We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Depends on what on want” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Ranked #20 of 145 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Depends on what on want”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is really helpful. It's a little off to the touristic area but cabs aren't so expansive. Was fun to walk on the beach in the morning, go in the water and then head back to the hotel pool. For lunch we would take a cab to downtown and spend the afternoon visiting the sights around there. We had dinner before going back to the hotel. I guess it's good to know that this is a great hotel for families, so... Too many kids around there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Lilacrp,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments about our Hotel. Really on that season the Hotel was chose by a lot of families, many people enjoying the beach in this area. On behalf of our team thanks

Please call us if need something for your return to Cartagena, we hope to be your host again

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    223
    51
    12
    13
See reviews for
163
194
20
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a poor hotel, service is non existent, no one speaks English, the tub wouldn't work, shower was poor and today there was a baby cockroach in my cereal at the breakfast buffet! Definitely not a place for foreign tourists, stay away from this place, thank god I am leaving here tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Shoeby1,

We are completelly surprised and worried by the experience you had during your stay. Holiday Inn Cartagena is a full service Hotel with high service standards. We are checking carefully each points that you mentioned, since this is considered as a very important piece of information, and we are working everyday to improve our procedures and customer service. Please accept our excuses and commitments that to those embarrassing situations will not happen again.

Respectfully yours,

John Mario Villarraga.
Revenue Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 6 days 5 nights last august at this hotel. I choose it because I wanted a private time not caring about the noisy vendors around, thinking since it is away from the historical places I could find that peace. Well, Surprisingly this is a nice expensive hotel with a common public beach in front, full of noisy guys selling you stuff all the time.
I mean good facilities but if it is just to be inside a hotel I’d prefer to be in a cheaper place.
PS- holiday inn is one of the few places that charge for Seguro hotelero? Hotel insurance, and no clue what for. I have stayed at other places in Colombia and IVA was enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javicoev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Javicoev,

We appreciate a lot your comments, thank you for this oportunity to know your experience.

The Hotel is located on beach front, unfortunately the local trade affect the tourism in all beaches in Cartagena, we are working for developing strategies and improve this type of situations. In Addition the Hotel has organized an special area in the garden, near beach like solarium, away to the commercial activities,

Please accept our apologize for this inconvenients, contact us to reservations.ctghi@ihg.com. we like to know more details about your stay.

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have just spent ten wonderful nights at this great hotel. I had reviewed all the reviews on this site and was a little worried by some mixed ones. But I am glad to say that the hotel was much better than I had expected. It is very modern and clean. The air conditioning in the rooms was great, allowing us to adjust it easily and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I really did not feel this was a Holiday Inn, and really thought I could be at an Intercontinental. Breakfast was great, and the pool was wonderful. It was never too crowded, despite us being there at a busy time. The staff went out of our way to make us feel at home. The beach was not the best I have ever been on, but I did not see any great beaches close to Cartagena. I enjoyed the hawkers on the beach, as it allowed us to buy cheap drinks and food.

Room Tip: Inter-connecting rooms were great and gave us a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear akf100,

I appreciate your kindness to have made these comments in which you highlight the service obtained.

It gives us a major factor in our quality of service managers, knowing such comments, in order to make the necessary corrections and maintain high standards of quality that characterizes us.

We hope to have him back soon!!!

Best regards

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a pretty good beach hotel in Cartagena. The beach itself isn't particularly crowded, though it's not a particularly gorgeous beach. The water was warm though, even if not a clear blue, and the sand soft enough.

As for the hotel, it's very modern and bright, with friendly and helpful staff. The room service menu is uninspiring, even if there are a decent number of options.

The biggest downside is the pool. It's tiny, and quickly overrun with small children if there are some families around. It's really a tease, as the L-shaped hotel wraps around another property that overlooks a couple of enormous, beautiful pools, so it's odd that so many of the rooms have views of pools that the guests don't have access to.

Also expect to bargain on the beach for everything. The good news is that there are people who will sell you anything you could possibly think of. Always ask first how much everything is, from beach chairs to food and drinks, and if it's more than a few thousand pesos (a couple bucks), get the price down to what feels fair.

Lastly, think hard about the location. This area isn't walking distance to much of anything, though there are a couple fun-looking local restaurants not far away. Most of the city's charm, great streets, and best restaurants are either in the walled city or adjacent neighborhoods like Getsemani, and the nicest beaches are generally a couple hours away via bus and ferry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest we appreciate your comments regarding to your last stay in our hotel.
We want to thank for your comments because all experiences of our guests are very important and help us to make the corrections in order to guarantee our hospitality promise.

Do not hesitate in contact us if you had another comment or suggestion.

Thank you in advance!!!

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

New, modern hotel right on the beach, 15 minutes by taxi (12.000 pesos - $7) from the old city of Cartagena.
Very tastefully decorated, great eye for detail; professional service throughout; excellent restaurant.
As of the time of this writing (December 2012), the beach is clean for at least a mile in either direction from the hotel. the sand itsnt white but kind of grey. The sunsets are just as nice though. There are some vendors on the beach, but vendors are a fact of life in Colombia, not just on the beach.
Btw, there is no beach near the old center...
An unexpected plus is the view from the rooms on the higher floors that don't face the ocean; they look out over an expansive swamp area with trees and mountains in the distance. Very pretty!
The only minor drawback: the hotel has no bar, except for the pool bar, which closes at sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Brulsvend,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our new Hotel in Cartagena. The privilege location between Cienaga de la Virgen and the beach give us an special enviroment for relax in this Magical City, we are really happy you enjoyed it.

We hope you return soon, and let us the opportunity to be your host again

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just stayed at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros with 2 friends for 4 nights. We loved it. The hotel is absolutely stunning. The service is friendly and we had no problems. The pool was wonderful, very relaxing (the pool doesn't get deeper then around 4 feet so you can swim or wade). The gym was pretty good. The hotel is right on the beach and the beach is a lot less busy then Bocagrande. There isn't really anything around there except a restaurant a few doors away. It cost us 12,000 pesos to get to the airport and 12,000 to get to the old city. So even though it isn't close to anything it isn't far either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear WuSister,

Thank you very much for your reviews, we glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We are preparing new activities for close this year and summer season, we hope you come back soon


Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#28 of 145 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#15 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#25 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
0.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Property: Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Address: Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 145 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer you the most modern hotel for business and leisure, surrounded by a natural environment located in the north of the city at the exclusive area of Los Morros. It is a just few minutes from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport. We are specialists in providing security, quality, technology and excellent service.Just 5 minutes from the Rafael Nuñez Airport, with a spectacular view to the cienaga de la Virgen and direct access to the beach. You will enjoy our modern and comfortable rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, gym, parking, meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing