We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MikeM Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

"Great property, great stay"

This property has the perfect blend of amenities and location. Check in was easy and our room was large, clean and modern. The view from our full wall window was outstanding and the beds were new and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is massive ( a bit expensive so try to get it in a room package ) with many choices. The access to the beach is through the pool area with towels and many beach chairs. We stayed for three nights and spent one day seeing the old city and the second day on the beach. Both days were superb and the hotel staff helped with information and arranged for transportation. The combo of service and price makes this an excellent choice when visiting Cartegena.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank mrmmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCartagena, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear mrmmccarthy,

Thanks for sharing your opinion about the hotel and our staff. We are constantly looking for excellence in the quality of our services trying to keep our customers always satisfied.

We were happy to have provided a special service for you, one again, we want to thank you for letting us know about your experience and for being part of our commitment, Create Great Hotels, Guests Love.

Do not hesitate in contact me if you need future requests or comments.

Many thanks,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 731 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

At first, i was a little bit not agree with the locations my friends decided to stay, since i thought it was to far away from downtown, but when i arrived, i started to love every single thing i made contact with.
The lobby is something lovely, as well as the people at the front desk, very friendly and nice.
The room we were staying at was with the Cienaga de la Virgen view, wich was just a lovely dream, waking up with the amazing sun that only this city could give you.
The buffe breakfast, was good as well, and every space at the hotel seemed to be new, so the entire building was just espectacular. Not a single complain about it, since people who work there seems to be really well trained in order to solve any problem the guest may have.
100% recommended!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Aquamarine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCartagena, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Aquamarine25,

Thank you so much for your comments, it was a pleasure for all the staff at the hotel to receive you and we are really glad you had an excellent stay.

We would love to invite you to stay with us again and also, we would like you to try the variety of desserts on our restaurant’s menu.

We hope that whenever you come to Cartagena again, you could stay with us so we could be there for you again.

Many thanks,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Bad experience.

Platinum status gets you a hassle here!

The property itself is very nice.

But I was the ONLY platinum staying in the whole hotel and it took me a half hour of haggling to get an upgrades room.

Then I was kicked out of the next day because it was "sold" and the put me back into a standard room!!... With no upgrade... No comp drink, no comp water bottle.... Literally nothing for being the ONLY platinum in the whole hotel.

In the two days here so far, I have spent at least an hour talking, explaining, complaining with the staff about it... And it just seems like when they don't know the answer to a question here... The answer is "no"... Because it easier for them.

Sooo.. I would suggest skipping the this hotel... They don't deserve loyal IHG members business!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Imaggiacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCartagena, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear. Mr. Maggiacomo,

Thank you for sharing your comments, they are very important and valuable for us.
we realy appreciate that you enjoyed the enviroment where we are located in.

We apologize for all the inconvenience experienced during your stay. The members of IHG Rewards Club are very important for us, and the Hotel is recognized by many members due to that. We are sincerely concerned when situations like these occur, and we would like to investigate further.

We have sent you a private message in order to obtain additional information about your stay,

Sinceraly,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised because this is the first hotel we found that actually has the American standards of a hotel. All other hotels we stayed at in Cartagena were like trash with cold water only, dirty sheets, bug infested, and non working air conditioners. This hotel has it all and at a nice location, just outside downtown Cartagena with just a 5 minute ride by taxi which cost only 6 dollars. The room was fabulous with a great view of the ocean and a huge king bed and very much up to American standards but is over priced because it is Colombia and not like Aruba. The beach was a lot cleaner than Cartagena's beaches which have trash and hecklers bothering you all day.

I have a few negatives to mention which are not big problems but lets start out with prices. 22 dollars for a breakfast buffet? 5 dollars for a liter of water? The prices are very high for everything and I have to strongly recommend to pick up those items at an excito or some other store. To combat those issues, we got our beers on the beach, went to breakfast in Cartagena at the old city which is very nice and did a little shopping before check in.

On check out, I do recommend you look over your bill for extras like donations and taxes because if you are a US citizen, they are not suppose to charge you taxes. We were roughly charged an additional 60 dollars which was brought down to 0 after discussing with the front desk. Honestly I don't think they were trying to rip us off and it was just an oversight.

All and all, this is probably the best hotel you will find in Cartagena. A little over priced but well worth it considering other hotels which are not even on par than say motel 6 or other cheap hotels in the US.

Room Tip: definitely get a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnCartagena, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Greg327,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us! It’s great to hear our staff made you feel welcomed during your stay. In such a recognized city with many travels daily, we do our best to ensure our guests are comfortable and attended to throughout their stay.

About the prices and taxes in the check out process, we have taken notes and we will share your recomendations with our team in order to improve each process

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a great stay at a new hotel. The pool was awesome. It is a bit away from the old town but peaceful and it was nice to get away. The restuarant was nice but pricey for CO standards. The beach...well in this area it's darker sands with dark waters. That is most of Cartagena due to the river that runs into the ocean, it makes for cloudy waters. You can travel 1 hour outside for clear waters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icufg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear icuf,

Receive warm greetings on behalf team Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Is a pleasure for us receiving the comments for our guest, We glad to know that you are completely satisfied with our service and Staff. We strive daily to provide the best every day and make you feel at home.

Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros is well-known for being a modern and fresh hotel, with a contrast that deck the new urban silhouette of Cartagena, just good for business as for vacations.

One again, we want to thank you for letting us know about your experience and for being part of our commitment, create great hotels, guests love, also can follow us on Facebook and Twitter: @HolidayInnCTG

Best Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Brand new hotel close enough to the old town. Right on the beach, nice pool area and bar. Big room facing the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast great and the dining at the hotel resturant. A few minutes from the airport. Very pleasant 9 nights stay.

Room Tip: High up facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haraldur58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Haraldur58

We are glad to know that you are completely satisfied with our services. It is our pleasure to receive the feedback from all of our clients that have stayed at a certain time at our hotel with the purpose to become a better team every day.

We are grateful for the given time to write your comments and opinions about it, and for us it will be a pleasure to count on your visit since our hotel is your own home, on the other hand to offer the quality service you deserve.

One again, we want to thank you for letting us know about your experience and for being part of our commitment, create great hotels, guests love, also can follow us on Facebook and Twitter: @HolidayInnCTG

Best Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently stayed in room 920, originally I was just using points and had planned to stay only for two nights. I didn't have enough points to stay four nights, so I was going to transfer to the Hampton Inn, to save a little money. Based on the excellent service we received in this hotel, I decided to cancel my other reservation and stay two more nights, even though it was more expensive.

First impressions are very important. When we arrived at the hotel, the guy who helped us with our bags, Jaider, was very friendly and helpful, he took our bags to our room, showed us how to use everything in the room and was genuinely friendly. We went to him several times during our stay for recommendations for restaurants, etc. The bartender at the pool, all the security guards, and the waitress at the restaurant were also very nice and made us feel special. A special thank you to Isabella at the front desk, we had lost our charger for our camera and she called the maintenence person who was able to charge it for us. At many hotels people don't take the time to give you that extra attention.

One of the evenings in the pool there was a employee soccer game on the beach near the pool, it was the maintanence people against the waiters, very entertaining.

I liked being a little away from the center of Cartagena because the beach is not that crowded. The hotel facilities were very nice, and everything is new. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffb92883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear jeffb92883,

Please, receive a warm greeting, we are very glad you shared your experience during your Stay at the hotel. It is very important to us, to know the comments and opinions of our guests so they can feel recognized and grand. Our staff works hard to offer an excellent service and professional quality. We will share your words with our work team.

We hope you could come again to this magnificent city Cartagena de Indias, so that we could stay with us again. We invite you as well you could try our variety of smoothies and cocktails at the swimming pool or at the beach.

We really appreciate you chose us.

Many Thanks.

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#38 of 158 in Cartagena
1,637 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#27 of 158 in Cartagena
2,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
#87 of 158 in Cartagena
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
5.5 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#24 of 158 in Cartagena
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Address: Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $87 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer you the most modern hotel for business and leisure, surrounded by a natural environment located in the north of the city at the exclusive area of Los Morros. It is a just few minutes from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport. We are specialists in providing security, quality, technology and excellent service.Just 5 minutes from the Rafael Nuñez Airport, with a spectacular view to the cienaga de la Virgen and direct access to the beach. You will enjoy our modern and comfortable rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, gym, parking, meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing