We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Jewel of the Emerald City!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartagena, Cartagena District, Bolivar Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Katie R
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Jewel of the Emerald City!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed in the 1br apartment with my friend, sister, and mom, for 5 nights. We couldn't have asked for better accommodations! The apartment itself is equipped with everything you need, and had plenty of space even for the 4 of us. It is perfectly located within walking distance to everything inside the walls. For anything outside the walls -- taxis drove by frequently. Great working AC, large bathroom, comfortable pull-out couch, and a beautiful open-air kitchen (coffee machine and filters included!) The balcony was our favorite part - we spent every morning drinking our cafes and watching the city wake up one floor beneath us. The apartment manager - Henry - was probably the highlight of the entire rental experience. He provided us with INCREDIBLE suggestions on what to do in and out of the city during our short time, even sharing with us some of his personal tours around the area. He truly helped us make the most of our trip all the while making sure we had everything we needed. We will come back! And next time, we will stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Henry
Liked least: Power outage last day -- whole city not the apartment's fault!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
We love to people watch from the balcony too- coffee in the AM wine in the PM! The street is vibrant during the day and quiet at night-perfect!
Henry is our dear friend and is a treasure.
Come back again soon! Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quartknee...
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous apartment in ideal location”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first time using VRBO but I had such a great experience I would definitely use it in the future. The apartment that we stayed at looked just like the pictures and was decorated beautifully with nice paintings and furnishings. The apartment was very clean and everything that was needed was provided- dishes, towels, linens, etc. The whole check-in process was very easy and Henry, the property manager, was helpful and willing to assist with whatever we needed.
The apartment location was ideal and was walking distance from most things. It was close to a grocery store and plenty of restaurants and bars.
I would definitely stay at this apartment again and have recommended it to a friend who will be staying there in a couple of months. Such a great experience and trip! You should stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location - wonderful city”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

During our time in the wonderful city of Cartagena we stayed in both the 2 bedroom and studio apartments. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Having no window to the exterior, apart from a small window from the kitchen overlooking roofs and equipment was a little disconcerting, but the apartment is well designed to let in light from a skylight. There are airconditioners and ceiling fans in each room, and the bathrooms are well appointed. The decor is bland and inoffensive. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the 2 bedroom apartment very much.
We then moved to the "Studio apartment" - as the 2 bedroom was already booked by others for the remainder of our stay. Okay, it was a shock to move from a 2 bedroom to 1-roomed accommodation but really the description "studio" is a bit of a misnomer. Our understanding of "studio" accommodation is one room with cooking facilities, a bed and a sitting area. The studio here really had no cooking facilities, and no sitting area at all - with the exception of two bar stools on the small balcony. It is the size of a very small hotel room. We didn't unpack because there was no where really to put our things. The worse surprise, however, was the noise. The apartments are located on a busy shopping street, which is fantastic as you're right in the midst of it all, but unfortunately in the front "studio" apartment you also hear constant noise all day. One of the shops across the road flicks on their loud recording when the shop opens at 9am and it runs constantly ALL day ending only at 7pm. Then there's a moment's quiet before the taxis start tooting and night crowds start wandering down the street - this continues ALL night, and even running the aircon and fan could not drown out the noise. We were booked for four nights in the "studio": we stayed two. The studio may suit some people, but be prepared for a tiny and very noisy room.
The two bedroom accommodation is very comfortable, but of course much more expensive. Deb was very easy to deal with, but given I did explain that I was working while on my trip I was surprised she suggested the studio apartment to us. Henry - the manager - was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The wifi worked well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The two bedroom apartment was very good.
Liked least: The studio apartment was not comfortable at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2014
Julie- I am surprised by your review and to learn in your review you left early. This is the worst review I have received. The Studio apartment is the most popular of our 3 apartments in the old walled city. My husband and I stayed and worked in the Studio apartment for about 2 weeks last fall and will again in June. The term "Studio" apartment in the US ( my home) equals "efficiency" and is always a small place. I regret the 2 bedroom apartment was not available your entire stay and hence the move to the Studio as it is just down the hall and you agreed. I am glad the internet met your expectations and hope you had a fun and productive stay in Cartagena. Thanks, Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamRealM...
West Linn, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A home away from home in the Walled City of Cartagena!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

After a cruise we took several years ago stopped in Cartagena for the day, we knew a few hours into it we'd be back. And what more charming way to lodge in this romantic historic walled city than to stay in this two bedroom apartment on Calle de Moneda! My spouse and I rented the apartment with another couple and both us and our friends enjoyed the quiet oasis the apartment afforded us after satisfyingly long days wandering the city, snorkeling Isla Rosario, walking the walls, climbing the Fortress, touring the city's many amazing museums, shopping the city's bountiful markets and boutiques, taking romantic horse and carriage rides, eating some of the world's best gelato (sorry Italy!), and soaking in the architectural ambiance and rich colors of this magical city. The apartment itself is perfectly located for everything you'd ever want to do here, it's well outfitted, comfortably and elegantly decorated and air conditioned, has a well-appointed kitchen, uber-comfy beds, a greatly appreciated laundry facility and nicely working wifi, and the apartment manager Henry was helpful beyond description and pleasant to boot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every aspect of every day and every hour we stayed here!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2014Janic...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immaculate, lovely apartment”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Apartment is very modern with WiFi, Smart t.v. and reliable air conditioning. It is very well furnished. Working with the owner is easy, she is very responsive and prompt in her communications. The street is busy in day time, but quiet at night. Close to restaurants, shops and the wall. The building manager is wonderfully helpful. Take his walking tour of the City, it is good. Apartment is a great find. Does have a steep front steps if mobility is an issue. Has an adjoining studio that our cousins stayed in, so the one bedroom can be turned into a 2. We highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close it was to everything and it was in a safe neighborhood
Liked least: The noisy street outside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkilmurra...
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well Managed”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent a very comfortable Winter (11 Weeks) in the 1 bedroom Apt. The Apt is well equipped and we were pleased to find a smart TV which allowed us to transfer our Netflix account. The location is central to everything the Old City has to offer and the front balcony is perfect for people watching. Henry was incredibly helpful in meeting all our needs and I highly recommend taking his tour of the Old City.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xela_7
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodations in a great location in Cartagena”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are able to climb a flight of steps, this 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment is a great place. There is in addition, a comfortable living room (all three rooms have tvs) and a nice kitchen with basic furnishings and a few staples. It was all very clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable, showers were great. There's a shared washer/dryer. We had a small problem with the washer, which was tended to promptly. We were within walking distance of shops, restaurants, city center, transportation. This apt was not right on the street and was very quiet.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing