We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Ranked #23 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Last time we stayed at Las Americas, our stay was not memorable. We had a lot of issues with the stay. We decided to try it again after 9 months and we had a completely different and positive experience. We reserved a Junior Suite in the Tower. We were given a room in the 7th floor with amazing views, very spacious suite, with two bathrooms, one with shower and tub, the other with shower.
Both Check in and check out were painless, the room was ready as soon as we got there, and we arrived much earlier than their advertised check in time.
The only complaint is that we told them we needed a crib at 10AM and when we came back to the room at 5 PM the crib had not been set up we had to call again. And at 6PM a second call because no one had come to bring the crib, which finally arrived and was set up properly.
The food was good, we had lunch twice at the "Kiosko cielo Mar" and had breakfast in the breakfast room of the tower. In both places the food and the service was very good.
We spent some time at the beach, nice kiosks, nice service. A barman that stands out: Jairo at the Beach "bar". He has been in the hotel for years and he has always provided exceptional service for us.
In all it was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a Junior Suite, 728 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    478
    188
    62
    28
See reviews for
570
365
27
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is phase two of the Las Americas development and I was thankful that we were staying here. It is a modern high rise building that is clean and bright. The front desk and concierge staff are full fluent in English! The hotel is very secure as they check all cars entering the development and appear to have a robust security staff posted around the property. The hotel has a coffee shop, Juan Valdez, a bathing suit shop, designer clothes and shoe shop and a souvenir shop-all well presented. Our suite was very large and bright. The decor was creamy white and fawn. The suite had two full baths, which took the pressure off of being rushed by he that must be obeyed :) (to the Rumbold fans out there). The suite has a large balcony that had a perfect view of the sunset. Overall, the room was quiet and very well appointed. The restaurant on the top floor of the hotel is divine; I understand that it is in line for a Michelin Star and I can say that the food, decor, view and service certainly merit it--so if you are in Columbia you must go to the restaurant. The hotel is clean and safe. It does have a family resort vibe, but the property is so large, you can write your own ticket. Also, taxis are very inexpensive so you can hire a hotel verified taxi driver for half a day for $40! He will stay with you and escort you to galleries, sites, shops etc. Take the advise of hotel staff on how to present yourself for off site excursions,

Room Tip: Choose a high, sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you just want to sit around a pool, drink mojitos, and do nothing, this is probably as good an option as you'll find in Cartagena. The hotel is very modern with clean, well appointed rooms. It is a bit far from the walled city but it's really not that bad (15min and about 17k pesos by taxi).

Although it's on the beach, we walked down to it and decided not to use the beach at all. As with every beach in Cartagena, the sand is a dark brown, but ignoring that, the real problem is the vendors. I get that life is hard in Colombia and they're just trying to make a living, but it's super annoying to have someone come up and try to sell you stuff every 5 minutes especially since most people go to the beach to relax. I don't know if the section of beach in front of the hotel is owned by the hotel, but if it is, they should really consider limiting access to guests.

Breakfast (not included) is buffet-style but quite good overall. I also noticed too late that they can do omelets etc. We didn't eat dinner there but the menu looks decent. Restaurant/drink service can be slow.

Most people will be in Cartagena for the walled city, but if you want a couple days to relax this isn't a bad option.

Room Tip: It's probably worth the slight premium to get a sea view room. They all have nice balconies you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I sayed here because of a congress and liked it as a tourist, staff is very friendly and willing to help.

I could not use the 10th floor pool because it was being remodeled, but the ones by the beach are very nice but shallow, about 1.2 m deep.

The rooms are comfortable, nice and clean with some maintenance details, like a little paint peeling off the balconys ceiling and some other minor issues that, made no real difference.

The restaurant in the lobby and pricey and food is good, the buffete food is average but at the restaurant of the 10th floor it was very good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved the hotel really nice, although if you like to see the historical parts of the city these hotel lies a little far away, but its a really nice place. The beach is clean and nuce and the hotel has a really great view. Thanks we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatti87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice nice hotel with a great pool at 10th floor, to relax with slow music and amazing view without childrens. The food is a litle expensive, and dont have free water, I will value if they includ the water in the future

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nestor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the shallow pools are gorgeous. We stayed at this hotel because the conference venue was next door. Breakfast was the same each morning. Coffee service alittle slow (better if self serve probably). Internet was also slow. It is at least 15-25 minutes from the historic center depending on the traffic (price averaged 15,000 COP each way). Buffet lunch was expensive and the food was just average. Better off going into town and eating there. If you like the beach away from the crowds, this is the place, otherwise consider the hotels in the city center. The fitness center was excellent with a selection of Life Fitness equipment, treadmills, bikes and elipticals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtzdwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#32 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Capilla del Mar
Hotel Capilla del Mar
#22 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar

Property: Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Address: Anillo Vial | Sector Cielo Mar, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Hotel Las Américas Torre del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#5 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a luxury resort located on the seafront in the north of Cartagena de Indias on the beach La Boquilla. It offers 5 swimming pools, 3 bars: Aqua Lounge, Sports and Infinity; a Spa and wellness, fitness and business center. There are clothing and coffee stores, plus free WiFi in all areas. Rooms at the Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar has a minibar, flat-screen TV and a balcony overlooking the sea, the city or the Cienaga de la Virgen. The Columbus Al Forno restaurant is a gourmet dining area where you can take a number of international dishes. The gourmet "ERRE" restaurant by renowned chef Ramon Freixa, awarded 2 Michelin stars at his restaurant in Madrid, it offers spectacular views of the ocean on the 10th floor of the tower. It features stylish decor and is ideal for business lunches or romantic dinners. Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar is a 5-minute drive from Rafael Nunez International Airport and 10 minutes drive to the Wall City of Cartagena. 24-hour front desk and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Americas Torre Del Mar Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing