We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day in Cartagena”

Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall
Ranked #3 of 105 Tours in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Marelvy Peña-Hall is completely fluent in English, French and Spanish. In her work as a tour guide she combines the intimate knowledge of a native of Cartagena who is steeped in the city’s centuries-old traditions with an easy familiarity with North American and European people, society and culture, having traveled and lived in both the U.S. and France.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
County Armagh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic day in Cartagena”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I honestly cannot speak highly enough of our tour with Marelvy. We were a little apprehensive about our shore excursion in Cartagena but were instantly put at ease when we met her at the docks and were welcomed with a warm hug.

Marelvy looked after us as if we were members of her own family. We visited La Popa, then stopped at some souvenir shops and for pictures at San Felipe fortress. We then went on a walking tour to see the beautiful old city and then stopped for lunch before returning to the cruise ship. Marelvy kept the tour at a pace that suited everyone and was a wealth of information. Her english is perfect and she has a great sense of humour. At the end of the tour she even gave us all a gift of a print of a painting by her husband, which was lovely.

We never felt unsafe the whole time we were there and really felt we had left a friend behind when we said goodbye to Marelvy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank waringstown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    29
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cartagena with Marelvy made a difference”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

She was on time, very nice, has a large knowledgy of the history of Catagena de Indias. If you want a city guide i highly recomend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zildamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A high point of our Panama Canal cruise”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We contacted MareIvy by email several months before our cruise and knew by her responsiveness we were in good hands. She was already booked for our day in port but kindly arranged for another tour guide, Silvia, to meet us. We were met at the harbor entrance by Silvia and driver Luis. They gave us a most wonderful tour of the Old Walled City and nearby sights by private car, which was important because my husband has some mobility issues. We also got to see a lot more than we would have on foot. We did make several stops to get out and move around, including at San Felipe de Barajas Castle, Las Bovedas for souvenir shopping, Plaza Santa Domingo (got a delicious fruit salad cut on the spot by vendor Angelica), and La Popa Monastery for panoramic views of the city.

Silvia is a Cartagena native. She spoke great English and was interesting, knowledgeable and a very nice person to spend time with. Luis did a marvelous job of navigating hectic traffic. We enjoyed our day with both of them. They also knew about the Independence Day parade later that day and reversed their normal pattern so that we could see the parade area early in the day before the crowds and traffic became more intense. We would contact either of them again if we were to revisit Colombia

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoDeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Gabriel Garcia Marquez Walking Tour in Cartagena”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent 3+ enjoyable hours with Marelvy on a GMM-themed walking tour in the walled old city of Cartagena. Her knowledge of GMM's books - which she read in both Spanish and English - is encyclopedic and the time we spent together literally flew by. Highly recommended!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RajaLaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Westbury, New York
1 review
“A walking tour of Cartagena”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Marelvy is an elegant, sophisticated, knowledgeable and well spoked (English and Spanish) woman. She gave my husband and I, and our two friends, a wonderful customized walking tour of the old city of Cartagena. She listens carefully to what her clients are interested in and then delivers perfectly. She was equally adept at covering the history of Cartagena and Columbia as she was reporting on the current state of affairs and new things to do in town. She even made herself available after our tour via email in case we had questions! Marelvy set us up for a great experience in Cartagena and followed up to make sure we were having a great time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall also viewed

 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Tour in Cartagena with Marelvy Pena-Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing