We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“STAY AWAY THIS PLACE SUCKS!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Ranked #24 of 145 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY THIS PLACE SUCKS!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a poor hotel, service is non existent, no one speaks English, the tub wouldn't work, shower was poor and today there was a baby cockroach in my cereal at the breakfast buffet! Definitely not a place for foreign tourists, stay away from this place, thank god I am leaving here tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Shoeby1,

We are completelly surprised and worried by the experience you had during your stay. Holiday Inn Cartagena is a full service Hotel with high service standards. We are checking carefully each points that you mentioned, since this is considered as a very important piece of information, and we are working everyday to improve our procedures and customer service. Please accept our excuses and commitments that to those embarrassing situations will not happen again.

Respectfully yours,

John Mario Villarraga.
Revenue Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    207
    46
    11
    13
See reviews for
156
179
17
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 6 days 5 nights last august at this hotel. I choose it because I wanted a private time not caring about the noisy vendors around, thinking since it is away from the historical places I could find that peace. Well, Surprisingly this is a nice expensive hotel with a common public beach in front, full of noisy guys selling you stuff all the time.
I mean good facilities but if it is just to be inside a hotel I’d prefer to be in a cheaper place.
PS- holiday inn is one of the few places that charge for Seguro hotelero? Hotel insurance, and no clue what for. I have stayed at other places in Colombia and IVA was enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javicoev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Javicoev,

We appreciate a lot your comments, thank you for this oportunity to know your experience.

The Hotel is located on beach front, unfortunately the local trade affect the tourism in all beaches in Cartagena, we are working for developing strategies and improve this type of situations. In Addition the Hotel has organized an special area in the garden, near beach like solarium, away to the commercial activities,

Please accept our apologize for this inconvenients, contact us to reservations.ctghi@ihg.com. we like to know more details about your stay.

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have just spent ten wonderful nights at this great hotel. I had reviewed all the reviews on this site and was a little worried by some mixed ones. But I am glad to say that the hotel was much better than I had expected. It is very modern and clean. The air conditioning in the rooms was great, allowing us to adjust it easily and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I really did not feel this was a Holiday Inn, and really thought I could be at an Intercontinental. Breakfast was great, and the pool was wonderful. It was never too crowded, despite us being there at a busy time. The staff went out of our way to make us feel at home. The beach was not the best I have ever been on, but I did not see any great beaches close to Cartagena. I enjoyed the hawkers on the beach, as it allowed us to buy cheap drinks and food.

Room Tip: Inter-connecting rooms were great and gave us a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear akf100,

I appreciate your kindness to have made these comments in which you highlight the service obtained.

It gives us a major factor in our quality of service managers, knowing such comments, in order to make the necessary corrections and maintain high standards of quality that characterizes us.

We hope to have him back soon!!!

Best regards

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a pretty good beach hotel in Cartagena. The beach itself isn't particularly crowded, though it's not a particularly gorgeous beach. The water was warm though, even if not a clear blue, and the sand soft enough.

As for the hotel, it's very modern and bright, with friendly and helpful staff. The room service menu is uninspiring, even if there are a decent number of options.

The biggest downside is the pool. It's tiny, and quickly overrun with small children if there are some families around. It's really a tease, as the L-shaped hotel wraps around another property that overlooks a couple of enormous, beautiful pools, so it's odd that so many of the rooms have views of pools that the guests don't have access to.

Also expect to bargain on the beach for everything. The good news is that there are people who will sell you anything you could possibly think of. Always ask first how much everything is, from beach chairs to food and drinks, and if it's more than a few thousand pesos (a couple bucks), get the price down to what feels fair.

Lastly, think hard about the location. This area isn't walking distance to much of anything, though there are a couple fun-looking local restaurants not far away. Most of the city's charm, great streets, and best restaurants are either in the walled city or adjacent neighborhoods like Getsemani, and the nicest beaches are generally a couple hours away via bus and ferry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCTG, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest we appreciate your comments regarding to your last stay in our hotel.
We want to thank for your comments because all experiences of our guests are very important and help us to make the corrections in order to guarantee our hospitality promise.

Do not hesitate in contact us if you had another comment or suggestion.

Thank you in advance!!!

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

New, modern hotel right on the beach, 15 minutes by taxi (12.000 pesos - $7) from the old city of Cartagena.
Very tastefully decorated, great eye for detail; professional service throughout; excellent restaurant.
As of the time of this writing (December 2012), the beach is clean for at least a mile in either direction from the hotel. the sand itsnt white but kind of grey. The sunsets are just as nice though. There are some vendors on the beach, but vendors are a fact of life in Colombia, not just on the beach.
Btw, there is no beach near the old center...
An unexpected plus is the view from the rooms on the higher floors that don't face the ocean; they look out over an expansive swamp area with trees and mountains in the distance. Very pretty!
The only minor drawback: the hotel has no bar, except for the pool bar, which closes at sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Brulsvend,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our new Hotel in Cartagena. The privilege location between Cienaga de la Virgen and the beach give us an special enviroment for relax in this Magical City, we are really happy you enjoyed it.

We hope you return soon, and let us the opportunity to be your host again

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just stayed at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros with 2 friends for 4 nights. We loved it. The hotel is absolutely stunning. The service is friendly and we had no problems. The pool was wonderful, very relaxing (the pool doesn't get deeper then around 4 feet so you can swim or wade). The gym was pretty good. The hotel is right on the beach and the beach is a lot less busy then Bocagrande. There isn't really anything around there except a restaurant a few doors away. It cost us 12,000 pesos to get to the airport and 12,000 to get to the old city. So even though it isn't close to anything it isn't far either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear WuSister,

Thank you very much for your reviews, we glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We are preparing new activities for close this year and summer season, we hope you come back soon


Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 with my wife and our 2 small kids, 2 1/2 yrs and 5 months. It's a very nice, modern, stylish new hotel. I was a little surprised that it's a Holiday Inn. I associate the look and amenities of this hotel with brands of a higher caliber. The hotel is built into a condo complex that appears to have been erected within the last few years. Morros is an area filled with "luxury" high rise buildings on the beach. Some are condos/rentals and a few are hotels. Good location if you want to be away from some of the more densely populated areas and what comes along with that. It's easy to get a taxi and the ride to the walled city is brief, maybe about 10 minutes maximum if you don't hit any traffic. The hotel also has it's own private car drivers waiting for passengers in the entrance way. I believe you can hire them directly, too. It's less than 5 minutes from the airport. We had a room with two full size beds. Everything is modern and relatively new. There was a very large shower with a glass door and shower but the bathroom area is a open floorplan design, meaning, you don't have a door to close while you are taking a shower. Not an issue if you are with your spouse and kids but perhaps that could be an issue for some if you're sharing a room with a friend and you're conservative. The toilet is in in it's own little room about the size of a closet like you would find in many Northern European establishments. Great wifi in the room that was made available to use for free. Small refrigerator so we could buy some milk and other groceries at a supermarket for the week to cut down on expenses. The floors are tile which makes for easier cleaning. I appreciate this but some travelers from the US are accustomed to carpet in their hotel rooms. I believe we could have gotten a crib for the baby for free if we asked but we had brought our travel crib with us. The only downside to the location is that there really isn't anything around to walk to. It's an almost exclusively residential area with few commercial businesses if any. Our kids loved the pool. We happened to be there during a festival so there were lots of Colombians with kids on vacation there for our older one to play with. The pool is nice. Perhaps it could have more space for more lounge chairs but it was never an issue during our stay. There's a bar right by the pool. Towels are provided for free. There also showers outdoor you can use after coming in from the beach. The hotel has access to the beach. it's not private. There are sun tents with lounge chairs for rent on the beach. As with all of Cartagena, the quality of the beach water isn't the best. It's a little murky and in spots it has fishy smell, more so than you find in most Caribbean areas. The restaurant is very nice but perhaps a bit expensive for some people. The daily breakfast is nice, nothing very fancy, but a wide variety of both local and American style offerings. You won't have a problem finding something to eat that you'll enjoy. While it is buffet style the service from the staff in the restaurant is still quite attentive. While we were there people were standing by to meet our every needs. They refilled the coffee cups and even carried our plates over to the table from the buffet for us. They offered us a deal for the breakfast and knocked down the price in half to $10 per day per adult. They didn't charge us for the kids even though our 2 1/2 yr old at a regular breakfast. Overall the staff was polite, professional and attentive. I would say, though, that if there is anything at all you might be interested in you should ask about it at the front desk. Perhaps it was because of the language barrier but no one told us even in Spanish that on this particular weekend they had set up a kids activity room in one of the conference rooms where you could drop off your children for a few hours. They had set up games/toys for kids to play with and they were showing cartoon movies, too. We most certainly would have taken advantage of this had we known because we could have used a break. We later found out that this information appeared on a television screen next to the elevators. But in a full service hotel like this with high standards we felt that the front desk should have told us about this the moment they saw we had children when we checked in. A sign in the bathroom said that the hotel's water is drinkable. I presume that means they have a built in purification system. I drank the water in the lobby every day and had no resulting issues. Obviously, if you're not from Colombia, bottled water is the way to go anywhere else in the city. On the week we were there I was able to get a very good deal online. the price was significantly lower because I paid in advance but it was non-refundable. Our room faced the lagoon. It was kind of nice in that flocks of big birds gathered their in the morning to feed. It was fun to wake up and see that. When we took taxis the door man/security took note of the taxi number and our room number for security purposes. That was nice.
One note for travelers from the US - If you're not accustomed to traveling in this part of the world you should know that you can't flush toilet paper down the toilet because sewage systems aren't built to handle it. This hotel is no exception to that generality. In the bathroom there was a little garbage can lined with a bag that you put toilet paper in. The cleaning folks empty that every day. Just wanted to give folks a heads up if this is something they have never experienced before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooklynite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCtg, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Brooklynite1,

On behalf of our team thank you so much for the positive comments about our Hotel. Is very important and motivational when our guest has found the rest and enjoyed the stay.

We hope to be your host when you and your family come back to Cartagena, it will be a pleasure assist you in anything you need.

Regards,

John Mario Villarraga
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#30 of 145 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
6.4 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#25 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cartagena Bocagrande
5.7 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#15 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros

Property: Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Address: Anillo Vial Cra. 9 no. 34-166 La Boquilla, Cartagena 130002, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 145 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our new Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros Hotel. It is our pleasure to offer you the most modern hotel for business and leisure, surrounded by a natural environment located in the north of the city at the exclusive area of Los Morros. It is a just few minutes from the Rafael Nuñez International Airport. We are specialists in providing security, quality, technology and excellent service.Just 5 minutes from the Rafael Nuñez Airport, with a spectacular view to the cienaga de la Virgen and direct access to the beach. You will enjoy our modern and comfortable rooms, restaurant, bar, pool, gym, parking, meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing