We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
A great tour

Highly recommend Marelvy when touring Cartagena. A great tour guide who took us to see so many... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karen R
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Marvelous Marelvy!

We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide than Marelvy to show us around Cartagena - La Popa... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
RobandMar
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 497 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cartagena
from $29.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $23.15
More Info
from $57.00
More Info
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveler rating
464
30
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
464
30
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la popa cruise ship parting gift old city beautiful city san felipe wonderful guide air conditioned van city highlights fluent in english island princess local dance colombian coffee wealth of knowledge highest point emerald museum local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 497 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

Although the guide was knowledgeable she was terribly inconsiderate! She promised there would be a cafe for those "non-shoppers" but all she cared about was the shoppers. When I asked for this cafe she brusquely pointed somewhere. She had two others helping her but never instructed them to attend to this matter. All in all 40minutes were devoted this expedition which brought us into a hotter time of day! Very rude.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank dorannj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourincartagena, Owner at Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

I feel that it is necessary to reply to this, the first bad review that I have received in tripadvisor infive years because I feel that this client's compalint is unjustified. Anybody who knows me knows that I am never rude to anybody, much less my clients. And finally I refer the reader to the review below written by a guest who was enjoying the same tour. (It is possible that there will be a slight delay before the review I refer to has been put up on tripadvisor.

My husband and I, along with three other couples, took Marelvy's tour of Cartagena in February. We sailed on the Celebrity Equinox, disembarked, and were met immediately by Marelvy's tour assistant who brought us over to her van. The tour was excellent, especially her knowledge of the old city. She answered everyone's questions enthusiastically and we gained a great appreciation of this interesting city. We were happy that she gave us a very short time to venture into one or two stores, especially one that had beautiful trays and vases made out of wood and painted wheat. She was professional but a lot of fun throughout the tour. You could tell that she had a great love for her city. We would absolutely recommend her tour to anyone who is planning to visit Cartagena. --Phyllis and Jeff, New York

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016

We contacted Marelvy via email only days before our ship arrived in Cartegna. But everything went well- saw the Gold Museum, "emerald mine" walk thru and major squares in the old town before a visit to the Convent and Church for a visit and the panoramic view of Cartegna. We felt we learned a lot about the city and country.in a few hours. Too bad we didn't have more time.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank dianavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016

From the start when booking to the end of the tour, everything is handled so professionally. We were a group of two and our guide was the lovely Ester, whose love of her city added so much more to the history we learned from her. Cartagena has so many hidden treasures and some history that you don't learn in school books. An underwater defense barrier, the escaped Slave King and a general with only a single arm and leg who defeated the British navy!

There's no doubt, this is THE tour of Cartagena!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank RyanDeWynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

We were able to join a late afternoon walking tour that had been organized by one of the participants on the Celebrity Cruise Critic message board. Ester was our informative guide. She insured that we saw many areas of the old city, and was able to arrange our entry into unexpected sites as well. Ester provided us with history that truly enriched our visit to her beautiful city. She arranged for a rooftop bar/restaurant visit timed perfectly for the sunset.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016

We were a small group from a cruise ship, only in Cartagena for the afternoon. We were well-managed from the start and had a wonderful tour of so many sights! We also got a sense of its cultural and political history. It was excellent and made us want to return!

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews