We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Ranked #23 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really liked the Hotel, very friendly staff, rooms are beautiful with balcony and a great ocean view. Perfect Pool and great breakfast!
It's easy to go to Cartagena, maybe 10 minutes with taxi.
People here speak limited english, so it was perfect our friend spoke Spanish, otherwise not that much fun in Cartagena when you dont speak Spanish.
What I did not like was the beach, dark sand, but the rest was great!
So when you want to see Cartagena, it's a perfect Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicemanaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    462
    183
    60
    27
See reviews for
539
345
25
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is really beautiful.. everything looks new and the rooms are really comfortable. Staff is really nice and friendly. Every waiter or waitress, maids and even the taxi drivers were super nice to us and they are always willing to give us some advice on where to go or how much to pay for a trip or for a souvenir. The only issue we found was that the food quality was not really matching the prices the hotel asks for. But if you take the package that includes breakfast you can surely eat abundantly and then just pass the day without feeling hungry and maybe just have one big meal during the late afternoon in the "ciudad amurallada" or in the restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franaya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was recently at this hotel (Dec 2013) and will say that it is a very clean property throughout the resort. Service at the bars and restaurant was what you should expect from a hotel such as this one. Service staff are very polite with limited English as a second language. Travelers should not be complaining about a language barrier as you are in a Spanish speaking country. They will try too serve you as best as possible and that is satisfaction for me. If you arrive late like I did do not expect food as the restaurants and bars close at 11:00pm. For an all inclusive resort this bothers me a little. You have a small refrigerator in your room but they will charge you everything you take from it. When returning to your room simply stop by a bar and get extra water bottles or soft drinks for your room.

The hotel is located in a quiet area and about 8 kilometers from the old city. It will cost you 12,000 pesos which is about $7.00 both ways.

Cartagena beach not Varadero or Punta Cana beach. The sand is mostly dark and compacted. The water is brown which is not the most beautiful. As soon as you step on the beach you will be solicited by all kinds of people selling whatever they have too sell. It is almost a Wallmart on the beach. Sellers do not take no for an answer but they are polite. I accept this as they need to survive. If you have extra room in your suitcase bring clothing that you do not use no more and give them to the locals on the beach. It is extremely appreciated by them.

Room Tip: I was in block B7-room 310 which is located on the third floor almost above the pool. Very satisfied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyluc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is away from the bustle of Cartagena with a "private beach." While the room was nice enough, the attitude from some of the staff really affected my overall impression of the visit. Some the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and others were just plain snooty or were caught lying to me. I expect a sustained level of great service for the price you pay to stay here so I was very disappointed. The beach is okay but there are non-stop vendors approaching you trying to sell everything from hats, sunglasses, food, water, drinks, massages, etc. The water isn't as clear as I expect in the Caribbean but it is warm. It remains a mystery whether there is a shuttle bus to and from the resort into Cartagena. Some days it came; others we were left standing on the street waiting for a bus that never came.

Room Tip: Based on what I saw, I would recommend the Torre del Mar vs. the Casa de Playa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeCeeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Right by the beach and close to the Boulevard. Lots of restaurants, cafés and shops nearby.
Cheap, clean, quiet (apart from stuff falling from the palmtrees onto the roof of the café)
No english spoken there, or in Torre Del Mar in general. You have to speak to the staff at Hotell Torremar just up the road if you have any complicated questions that can't be solved by pointing and guessing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up, further away from the café roof is probably best to avoid the noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Last time we stayed at Las Americas, our stay was not memorable. We had a lot of issues with the stay. We decided to try it again after 9 months and we had a completely different and positive experience. We reserved a Junior Suite in the Tower. We were given a room in the 7th floor with amazing views, very spacious suite, with two bathrooms, one with shower and tub, the other with shower.
Both Check in and check out were painless, the room was ready as soon as we got there, and we arrived much earlier than their advertised check in time.
The only complaint is that we told them we needed a crib at 10AM and when we came back to the room at 5 PM the crib had not been set up we had to call again. And at 6PM a second call because no one had come to bring the crib, which finally arrived and was set up properly.
The food was good, we had lunch twice at the "Kiosko cielo Mar" and had breakfast in the breakfast room of the tower. In both places the food and the service was very good.
We spent some time at the beach, nice kiosks, nice service. A barman that stands out: Jairo at the Beach "bar". He has been in the hotel for years and he has always provided exceptional service for us.
In all it was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a Junior Suite, 728 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is phase two of the Las Americas development and I was thankful that we were staying here. It is a modern high rise building that is clean and bright. The front desk and concierge staff are full fluent in English! The hotel is very secure as they check all cars entering the development and appear to have a robust security staff posted around the property. The hotel has a coffee shop, Juan Valdez, a bathing suit shop, designer clothes and shoe shop and a souvenir shop-all well presented. Our suite was very large and bright. The decor was creamy white and fawn. The suite had two full baths, which took the pressure off of being rushed by he that must be obeyed :) (to the Rumbold fans out there). The suite has a large balcony that had a perfect view of the sunset. Overall, the room was quiet and very well appointed. The restaurant on the top floor of the hotel is divine; I understand that it is in line for a Michelin Star and I can say that the food, decor, view and service certainly merit it--so if you are in Columbia you must go to the restaurant. The hotel is clean and safe. It does have a family resort vibe, but the property is so large, you can write your own ticket. Also, taxis are very inexpensive so you can hire a hotel verified taxi driver for half a day for $40! He will stay with you and escort you to galleries, sites, shops etc. Take the advise of hotel staff on how to present yourself for off site excursions,

Room Tip: Choose a high, sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#24 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#21 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar

Property: Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Address: Anillo Vial | Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a luxury resort located on the seafront in the north of Cartagena de Indias on the beach La Boquilla. It offers 5 swimming pools, 3 bars: Aqua Lounge, Sports and Infinity; a Spa and wellness, fitness and business center. There are clothing and coffee stores, plus free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar has a minibar, flat-screen TV and a balcony overlooking the sea, the city or the Cienaga de la Virgen. The Columbus Al Forno restaurant is a gourmet dining area where you can take a number of international dishes. The gourmet "ERRE" restaurant by renowned chef Ramon Freixa, awarded 2 Michelin stars at his restaurant in Madrid, it offers spectacular views of the ocean on the 10th floor of the tower. It features stylish decor and is ideal for business lunches or romantic dinners. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a 5-minute drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the Wall City of Cartagena. 24-hour front desk and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Americas Torre Del Mar Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing