We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - underwhelming amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location - underwhelming amenities”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We visited this hotel expecting the level of service and amenities of a global hotel brand such as Sonesta and the experience they promised in their website. Our visit was pleasant, the staff was very nice and helpful but the spa was not functioning because they had no staff, the hotel personnel was not really informed of the services the hotel offer or not. The breakfast buffer was good but not great and we often had the feeling we were eating the night before leftovers. The quality of the food was not what one would expect in a city known for its gray food. They really need to improve on this point.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    196
    110
    43
    29
See reviews for
172
164
11
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SP
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel is located 5 km from the historic city. The beach in front of hotel is not safe after 6 PM.
The hotel has 2 swimming pools. Both very clean. But just one has bar service.
The rooms are wide and modern. Contras: it is possible to hear any movement pf the aisle and the clock alarms from the other rooms. The air conditioner turn on and turn off every 5 min. So, at night the room becomes warms and some times very cold. In the bathroom the shower had a low water pressure and several times there were no hot water.
The breakfast is poor and the quality of the food just ok. The lunch at the hotel restaurant is very expensive considering the quality of the food. But the service is great.
I had a problem during check-out when the I tried to use my credit card several times but we got the message of problems in the communication. Luckly I had money to pay in cash.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here on business and was situated in a room on the 1st floor facing the highway. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows with Hunter shades. This still does not block out the sounds of truck and bus traffic that passes within 50 feet of the hotel front day and night.

As other raters have said, there is only one hotel tower, and the remainder are condo. The grounds are all concrete/graite/marble and the pools look nice but I did not get a chance to use them. The beach looked kind of desolate.

I used room service on arrival at 130am and it was prompt, good food and price. The free breakfast was more than adequate, and the restaurant and bar had friendly service and great prices.

This is a great hotel if you have business at the airport, have a layover, or are attending a conference at the conference centre nearby. No shopping around.

The room was modern with large screen TV, good a/c system, comfortable bed and nice washroom facility. On my second day the towels from day one, and bath mat were not replaced so I had to use day 1 hand towel and the extra bath towel (didn't notice until 5am). Te wifi works in the room but is better in the lobby bar, and it is FREE!

To sum up, for business, it is great...get a high levele room facing the beach and take some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

One of the newest hotels in Cartagena but you actually don't feel in Cartagena. Three huge white towers, two apartment buildings and the hotel, in a new neighborhood. The old town is 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi and there is no place to walk to in the neighborhood. So, if you're looking for the feeling of old town Cartagena, with its little streets and colorfull houses, this is not the place to go. But if you want a modern, huge hotel, with three swimming pools, and a little less expensive than the old town maybe you might consider it. Maybe for families with little children it is a nice option. The beach is not very nice but then again you don't really go to Cartagena for the beach. It just opened so there's lots of things that don't work as expected yet. Rooms are spacy, in very modern, clean, simple lines. Nice bed, mini bar and a desk. But no light on the desk, so not good for working. Each room has a balcony and huge windows. But you look at the other towers, not really the sea. The huge windows is nice but, maybe I'm not that modern, having them in the shower looking at the street or looking into the other towers' toilets was weird. And don't take a room towards the street, it is really noisy. The rooms at the back are less noisy but isolation is not very good so you will hear everything your neighbor does. And the air conditioning sounds like a truck, which coupled with very warm blankets does not really help sleeping. The conference room was nice, but had no bathroom so you had to walk to the reception which is not in the same tower. Air conditioning system in the room just stopped working one afternoon and, in spite of all the technicians that came, finally they had to bring in fans. Wifi is free but doesn't work most of the time. Not to mention they kept on their construction work during part of the time we were there, making discussion really hard. Breakfast was just ok, not many fruits, and long time to make a couple of eggs. But keep in mind it's brand new, so, hopefully they'll improve these details.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
2.4 mi away
Corales de Indias
Corales de Indias
#52 of 155 in Cartagena
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#32 of 155 in Cartagena
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#34 of 155 in Cartagena
1,509 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
978 reviews
6.2 mi away
InterContinental Cartagena De Indias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cartagena

Property: Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
Address: Carrera 9 # 35-104 | Anillo VialZona Norte, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel that boasts 118 guestrooms with furnished balconies and a espectacualr view of the caribbean sea and the cienaga de la virgen is only five minutes from the airport. service is sonesta¨s forte thanks to the backing of GHL, one of latin America¨s largest hotel chains whit over 50 years of experience in the region.Have fun in the pools, at tenis court, gym or the Spa and grab a refreshing drink at the beach bar thereafter. also try something of the grill, or dishes from around the world or around the corner at their delicious restaurant, palenke. and unforgettable holiday is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing