We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Isla del Encanto
Ranked #6 of 171 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I’m from The Texas Coast but live in Cartagena for my job. We took a day trip to Isla Del Encanto and it was for the most part nice. If you’re looking for something like we have in the USA you’re not going to find it. It is a little less elegant and fancy here but still nice. The service on the Island was good; they were helpful and friendly for the most part. The food was good. Even though we had to wait in line, and it was quite cold before we could reach it and also they ran short of the favorite food and had to substitute less appealing food. Also the seating in the dining area was over full so we had to carry our plates all the way back to our little beach chairs and eat balancing our two plates on the very small beach table between us. And with that, combat sand getting into our food and drinks. I would say my favorite part of the day was the message, those ladies had hands of gold, it was very relaxing, and also we rented a jet ski for an hour, and the Gringo Tax was not all that much higher. ( Gringo TAX? this is the higher price due to the fact you are from the USA, it is just another word for extortion, it’s very common in Latin America)
As we were moving toward the dock for departure, we decided to stop and buy two sodas for the boat ride back. The man behind the counter had a terrible attitude and he had two different types of bottles. The old style you have to remove with an opener, and the newer style you can open and close as it has a screw on cap. He was trying to make us take the old style and was very angry when I insisted he sell us the other. It almost seemed like he was trying to make things hard on us as the boat ride back is very rough at times and that style of container would be terrible, as it would go all over. You will run into stubborn people that get ideas in their head and will not let it go and if you go against them they get angry. It’s just the culture here, but regardless in this setting that behavior was unacceptable. That would be the largest reason for the less than perfect score. Also on the trip back the men on the boat had changed as well on the way down all smiles and quite candid, but the trip homer it was a very controlled almost militant order of loading and unloading, like them being in control of all thing was their biggest concern.. Just another Colombian trait. I’ve been here for two years and have gotten used to the differences, and I love it here, so don’t let my honest review scare you away from exploring Colombia, as it is a beautiful place with lots to see and do. 

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia Z, Director Comercial at Hotel Isla del Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014
Google Translation

De antemano agradecemos habernos escogido para su estadía y descanso.
Así como recibimos la mayoría de nuestras criticas calificadas como Excelentes, de la misma forma acogemos para el mejoramiento diario y continuo de los servicios que se ofrecen en el Hotel Isla del Encanto todas las sugerencias. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent two days and one night at Isla del Encanto on 13-14 April 2013. We live and work in Barranquilla, Colombia. We were collected in comfortable speed boats in Cartagena, and delivered to the island one hour later. The pilot of the boat was excellent, and the raw power of the boat motors really makes the boat fly over the water....smooth ride...safely!

Upon arrival at the island we were briefed on all the activities, the when, where, what of meals, etc. There was plenty of shade available, the ocean was a brillinat turquoise colour and nice and warm (one could spend the whole day in the water and not get cold), everything was perfect. There were jet-ski's, water skiing, water tubes, power boats. Waiters on the beach kept the cold beers and cocktails flowing and typical Latin American music kept us entertained.

The rooms were clean, comfortable with a mini bar and fridge. Only cold water in the shower, but one really don't need hot water. I saw only 5 rooms, but there may be more. The standard buffet lunch was delicious, with variety of dishes, really tasty and well prepared. Dinner and breakfast for overnighters was delicious and one has a few choices.

There are external excursions available to go snorkeling, scuba diving are a trip to the aquarium. The trip back to Cartagena was again one hour and done in a safe manner.

It is a laid-back, relaxed atmosphere, so come dressed VERY casual. All you need is your bathing costume, sun screen and not much else. Lots of day visitors make for interesting viewing during the day. Very quiet and relaxing from around 3pm until about 10am the next morning when the day-visitors are gone.

Isla del Encanto will see a lot more of us and our friends!!!

Room Tip: This is not a 5 start resort, so if this is your expectration, you need to go elsewhere. However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia Z, Director Comercial at Hotel Isla del Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014
Google Translation

Es para nosotros maravilloso saber que hicimos parte de tan excelente paseo a la ciudad de Cartagena dándonos la oportunidad de atenderlos y brindarles la relajación y descanso que buscaban, en el Hotel Isla del Encanto. Los esperamos nuevamente cuando decidan volver a la ciudad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We took a day trip to the island resort from Cartagena and the beach is rather dirty, as is the water. We got sick from the food they served. We also paid about $35 for a video of the trip and the video was blank (they scammed us). All of the phone numbers on the business card of the videographer are non-functional. The only bright point was a tour of the aquarium, where they had some really cool aquatic shows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela P, Director Comercial at Hotel Isla del Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014
Google Translation

Así como recibimos la mayoría de nuestras criticas calificadas como Excelentes, de la misma forma acogemos para el mejoramiento diario y continuo de los servicios que se ofrecen en el Hotel todas las sugerencias. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We took a day trip to isla del encanto, it is about an hour trip. The island is small, no town, just a beach. The hotel provided chairs ( no towels), lunch and a pay-bar. The beach is not deep blue but kind of murky with coral, but I think all the beaches near here are like that. The snorkeling is about 18 dollars and a 15 minute boat ride away. Overall it was a good day trip but the place is definitely a bit rustic

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alc4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela P, Director Comercial at Hotel Isla del Encanto, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014
Google Translation

Así como recibimos la mayoría de nuestras criticas calificadas como Excelentes, de la misma forma acogemos para el mejoramiento diario y continuo de los servicios que se ofrecen en el Hotel todas las sugerencias. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonio865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartagena
20.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#27 of 158 in Cartagena
2,346 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
1,117 reviews
26.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 158 in Cartagena
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
358 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Caribe
Hotel Caribe
#36 of 158 in Cartagena
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isla del Encanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isla del Encanto

Address: Islas del Rosario | Bocagrande Av. San Martin #5-94, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $266 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isla del Encanto 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 minutes by boat from Cartagena(in Islas del Rosario), is this magical hotel where intensely enjoy the holidays, whether by day tour or for the night. Isla del Encanto Hotel, with 300 mts. of private beach, is listed as the most important hotels in this area. Each year hundreds of tourists are left captivated by its exclusivity and service. Hotel, camping, ecotourism, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, playground, sports and hammocks are some of the advantages of this heavenly place, which also features spa area, snorkeling, kayaks, bicycles, marine and exquisite cuisine infused sea.Our Hotel rates include:- Transfer Hotel in Cartagena - Muelle La Bodeguita. (The return is not included.) - Maritime transport in fast boats with a capacity of 50 people. - Bilingual tour guide. - Panoramic tour by the National Natural Park Corales del Rosario. - Accommodation - 2 Lunch: buffet per person for one night stay. (One each day) - 1 dinner: daily menu as presented by staff. - 1 Continental breakfast. - 300 meters of beach - Hammocks - Swimming pool. - Playground. - Water sports: Kayak, Bicycle water. - Beach beds. Sun lounge - Volleyball , microfútbol, ping-pong. NOT INCLUDED - Tax per person at El muelle la Bodeguita - Bar or Restaurant service. - Expenses or unspecified activities. OPTIONAL ACTIVITIES NOT INCLUDED. - Entrance to the Oceanarium - Snorkeling - Diving with tank - Consumption Restaurant. - Consumption Bar Under the Charter. - Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isla del Encanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing