We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Nearby Hotels
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$145
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$87
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$380
$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$114
$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveler rating
1,254
698
268
106
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
698
268
106
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew towerinfinity poolclose to the airportjuan valdez cafetaxis are cheaproom servicetop floorvery nice hotelbusiness tripbreakfast buffet isminutes from the airportold citythe hotel staffbusiness centerrooms are clean and comfortablecity viewgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Checkin terrible: disorganized and lengthly. The receptionists are sort of confused and swing up and down rather sleepy, mixing the guests checking in and out. Porters are even more messy. Great service at the restaurant (evening or breakfast time), but rather limited choice of food.
The beach nearby dirty and unpleasant.

Room Tip: elegant and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very nice recent building , an especially attractive swimming pool on the roof (10th floor) , an excellent formal restaurant at night ( Erre ) also on the roof . People generally nice and helpful . Suites are large , comfortable and clean .
The beach is penalized by the grey color of the volcanic sand and the lack of coral reef .
If you survived 9/11 maybe you will not appreciate the planes taking off or landing right in front of the hotel .
Details to be improved :
the breakfast restaurant is planned for handling a lot of people in a short time , that doesn't help the food quality .
It is not the best idea to have carpets in the lobbies upstairs , they already look so so.
The choice of drinks in the bar was disappointing , no Piña Colada , no Caipirinha ...

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would only recommend staying here if you are going to Cartagena on business. And if you are going to Cartagena on business I would recommend the Hilton over Las Americas.
It is a nice big hotel on the beach. I did not use the pools but they looked great. That's about it.
It's not worth the price.
The service is so so.
The wifi is intermittent.
If you really want to experience Cartagena stay in the center. I recommend El Marques.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael92780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel could well be a five star experience but the interaction with the reception staff is so annoying that it becomes a negative experience from the moment you check inn.

I was told at arrival that they only had one room left in the category I was paying but I could upgrade if I wanted. I was paying US$200 with is an average price for Cartagena. So I was given a very noisy room, with noise from the air conditioning machinery in the hotel. I decided to check out and when I went back to the reception person she "miraculously" found a better room. It was 6 pm. Next morning I realized the hotel was not full. I checked with the maids and they told me less than 50% of the rooms were occupied. Why would the reception person insist in giving me a noisy room? I am still waiting for an answer. The public relations person in the hotel said the rooms were probably not ready. Not ready at 6 pm, when I checked in? She had no other explanation.

I stayed for 4 days. Cartagena is a great city and the beach is wonderful at Las Americas. The food is nothing special at the hotel but Cartagena has great restaurants. The rooms have been re-decorated and they are pleasant with lovely balconies and beautiful gardens. The bathrooms are very adequate. There are several great pools and many other amenities. I really like the beach kiosks and the beach area is lovely. i also enjoyed the live entertainment after dinner. the restaurant and beach staff are friendly and nice.

I did not like the feeling of emptiness in the public areas of the hotel during my stay. The pools and the restaurants had less than 10 people where 80 could be served. I also found that the music played in the beach area is too loud and bothersome when you try to listen to the sea.

My conclusion is that style of the reception staff is turning people away. Cartagena has other wonderful options and in other hotels they make you feel welcome and they try to please you particularly when they have few clients and lots of empty rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very convenient, excellent service, only draw back was not such good internet connection and only one restaurant available apart from the sports bar. Pending opening of their Spanish restaurant which sounds like it will be a great addition to the property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniAguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews