo. Your constructive feedback will help us to continually improve. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future once again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

January 30-February 13, 2012 with Thomas Cook. Our third winter vacation this season.

This hotel is ideal for those who want/need WIFI, access to a hotel computer, and Skype communications. All FREE. It would be less interesting for young people expecting a lot of “action”. The location is on a secluded beach with van service into Cartagena.

Close proximity to Cartagena airport is an advantage. The airport is under construction and improvements will happen, albeit slowly. Check-in process is manual and this too will change and move into the computer age in due course.

Weather sunny every day with gusty wind mid-day into evening. Breeze made it comfortable.

The hotel/staff were very accommodating. Most had only rudimentary English but were willing to try – unlike some Canadians with their Spanish.

Chaise lounges at Quiet Pool nearest hotel rooms were “reserved” by fellow Canadians from 06:00 whether they were using them or not. This caused some hostility. Plenty of lounges available at other pool area and on the beach. Some Canadian whiners populated the Quiet Pool.

Standard rooms have two queen beds. Some whiners expected king-bedded rooms, only available in upgraded suites. Mattress was surprisingly comfortable – I often get back aches in hotels but not here. We found the standard room to be perfectly adequate. We would not pay for an upgrade.

Shade vs. sun: Building #1 is shady all day. Building #2 is sunny all day. Building #3 is shady in morning and sunny in afternoon. Take your choice.

Food was good but quality somewhat variable. For example, beef dishes went from tough to excellent. Our evening meal was at the reservation (required) restaurant, where the (country) theme changed daily. Wine was from Argentina or Chile. Usually cabernet sauvignon and sauvignon blanc varietals.

Ongoing Issues:
(1) Doors to adjoining rooms can transmit noise room-to-room. Not a problem during our stay.
(2) The cooling system uses chilled water from a central source. When the room air conditioner calls for chilled water, it sounds much like you just heard a toilet flush. We got used to it.

The Future:
Management is developing plans for a beach bar with washrooms; a café near the lobby; another reservation restaurant.

The Bottom Line:
In comparing this venue with others, it has decided advantages with the free WIFI, computers, and the digital safe in each room. As well, proximity to the Equator means additional winter warmth.

Yes, we would go back if it continues to be priced competitively.

Room Tip: Shade vs. sun: Building #1 is shady all day. Building #2 is sunny all day. Building #3 is shady in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Estelar, E-Commerce at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Good Afternoon Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to make your next visit to Colombia the best stay with Hoteles Estelar. We want to invite you to use the services of another of our destinations. Please let us know about your experience in our Hotels it is very important to us in order to be better each day.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
9.3 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#22 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
10.1 mi away
Hotel Estelar Oceania
Hotel Estelar Oceania
#91 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cartagena

Property: Occidental Cartagena
Address: Anillo Vial Via Manzanillo del mar Km. 4 | No. 9-85, Cartagena 985, Colombia (Formerly Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#21 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Cartagena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Grand Cartagena Resort***** hotel's objective is to provide luxury, all-inclusive services on the seafront on the beautiful beaches of Manzanillo Bay. It is close to the cosmopolitan city of Cartagena de Indias. It has a contemporary design and a very calm ambience, and our guests' first impression is of an idyllic resort to relax and unwind in. Have a dip in the pool, stroll around the beautiful lush gardens or enjoy the 24-hour drink and snack service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cartagena Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing