We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cartagena
from $23.15
More Info
from $29.00
More Info
from $24.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
465
30
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
465
30
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la popa cruise ship parting gift old city beautiful city san felipe wonderful guide air conditioned van city highlights fluent in english island princess local dance colombian coffee wealth of knowledge highest point emerald museum local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 498 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I honestly cannot speak highly enough of our tour with Marelvy. We were a little apprehensive about our shore excursion in Cartagena but were instantly put at ease when we met her at the docks and were welcomed with a warm hug.

Marelvy looked after us as if we were members of her own family. We visited La Popa, then stopped at some souvenir shops and for pictures at San Felipe fortress. We then went on a walking tour to see the beautiful old city and then stopped for lunch before returning to the cruise ship. Marelvy kept the tour at a pace that suited everyone and was a wealth of information. Her english is perfect and she has a great sense of humour. At the end of the tour she even gave us all a gift of a print of a painting by her husband, which was lovely.

We never felt unsafe the whole time we were there and really felt we had left a friend behind when we said goodbye to Marelvy.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank waringstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

She was on time, very nice, has a large knowledgy of the history of Catagena de Indias. If you want a city guide i highly recomend.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank zildamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We contacted MareIvy by email several months before our cruise and knew by her responsiveness we were in good hands. She was already booked for our day in port but kindly arranged for another tour guide, Silvia, to meet us. We were met at the harbor entrance by Silvia and driver Luis. They gave us a most wonderful tour of the Old Walled City and nearby sights by private car, which was important because my husband has some mobility issues. We also got to see a lot more than we would have on foot. We did make several stops to get out and move around, including at San Felipe de Barajas Castle, Las Bovedas for souvenir shopping, Plaza Santa Domingo (got a delicious fruit salad cut on the spot by vendor Angelica), and La Popa Monastery for panoramic views of the city.

Silvia is a Cartagena native. She spoke great English and was interesting, knowledgeable and a very nice person to spend time with. Luis did a marvelous job of navigating hectic traffic. We enjoyed our day with both of them. They also knew about the Independence Day parade later that day and reversed their normal pattern so that we could see the parade area early in the day before the crowds and traffic became more intense. We would contact either of them again if we were to revisit Colombia

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank DoDeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent 3+ enjoyable hours with Marelvy on a GMM-themed walking tour in the walled old city of Cartagena. Her knowledge of GMM's books - which she read in both Spanish and English - is encyclopedic and the time we spent together literally flew by. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank RajaLaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Marelvy is an elegant, sophisticated, knowledgeable and well spoked (English and Spanish) woman. She gave my husband and I, and our two friends, a wonderful customized walking tour of the old city of Cartagena. She listens carefully to what her clients are interested in and then delivers perfectly. She was equally adept at covering the history of Cartagena and Columbia as she was reporting on the current state of affairs and new things to do in town. She even made herself available after our tour via email in case we had questions! Marelvy set us up for a great experience in Cartagena and followed up to make sure we were having a great time!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews