We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best of the New and Old”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartagena, Cartagena District, Bolivar Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
linda m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the New and Old”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfectly located in the center of the Colonial City with Yummy food available right outside the front door and compelling attractions within walking distance, Los Balcones was our dream apartment,. The interior had just been renovated with tasteful decor, modern lighting, complete mini kitchen and new comfortable furniture. We could expereince the modern comforts of an up to date apartment and step out on our balcony for the Colonial City experience. The French doors are double glazed and shielded us from the happy sounds of the lively night life, when we were ready for sleep. The fourth floor covered patio was an inviting place to relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the panoramic view of Old Cartagena.

The apartment was immaculate. The cleaning staff and apartment manager were friendly and helpful. Deb, the owner was gracious and responsive to all of our questions. She sent us a very helpful document with great tourist info including taxi rates, local restaurants, museum descriptions, directions to several grocery stores and best place to buy wine.

We enjoyed everything about our time at Los Balcones and plan to return for a longer visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2017
Thank you, Linda, for the wonderful review! I appreciate your very thoughtful comments. And you guessed our motivation in renovating Los Balcones. We did want a modern, comfortable retreat within the vibrant atmosphere of the Old City.
I am looking forward to your return to Los Balcones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIC m
mill valley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location with all the amenities”
Reviewed January 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Balcones is a great place to stay in Cartagena for several reasons. First, the location is excellent, with a major grocery store one block away ("Exito"); two coffee shops within a block (Brioche and Juan Valdez); an amazing ceviche lunch place across the street ("Pezetariana" - "Pez" meaning "fish", a play on "vegetarian"); tried and true street food vendors right outside the door (it's all about the "arepas"); and a trove of restaurants and music venues two blocks away (try "Mistura" with live salsa music, or "Gobernador", some of the best food in Colombia).
Next, the apartments themselves are modern, cheerful, all with ("you guessed it - Balconies), a roof top lounge area with views of the city's spires, and (a very welcome surprise) a low level of street noise during the night. The cooking facilities are rudimentary, but sufficient for us to turn some fresh pulpo (local octopus) bought at the huge Mercado de Basurto into a nice appetizer we consumed with a sunset cocktail on the roof.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Thanks for the terrific review!
I am so happy that you enjoyed the apartment, balcony, rooftop deck and, of course, the central location!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan G
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay at Balcones”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My stay was great. The location is perfect, being steps away from great restaurants, shops, and nightlife. It's a loud street so bring ear plugs if you have trouble sleeping. The interior is modern and there are great balconies. There were little issues along the way that were being fixed at the time. Hot water was unreliable but it's hot there anyway so cold showers aren't a problem and it seemed like they had fixed it by the time we left. Seems like a good value for Cartagena and I'd stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thanks for the thoughtful review! Since Los Balcones has just been renovated and has just started to be booked, there are a few bugs to work out. Water heaters are good now- we replaced the breakers with more capacity as they were too small. Everything is working now.
Thanks again Ryan and please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky M
1 review
“Excellent option for a stay within the walled city”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Cartagena old town is one of the most beautiful towns I have seen and as an European who has traveled extensively I have seen many. The Old City Calle Moneda & Balcones Apartments are an excellent option to make most of your visit to old town. They are part of a perfectly renovated old town building, spacious, super clean and with wonderful balconies and a spectacular roof top to enjoy old town views from your apartment. In short walking distance to the most exciting spots of the old town. Groceries, ATM and numerous bars and restaurants "around the corner". Host Benjamin as everybody else there are as nice and helpful as it gets. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2017
Thanks for the wonderful review, Ulrich! The central location is fantastic as is our incredible manager, Benjamin.
Thanks again and I hope you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven N
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip within the walled city of Cartegena was great.”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The two bedroom and two bathroom condo was great. Well maintained and decorated and the location was awesome. It served its purpose and then some. We would have rented the rooms with the balcony but we were very happy with our selection. Staying within the walled city was a great experience. Soaking up the authenticity of architecture, music/dance and history. Great restaurants all in walking distance from our condo/apt or anywhere within the walled city. The views from the wall were great. We thoroughly enjoyed this trip and accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: spacious, functional and great location
Liked least: air conditioning could have been a little better but it was tolerable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy D
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
“Excelente!”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

- Response rate from owner was very efficient from the start.
- The 1 bedroom apartment we rented was just as seen in the pictures. Spot on!
- Information on the property, tips and suggestions about the area, were all very helpful.
- The apartment manager, Henry, was brilliant! Always helpful and very professional.
- All amenities were within walking distance; coffee (whether it is Juan Valdez or the local guys selling coffee on the streets, fruits, breakfast, shopping, name it you might find it). Deb gave as much information on these which gave us a good head start. Henry also offered advice on alternative offerings, according to what type of 'local' experience you are looking for.
- Lively neighbourhood! You can just sit there on the balcony, have a beer or glass of wine and people watch. Enough entertainment right there.

Go out there and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You can get breakfast, fresh fruit, fresh coffee, you name it right on that block
Liked least: It was a short stay so no reason to complain about anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2015
Glad you like it! We love to sit on the balcony and people watch or get some exercise and walk all around the old city. Fun day or night. Come back soon! Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoMigow...
1 review
“Great location in the heart of the Old City”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The apartment is located in the Old City. It's possible to go to the majority of the touristic sites by foot (the Wall, Castillo de San Felipe, Torre del Reloj) and it's very close to the Plazas, where the best restaurants are. The apartment is very good, clean and pretty well decorated. Great value.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
We love the location too and enjoy walking all around the walled city. It is fun to ride bikes in the old city on Sundays. There is a good bike rental shop near us.
Come stay with us again soon! Best,Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing