We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern condo in historic area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Diego 974 Suites
Ranked #21 of 167 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for five nights in the 2 bedroom suite. This was perfect for our family of five. We travel quite a bit, and we have certain standards that must be met. San Diego 974 definitely met and exceeded our expectations. Everything was very clean, modern and tastefully decorated.
There is a large, fully stocked kitchen, modern bathrooms, 3 TV's . Most importantly though - SOFT BEDS! The air conditioning worked very well, which is a must for Cartagena. There was a washer and dryer just down the hall that was available to us. Our condo had a large wrap around patio with a couple of seating areas, some were in the shade.
We usually had the roof top pool to ourselves. It was very relaxing. However, there was not any drink service available. That was fine with us because we had brought our own soft-sided fold up cooler, we filled it with our own drinks and snacks. There are two EXITOS within walking distance of the condo. EXITO is the Colombian version of Walmart.
The location is excellent, in the heart of the historic area. There are several restaurants nearby, all within walking distance. I must advise you that the restaurants are a bit more expensive than you would expect. We went because of the historical significance of Cartagena, not for the beaches. Do not go for the beaches or you will be very disappointed. We hired a tour guide for a day, he spoke English and had a car that he drove us around in when necessary. I would highly recommend him. I believe his name was Duran Duran, we made arrangements through Janier at San Diego 974 suites. Janier was very helpful throughout our stay.
We also rented a boat for a day, we were able to enjoy private beaches that way.
I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in a two bedroom suite, i think on the third floor. it was in the back of the property. Pr...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raleigh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for San Diego 974 Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed three nights in a spacious Junior Suite. Everything was like new and well kept. The furnishings were modern and the air conditioning was strong which turned out to be very important in the sweltering heat of Cartagena. The only minor detraction was that the wifi signal was weak depending on where you were in the suite. Even though it is not a hotel, the suite was cleaned everyday and they provided some front desk type services. The staff is very professional and the managers assisted us with phone calls, directions and questions about the city. They took good care of us. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are closer to the front door and more convenient.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyFeet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Not sure if it is only me who stumbles upon beautifully built resort properties that clearly represents the overbuilding of the 2nd-home resort market that happened from the mid to late 2000s however, we stayed in a wonderful hotel (which really feels like a small luxury apartment building) in the old-city here in Cartagena.

San Diego Suites has about 35, very large (700sf to 1500sf (and larger) suites about ten minutes from the heart of the walled-city portion of Cartagena. Accessed from a large wooden door off of the street, one could never tell it is as large as it is. The rooms are spacious with full kitchens, plenty of A/C units, and upscale amenities.

The only drawback was that as with most overbuilt properties that were not sold off in the go-go years, there are areas of maintenance that the owners need to focus on such as....doors that don't close, spotty hot water, dishwashers that aren't secured to their under counter placement, very little interior decor (however, lotsa marble), poor lighting in the rooms.

All in all, is a great spot to stay, especially if you are from the US and accustomed to staying in properties that have more space than you need!

Room Tip: three levels of rooms - - ask for high floor as the hotel is surrounded by a wall and therefore bett...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr.RideDaWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We enjoyed every minute at the hotel. Great location, and a very comfortable and clean room.
Excellent service. Only one reccomendation: they need a first class concierge service!
I'm sure I willi come back to San Diego 974

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpserani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This Boutique hotel is located one block from the Santa Clara hotel, two block from the Exito supermarket, in the middle of the walled city, We talked to Ana Maria the manager and rented the junior suite, The rooms are very nice "Marble floors, nice leather furniture, Brand new appliances, Teak furniture on the balcony, Flat screens on the living room, and rooms, DVD player, wireless internet, Glass showers, Terrycloth bathrobes, , very nice and very quiet. The pictures on the site are accurate, and from my perspective I recommend this hotel, is quiet secure and upscale. The pool is small but the terrace is great for sun bathing.
All the staff was very helpful and was willing to help with everything, Their English is limited to none, However the manager Ana Maria is available to help with any request even if she is not in premises. There is no room service, but places very close by like La Cevicheria is two blocks away and they will deliver. Overall my stay was very nice and comfortable, and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Close to the Pool
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppapisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Célia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 155 in Cartagena
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
Hotel Charleston Santa Teresa
#16 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bovedas de Santa Clara Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego 974 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego 974 Suites

Address: Calle 39 del Campo Santo # 9-74, Cartagena 575, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Diego 974 Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The design of San Diego 974 Suites combines colonial and modern architecture, creating 13 Junior Suites, Suites and Master Suites with a contemporary environment in the midst of a place with centuries of history. Spaces of one, two and three bedrooms with kitchen, living room and terrace, fully furnished to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Diego 974 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing