We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too close to the highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Cartagena
Ranked #88 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here on business and was situated in a room on the 1st floor facing the highway. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows with Hunter shades. This still does not block out the sounds of truck and bus traffic that passes within 50 feet of the hotel front day and night.

As other raters have said, there is only one hotel tower, and the remainder are condo. The grounds are all concrete/graite/marble and the pools look nice but I did not get a chance to use them. The beach looked kind of desolate.

I used room service on arrival at 130am and it was prompt, good food and price. The free breakfast was more than adequate, and the restaurant and bar had friendly service and great prices.

This is a great hotel if you have business at the airport, have a layover, or are attending a conference at the conference centre nearby. No shopping around.

The room was modern with large screen TV, good a/c system, comfortable bed and nice washroom facility. On my second day the towels from day one, and bath mat were not replaced so I had to use day 1 hand towel and the extra bath towel (didn't notice until 5am). Te wifi works in the room but is better in the lobby bar, and it is FREE!

To sum up, for business, it is great...get a high levele room facing the beach and take some ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoutW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 598 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

One of the newest hotels in Cartagena but you actually don't feel in Cartagena. Three huge white towers, two apartment buildings and the hotel, in a new neighborhood. The old town is 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi and there is no place to walk to in the neighborhood. So, if you're looking for the feeling of old town Cartagena, with its little streets and colorfull houses, this is not the place to go. But if you want a modern, huge hotel, with three swimming pools, and a little less expensive than the old town maybe you might consider it. Maybe for families with little children it is a nice option. The beach is not very nice but then again you don't really go to Cartagena for the beach. It just opened so there's lots of things that don't work as expected yet. Rooms are spacy, in very modern, clean, simple lines. Nice bed, mini bar and a desk. But no light on the desk, so not good for working. Each room has a balcony and huge windows. But you look at the other towers, not really the sea. The huge windows is nice but, maybe I'm not that modern, having them in the shower looking at the street or looking into the other towers' toilets was weird. And don't take a room towards the street, it is really noisy. The rooms at the back are less noisy but isolation is not very good so you will hear everything your neighbor does. And the air conditioning sounds like a truck, which coupled with very warm blankets does not really help sleeping. The conference room was nice, but had no bathroom so you had to walk to the reception which is not in the same tower. Air conditioning system in the room just stopped working one afternoon and, in spite of all the technicians that came, finally they had to bring in fans. Wifi is free but doesn't work most of the time. Not to mention they kept on their construction work during part of the time we were there, making discussion really hard. Breakfast was just ok, not many fruits, and long time to make a couple of eggs. But keep in mind it's brand new, so, hopefully they'll improve these details.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernan D, Director General at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear host, Thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for answering our service survey and for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question or comment. We are at your service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvaromarrugojimenez, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: pisos altos que miren hacia el interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvaromarrugojimenez, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvaromarrugojimenez, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejorar el aseo del papel de colgadura de la cabecera de la cama
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank digerosud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvaromarrugojimenez, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvaromarrugojimenez, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 157 in Cartagena
727 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#37 of 157 in Cartagena
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#81 of 157 in Cartagena
625 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corales de Indias
Corales de Indias
#51 of 157 in Cartagena
651 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Las Americas Torre del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Cartagena

Address: Carrera 9 # 35-104 | Anillo VialZona Norte, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel that boasts 118 guestrooms with furnished balconies and a espectacualr view of the caribbean sea and the cienaga de la virgen is only five minutes from the airport. service is sonesta¨s forte thanks to the backing of GHL, one of latin America¨s largest hotel chains whit over 50 years of experience in the region.Have fun in the pools, at tenis court, gym or the Spa and grab a refreshing drink at the beach bar thereafter. also try something of the grill, or dishes from around the world or around the corner at their delicious restaurant, palenke. and unforgettable holiday is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing