We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best meal in Cartagena”

Porton de Santo Domingo
Ranked #389 of 707 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My best meal in Cartagena”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm usually the type of traveler who likes to walk around a city like Cartagena and just find something that looks good, well I would advise you not to do that in Cartagena because although there are a lot of good restaurants there are also a lot of not so good restaurants. Most of my better meals came from restaurants that were not in the traveler happy plazas, it's hard to resist choosing a restaurant in a plaza because that usually gives such a great ambience but food quality matters too and the plaza restaurants in Cartagena are overpriced for what you get! Try one of the restaurants on the streets leading to the plazas and you will get a much better meal. Porton de Santo Domingo was my last real meal in Colombia before I left and I'm so glad we decided to try a restaurant that was not in a plaza because the food was so so good. The dining room was really romantic and well decorated the service was spectacular, which you don't get everywhere in Colombia. Start with the mushroom appetizer and then have the Cazuela de Mariscos, yum yum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shegan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Graet food lousy service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place has a great atmosphere, great food, but lousy service, when you go to a fancy place you expect a fancy service, at least, the staff has no praparation, they forget orders, they mix plates, they serve you on the fist side they can.

Also they run out of liquor, rum and kaluha¡¡¡¡¡

This does not mean they are rude, the thing is you can see they ignore the procedures or are un prepared.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paco711119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cuban food, we don't know?”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recommended by our nearby hotel, this restaurant did not disappoint. We were told that the restaurant featured Cuban cuisine. As we nave never been to Cuba, I cannot comment upon the authenticity of the menu, except to say that it offered unusual combinations of tastes and textures. Cuban food as offered at home in New York City is decidly different. My chicken entree had a sugary undercurrent. Other entrees also blended sweet with savory. Service was accommodating. And nearby tables filled with local families would indicate that this restaurant is a good venue for special occasions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fourhundred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tourist trap style of food in an otherwise very attractive set up right in the city centre. The place is beautiful, the food is not. Expensive, but then all restaurants in Cartagena are expensive, so that was not the biggest issue here

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Have an evening drink in the courtyard”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I agree the food is ok. This is coming from a chef. The live music and lovely courtyard, however, make this a lovely place to spend part of an evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trishindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porton de Santo Domingo also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Porton de Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing