We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The contact of a big hotel, with out the pros”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Ranked #25 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The contact of a big hotel, with out the pros”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Too big, too far, too impersonal, too busy, too occupied people to attend customers.
From the beginning things didn't start well, room not ready, "sorry sir you have to wait at least 1 hour. I have to say, Cartagena has a lot of option to stay in this regular, and expensive one. Look for more and choose better than I did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiasgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Torre del Mar for your lodging accommodations while in Cartagena de Indias. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

We regret that our service did not exceed your expectations and hope you return soon to allow us the opportunity to correct the issues you mentioned. We would like to make your future stay a pleasant experience that will make up for the past one. We are implementing a strategy for improvements in our front desk service and hope you notice these changes during your next visit.

Once more, we extend our sincere apologies and remain at your service as your home in Cartagena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    464
    186
    64
    39
See reviews for
692
277
23
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, if the standard room price were around US $150 per night (and not US $290/night), maybe, just maybe, it would be worth the price to stay at this hotel. This hotel charges luxury prices but offers very poor accommodations. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, I have included some pictures of my room. I tried speaking with the manager on duty, but she was not available. She did call my cell about 3 days after I had checked out of the hotel and all she wanted was my e-mail address. Shortly after that I received via e-mail a standard letter of apology. On the bright side, breakfast was delicious.
Quick Notes:
- The safe was broken
- The phone in the room did not ring
- The water valve in the shower was broken
- No Managers available to talk too
- Calling for service/repair made no difference. No one came anyway…just like the Manager.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel...maybe the new tower next door. It is more expensive though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

stayed here the week of feb. 15th-22nd. we arrived late in the evening so once at the resort check in was fast and straight to the buffet before it closed. the room is dated but very clean and everything worked fine. the food is great here plenty of it. the staff are really great although not all can speak english. the beach is great but you do have vendors trying to sell things to you. the entertainment is not all that great. the booze is good as well but the bar in the lobby closes at 11pm so no more action after that. the weather was great not a drop of rain. went to the walled city the new and old city on our own and felt very safe. nice hotel overall. would go back sometime in the future like to travel to different places. hope this review will help you make your choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I reserved a junior suite. Traveled from Barranquilla by car. So before leaving I called the hotel to inquire about check in time because we were traveling with a 6 month old and a 3 year old. We were told that check in was at 3 pm.
We arrived at 2 pm. The line for the check in was absurd. Just 3 hotel staff for about 10 families trying to check in and they take about 15 minutes per check in. Which is absurd in this day and age.
The room was not ready. We were expecting that. Remember our call. We went to have lunch and returned at 3:45 pm for our room key. The room was NOT ready even though the hotel policy stipulates that check in is at 3 pm. Which is actually a contract so they were breaching it. The manager never showed his face even though he was called repeatedly by the front desk staff. Finally at about 415 we were given our junior suite. The service at the front desk was one of the worst I have ever experienced in my life. I used to visit this hotel about 3 times a year from 1996 to 2009 and never experienced anything similar. For 3 years i didn't visit the hotel, The front desk staff was clueless about what to do, and I actually felt that they thought they were doing us a favor by giving us the room we had reserved. Absurd, distasteful and not something you expect from this type of hotel.

The room was very nice, spacious and clean. 2 32" tvs, but no way to see your bill on the tv, no way to check out without fiscally going to the front desk (it's 2013 but in this hotel it's still the 80s in that regard) normal tv channels for Colombia but no pay per view movies which is kind of standard now days at the hilton, Radisson and others in bogota.

The hotel is not prepared for the amount of guests they can have now that they built the Torre del mar complex. For breakfast we had to wait 45 minutes for eggs made to order. And everyone was complaining about that.

At the kiosk Cielo mar they took 45 minutes to replenish the salad bar and only after a lot of guests including me complained repeatedly. (Monday feb 11, 2013 230 pm more or less). Some friends in the same restaurant never got what they ordered (only 2 dishes arrived and they had ordered 4), they were just not able to cater the restaurant properly.

Room service worked great and the food we ordered was very good.

Parking was available even though the hotel was full. They offered valet parking which is something I would never do in Colombia, but I was able to park the car myself. Valet parking was not mandatory.

The bell boys service was amazing. They went out of their way to try to right the wrong that we were experiencing at the front desk. They should be the ones managing the hotel, after all, remember that the manager NEVER showed up. I waited during my whole stay for a call, a note, something from someone apologizing for the check in fiasco. It never happened. (I check out tomorrow so there is still a chance. I will update review if they do)

The room was clean and the cleaning service was good every day. No complaints there.

Service at the beach was also good, more than enough places to stay even though the hotel was full.

A staff member told me why he/she thought were the reasons for the poor service at the hotel. The new Torre del mar has only air conditioned restaurants. When you are at the beach with kids, all wet and sand everywhere, or at the pool, you want open air dining. So all the guests at Casa de playa and Torre del mar end up using the infrastructure that is only supposed to handle half the hotel. At least this is true for lunch and dinner. I think if you stay at the Torre de mar your included breakfast is only at there. But I could be wrong.

The wireless network simply disappeared on our second day. Never appeared again. Go figure.

Room Tip: Junior suites in the Casa de playa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Julio,

We thank you for choosing Las Américas Casa de Playa as your vacation destination. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

First of all, we appreciate the suggestions we received after your conversation with our Guest Coordinator and General Manager. We are grateful that you accepted our apologies and once more placed your trust in Las Américas Resort. Please know that you have been a special guest of ours for a long time and nothing pleases us more than having you as our guest at Casa de Playa. On the other hand, we wished to share with you that we are implementing a strategy for improvements in front desk service during times of high occupancy. We hope you notice these changes during your next visit.

Once more, please accept our sincere gratitude. We hope to see you again to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I really loved this trip.The food was amazing,the beach was great and it was close to everything.
Take the party bus tour for some good fun,and visit the Rosaria Islands for a day trip.

More of a family place or for some good R&R,not really a party place,but go to the old city and the party never stops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaLasAmericas, Community Manager at Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We thank you for choosing Las Américas Casa de Playa as your vacation destination. Your comments regarding your stay contribute to our continuous improvement.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed an unforgettable experience at the resort and the magical city of Cartagena. As you mentioned, everything is near the hotel. The Historic Downtown is just 10 minutes away, the airport within 5 minutes. We are glad that you accepted our Concierge’s recommendations for your entertainment at Islas del Rosario and city nightclubs.

Once more, please accept our sincere gratitude. We hope to see you again to welcome you at our hotel. If you wish, you may share your photos with us via e-mail or on our social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent location close to the beach. We stayed in a semi-bungalow that was clean and tidy and quite cozy. The service was high class and always helpful. Breakfast choice was good - enjoyed it 1 meter from the beach, but for dinner we would rather go to the Old Town for more value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalows and not the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik22Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort between December 28 2012 and January 4 2013.

The overall impressions of the resort property were positive. It is a short ride from the airport (5-10 min) to the hotel and our check in was fast as they had several staff at the desk. As many others have posted the hotel could be in for a bit of a re-fresh, but I did find that it was clean and in good repair. Our room as well could benefit from a re-fresh but was clean and comfortable as well. Beds are generally firmer and there are two doubles in the rooms (at least the standard rooms) which could be pushed together to make a large single bed. The bathrooms were clean and we found that the housekeeping staff did a good job with our room each day.

We were on the North American all-inclusive (AI) plan so primarily stayed to the buffet which was good for breakfast and lunch, but seemed to lack for dinner. For lunch and dinner the buffet is pretty consistent with its offerings of 2 rice dishes, potato dish, pasta station and then several choices of chicken, fish or beef dishes. There was some confusion about the all-inclusive plan but as we figured out (unfortunately near the end of the trip) you can use the A al Carte menu in the main dining room (same as the buffet area) but are limited in the dishes you can order; the most expensive dishes such as lobster are excluded. There is also a limited menu at the beach/pool restaurants at lunch for AI guests. If you are a wine drinker you are allowed one glass each with lunch and dinner and that is all, otherwise you need to pay for wine. You are also limited to a list of 8-9 types of local alcohol based drinks plus local beers, punch's, cuba libres, pina colada, margarita, daiquiri, antioqueno as part of the all-inclusive package, including bottled water and soda.

I know some reviews did not like the beach but I thought it was great; it was not your typical Caribbean beach in terms of white sand and crystal blue waters. It’s big with lots of sun huts and you did not need to be up at the crack of dawn to get one. The water was warm and with its sandy bottom that you could easily walk out in to play in the waves. There are lots of vendors, but a quick “no gracias” will get rid of them. It’s also very long and hard-packed by the water so easy to go for a long walk. There was a great energy on the beach with lots of people doing lots of different things. We did not use the pools at the older resort, but did use the adults only pool at the sister resort next door. You are able to use the facilities both resorts and the pool on the 10th floor was very nice with great views.

The proximity to the old town is also a plus. We took taxi’s in most afternoons with a cost of $12,000 peso’s going in and $15,000 coming out. We were also there over New Years Eve. The hotel puts on a huge party with an even bigger live concert. If you are there over a new years eve, you will not be sleeping that night as the music, which is very loud, and goes to 4:30am.

I gave the resort 3 stars because the all-inclusive aspect of the resort was a bit confusing, and for a holiday there should be no guessing (otherwise it would be a 4) . The vast majority of the hotels clients are paying the A al carte rate and that is where their focus is. If can speak some Spanish you will be able to navigate this easier. Also we did get sick near the end and that never leaves a positive experience on a vacation.

If you go here some suggestions.
Tipping is much appreciated by the staff so have some extra peso’s…it can go a long way.
If you are thinking of renting a car….think twice. Drivers are crazy it is best to take a cab.
In my opinion (and you should not have to at an AI), but If you are a wine drinker, grab a bottle or two if you are in town.
If you can, use the pool the 10th floor on other side of the resort.

Room Tip: Although the place is generally quiet, if you want a quiet room ask for one in B3 or B4 block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
0.4 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 149 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa

Property: Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa
Address: Anillo Vial Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Americas Casa de Playa hotel is a tropical resort located on the Caribbean Sea in the northern of Cartagena de Indias. It offers 2 swimming pools, 2 bars: La Isla and El Chicho; mini golf course, tennis court and the kids club "Star Captain". There are boutiques, jewelry store and free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa feature private balconies with hammocks, air conditioning, ceiling fan, minibar, free WiFi and satellite flat-screen TV. The Hotel has the Meson de Don Cristobal restaurant where guests can enjoy a variety of traditional and international dishes and between the resorts garden has the Fogon del Navegante restaurant, where succulent steaks and grilled seafood are offered, accompanied by fresh salads . Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa is 5 minutes drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the walled city of Cartagena. It has reception service 24 hours and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing