We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Restaurante 1621

Restaurante 1621
Ranked #9 of 698 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Colombian, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Cartagena's historic center, this ancient clarist dining room, located at the Hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, is home to the award-winning restaurant, 1621. Executive chef, Daniel Padro, prepares a Contemporary Gastronomic Cuisine by combining French culinary techniques with the freshest ingredients of the Colombian Caribbean coast. Creative and exquisite gourmet offer, a wide range of the best wines, specialty cocktails and a personalized service, harmonized in a charming ambiance, makes 1621 a must visit restaurant in Cartagena. Wine Spectator Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Open for private and semi-private lunches and dinners. Ideal for groups. Street access available on Calle del Curato or through the main entrance of the hotel.
Cusco, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful night, great food and amazing wines and champagne! the set up is lovely and it could be either inside or outside area and in the middle of the garden. Really recommend if you stay in Cartagena. Santa Clara sofitel is charming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katyaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Manager at Restaurante 1621, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear katyaperu,

We very much appreciate you take the time to share your previous experience at our Restaurant 1621. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.

At 1621, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your dinner at the 1621.
We always try to bring the best to our guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Christophe Tessier
Restaurant Manager
Restaurant 1621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    191
    70
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Au Revoir to Cartagena”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner in a magical setting. When our Hotel suggested 1621, as the best restaurant in Cartagena, we thought it was just another tourist spot.
After eating in all the best restaurants in town, we were pleasantly surprised by the high quality and sophystication of the dishes offered by 1621. Their ceviche was outstanding, the langoustines superior and the lobster dish with gambas fabulous!
We had a very good Sauvignon Blanc from Chile, not expensive but very drinkable and great cortado with little petit fours.
Kenny, our waiter was very cute and took very good care of us, we also were welcomed with great warmth and flair by Christophe, the Manager.
The hotel patio is very welcoming and romantic...next time we will check in at the Santa Clara!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taitai46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Manager at Restaurante 1621, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Taitai46,

We very much appreciate you take the time to share your previous experience at our Restaurant 1621. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.

At 1621, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
I am so proud that you enjoyed your dinner and that you received a lovely experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Christophe Tessier
Restaurant Manager
Restaurant 1621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A really great restaurant. The food and the ambiance were great. Every dish that we ordered was excellent and the food was on par with many meals we have had at some of the finer restaurants in New York. The only negative is that the service started off great, but the waiter disappeared after a while and service became very slow.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Manager at Restaurante 1621, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Blaw10,

We very much appreciate you take the time to share your previous experience at our Restaurant 1621. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.

At 1621, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
I am so proud that you enjoyed your dinner and that you received a lovely experience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Christophe Tessier
Restaurant Manager
Restaurant 1621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We ate here two of our three nights in Cartagena. Service was excellent and the food was very creative and well-presented. They have a good wine list but it is severely over priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaClaraCartagena, Manager at Restaurante 1621, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Lyle K,

We very much appreciate you take the time to share your previous experience at our Restaurant 1621. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.

At 1621, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer.
I am so proud that you enjoyed your dinner and that you received a lovely experience.

I am surprised about our winw list.
We have 264 diferent kind of wine and the first price is 57 000 pesos for a bottle and 6 000 pesos for a glass of wine.
We have a very large seleccion of wine.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in your next visit to Cartagena.

Sincerely,

Christophe Tessier
Restaurant Manager
Restaurant 1621
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somewhat overrated”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were actually quite surprised by how average this restaurant actually was. The location, festive lighting and historical setting gave this place an almost magical setting and perhaps some ratings have been swayed by this factor.

Our starters (salad, ceviche, eggplant ravioli) were pretty average to too salty to too watery respectively, whilst the lamb chops were nowhere near the quality you'd get in a top NY restaurant. In fact, it wasn't any better than seasoning with salt/pepper and throwing it over the bbq. Dessert wasn't any better either - the orange sauce in the Crepe Suzette was sickeningly sweet.

Price wise, not great either. Beware that there is an additional heritage tax applicable on the bill and there are no refills on coffee. We ended up paying almost USD 30 per person (!) for our 3 cups of coffee each after sales/heritage taxes/tips were included............

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anfield702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante 1621 also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Restaurante 1621? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing