We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK, could be better”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I went for a long weekend. It is the first time I stayed at a hotel where breakfast is not included with the standard night...
The hotel has a great beach and nice pools. The vendors at the beach, that can be a hassle at other beaches in Cartagena, are nice here and also fewer. Sea food is delicious at the restaurants and cocktails at the beach are great.
The room was ok with a great balcony, but with the smell of humidity. It lacks a layer of paint and the curtains were very dirty.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to the pool were the activities with loud music take place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    477
    189
    65
    39
See reviews for
705
285
26
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

One of the better hotels I stayed in to date. Staff are very forthcoming and extremely polite. The only slight downside is the beach where the sand just looks dirty - although it's not. Breakfast is extensive and accounts for just about every taste. They even have lactose free milk, which was a little unexpected to say the least.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank elingles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a hotel with a wonderful location, well appointed rooms in the new wing (where I stayed - and looked at the older wing as well, I am sure my ratings would drop even more), spectacular pool, nice beach and even an excellent restaurant. BUT, a few things keeps me from giving this hotel any more stars. Most people do not speak English and that included "Operator". She could not help locate a colleague, respond to my request for a wake-up call. There was not much better response at the front desk either (finally a better English speaking bell-person provided the help). They even had to know that I was English speaking (with my US passport), yet no effort was made to communicate in English. There were "information" flyers slid under the door, all in Spanish. I am glad that there were no "emergencies" or else I don't know what could have happened. Most of the staff (except in restaurants) was too "busy" to help when asking for dinner and travel questions.

If you are attending an event at their convention center, it is a small distance away and walkway is open to elements (rain!).

Room Tip: Of course, stay in the "new" wing and ask for Ocean view. It is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDinAvonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

i have written multiple reviews of this place and yet they never seem to appear. Never mind let's try it again. I stayed here for years, the first time about twelve years ago. My most recent trips were December 2011 Feb 2012 December 2012 and Feb 2013. By the way, while I only stayed for two weeks at Christmas both years in February i stayed at for a month. I came from Toronto with Nolitours. I liked being away from the busy and dirty beach in the Boca Grande. The hotel is short ride to the old city and there are lots of buses which run in front and are very safe and clean. The beach is brown sand due to silt coming down from the rivers and the ocean is a bit brown but it clean and I swam in it every day and it is so warm. There are so many amazing people at the hotel but my favorite is Sergio the Concierge. The food is good and the drinks are good, there are lots of loungers.

Room Tip: I paid extra to get a suite. I prefer the old section to the new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Too big, too far, too impersonal, too busy, too occupied people to attend customers.
From the beginning things didn't start well, room not ready, "sorry sir you have to wait at least 1 hour. I have to say, Cartagena has a lot of option to stay in this regular, and expensive one. Look for more and choose better than I did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiasgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Torre del Mar for your lodging accommodations while in Cartagena de Indias. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

We regret that our service did not exceed your expectations and hope you return soon to allow us the opportunity to correct the issues you mentioned. We would like to make your future stay a pleasant experience that will make up for the past one. We are implementing a strategy for improvements in our front desk service and hope you notice these changes during your next visit.

Once more, we extend our sincere apologies and remain at your service as your home in Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, if the standard room price were around US $150 per night (and not US $290/night), maybe, just maybe, it would be worth the price to stay at this hotel. This hotel charges luxury prices but offers very poor accommodations. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, I have included some pictures of my room. I tried speaking with the manager on duty, but she was not available. She did call my cell about 3 days after I had checked out of the hotel and all she wanted was my e-mail address. Shortly after that I received via e-mail a standard letter of apology. On the bright side, breakfast was delicious.
Quick Notes:
- The safe was broken
- The phone in the room did not ring
- The water valve in the shower was broken
- No Managers available to talk too
- Calling for service/repair made no difference. No one came anyway…just like the Manager.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel...maybe the new tower next door. It is more expensive though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundas
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

stayed here the week of feb. 15th-22nd. we arrived late in the evening so once at the resort check in was fast and straight to the buffet before it closed. the room is dated but very clean and everything worked fine. the food is great here plenty of it. the staff are really great although not all can speak english. the beach is great but you do have vendors trying to sell things to you. the entertainment is not all that great. the booze is good as well but the bar in the lobby closes at 11pm so no more action after that. the weather was great not a drop of rain. went to the walled city the new and old city on our own and felt very safe. nice hotel overall. would go back sometime in the future like to travel to different places. hope this review will help you make your choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.4 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#22 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa

Property: Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Address: Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Americas Casa de Playa hotel is a tropical resort located on the Caribbean Sea in the northern of Cartagena de Indias. It offers 2 swimming pools, 2 bars: La Isla and El Chicho; mini golf course, tennis court and the kids club "Star Captain". There are boutiques, jewelry store and free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa feature private balconies with hammocks, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, free WiFi and satellite flat-screen TV. The Hotel has the Meson de Don Cristobal restaurant where guests can enjoy a variety of traditional and international dishes and between the resorts garden has the Fogon del Navegante restaurant, where succulent steaks and grilled seafood are offered, accompanied by fresh salads . Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa is 5 minutes drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the walled city of Cartagena. It has reception service 24 hours and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing