We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Review Highlights
A great tour

Highly recommend Marelvy when touring Cartagena. A great tour guide who took us to see so many... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Karen R
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Marvelous Marelvy!

We couldn't have asked for a better tour guide than Marelvy to show us around Cartagena - La Popa... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RobandMar
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 497 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cartagena
from $29.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $24.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveler rating
464
30
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
464
30
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la popa cruise ship parting gift old city beautiful city wonderful guide san felipe air conditioned van city highlights fluent in english island princess local dance colombian coffee wealth of knowledge highest point emerald museum local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 497 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2015

We booked this tour with a large group from Cruise Critic on the Island Princess. I coordinated the tour and ended up with 31 people on the tour. We were met not far from the dock and escorted to two very nice air conditioned buses. Marelvy was our guide and I heard from the other group that they loved their guide as well. We truly enjoyed all the areas we were taken to see and all the new information we learned about Cartagena. They also kept a close eye on the time and made sure we were back to the dock with plenty of time to be back on the ship prior to sailing. I would highly recommend this tour company to anyone coming into Cartagena on a tour ship. Much cheaper than going on a ship tour, plus a lot fewer people to get on/off the buses. This results in a lot more attention per passenger and you can have extra time in the areas to see things when you don't have to spend so much time gathering everyone back up again to get on the bus. You will not regret this decision.
Marelvy - Thanks for a memorable, wonderful day!!!

Date of experience: December 2015
3  Thank AlaskaRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

My friend And I visited Cartagena in August and the first thing we did was take a walking tour with Marelvy. This was an amazing introduction to the old city. Marelvy is well versed and loves her city which only made us fall in love with it as well. The tour was the right amount of time. Marelvy made sure that we were fine throughout the entire time. Honestly, it felt like we were walking with a good friend showing us her city. This is a must do!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank nalleli1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

We booked our tour in advance of our Celebrity Equinox cruise. Marelvy met us at the cruise port where we boarded the mid sized tour bus. Our first stop was the monastery on the top of the hill overlooking Cartagena. The views of the city were fantastic and the restored monastery was very interesting and beautiful with very clean restrooms. Our next stop was the Spanish fort for which Cartagena is known. We only stayed at the fort long enough to take a couple of pictures. I was under the impression that we would be able to climb to top of the fort and see it up close but that was not the case. We proceeded to the old walled city with its many Spanish colonial era buildings. Our first stop in the old town was a bunch of souvenir shops which all contained more or less the same touristy stuff which were of little interest. The next stop in the old city was an old church built out of coral which we entered and spent a little time in. We crossed the town square and went to gold museum which is a local tourist attraction. We walked around the old town a little longer and visited another church. I asked Marelvy if we could stop at a local supermarket to buy some coffee and beer and she accommodated my request.

In summary, Marelvy is a very good tour guide with great English speaking skills. Her bus driver knew how to efficiently maneuver through the city of Cartagena without getting stuck in traffic. Marelvy answered a lot of questions and demonstrated her knowledge and love of Columbia and its people and culture.

I would definitely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Our party of 12 thoroughly enjoyed this relaxed and informative tour of a fascinating city. Ester, our guide was very confident, fluent in English, informative and friendly.

Marelvy's responses to e-mails when arranging the visit were very prompt and the tour provides excellent value for money.

Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Reithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2015

Great walking tour......... my husband has Parkinsons but she was always looking for a place for him to rest. Highlights of the City tour was well worth it. She knows her stuff.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank jeanandbillgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews