We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic”
Review of Restaurante 1621

Restaurante 1621
Ranked #9 of 694 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Colombian, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Cartagena's historic center, this ancient clarist dining room, located at the Hotel Sofitel Legend Santa Clara, is home to the award-winning restaurant, 1621. Executive chef, Daniel Padro, prepares a Contemporary Gastronomic Cuisine by combining French culinary techniques with the freshest ingredients of the Colombian Caribbean coast. Creative and exquisite gourmet offer, a wide range of the best wines, specialty cocktails and a personalized service, harmonized in a charming ambiance, makes 1621 a must visit restaurant in Cartagena. Wine Spectator Award 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Open for private and semi-private lunches and dinners. Ideal for groups. Street access available on Calle del Curato or through the main entrance of the hotel.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Romantic”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were staying at the Santa Clara hotel where restaurant is located. It started of badly. It was our anniversary and we were all dressed up and ready to celebrate. We were early and restaurant didn't look busy. The waiter said it would be OK and to wait a minute. The manager came and told us we needed to wait until our reservation time. he also told us very rudely that was the reason people made reservations. I got very upset (started crying) and told my husband we should leave. Manager came and apologized and offered us a glass of champagne. After "the little incident" was over, things started to improve. Food was good and imaginative but not wonderful. They really took care of us after the incident. They gave us the nicest and most romantic table, and put rose petals on it. I guess I'm just spoiled by Nice American and French Restaurants. Make sure you reserve and get there at the right time not early.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chalapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    189
    70
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining in a convent garden”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Inventive Colombian fare served in the open air central garden of an colonial era convent. Delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Medium food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Once we arrived, we asked for a table outside (restaurant was empty). The hostess said was all already reserved. We had to sit inside (also empty). The food is medium (from the starters to the deserts), the décor is pretentious. By the end we noticed that most of the outside tables were still vacant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobo189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant In Cartagena!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate here our last night in Cartagena, & it was a wonderful way to end our trip. The hotel courtyard is extremely beautiful & charming. The restaurant is very tastefully decorated, as well. The wait staff (except for a few bus-girls) were polished & welcoming. The food was beautifully presented & tasty. It was rather pricey, but well worth the cost!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hirogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner, with All the Trimmings!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What I Liked Most: The whole menu was wonderful, they also made a huge effort on the decoration and ambience, and at around USD100 was exceptionally good value for 6 superb courses. Outstanding.

What I Liked Least: This is a bit of a struggle, but if I have to say something, the dessert came a little too soon after the main course.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 984DavidA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante 1621 also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Restaurante 1621? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing