We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Casa Venecia
Ranked #46 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed December 24, 2011

what was supposed to be a private room with a bathroom ended up being a room off the kitchen with a shared bathroom.
the kitchen smelled like curry the whole time. i'm off curry for a while now.
the fan in my room was either on super-high and very noisy or super-low and ineffective. for cartagena, this is brutal.
i should say anything about the bathroom because there was no water outside the walled city the entire time i was staying at this hostel.
there were a couple of taps with sun warmed water coming through in the courtyard.
if you timed it just right one of the showers worked for a little while in the morning, roughly 1/2 hour or so if you were lucky.
i was there for two night and three days, washed once.
couldn't flush the toilet, couldn't quite manage to wash my face properly, that trickle of shower felt like heaven.
having said that, the location is handy, and the staff are very nice. but once they called me my cab to the bus terminal, they kind of didn't really care what the hell happened considering the cab couldn't come all the way to the hostel and i had to go to the corner, which was fine, but there was no cab there.

Room Tip: stay inside the walled city, just in case there is a water issue again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picsoflilyblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris M, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

Good Night.
 
Dear

Thank your opinion calling our service, unfortunately their experience details that were not welcome in our hotel were evident.

Considered as a valuable contribution these details, for this reason we are committed to improve to offer a better service next stay.

Att.

Doris Moreno
Gerente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have been twice in Cartagena and I stayed both time in Hostal Casa Venecia. It really is a wonderful place!! It's cosy, the family atmosphere is relaxing, the place is very clean and the service is perfect. Hostal Casa Venecia is a great place to stay in the heart of this historic area of one of the most beautiful city I have ever been. I highly recommend it to everyone, and I plan to go back myself!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancoisLanthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris M, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes.


Estimado(a).
es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan a continuar trabajando duro para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hoteles. Nos encantará poderlo (a) recibir nuevamente en nuestro establecimiento.

Doris Moreno
gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank juan camilo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: O quarto privativo é uma boa pedida pra quem não quer compartilhar o banheiro com muitos (no máximo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Évelin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de abajo son las mejores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eltrexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Ignacio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Hostal Casa Venecia, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 215 in Cartagena
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#31 of 215 in Cartagena
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#18 of 215 in Cartagena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#8 of 215 in Cartagena
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Waldy Hostel
Mama Waldy Hostel
#78 of 215 in Cartagena
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#29 of 215 in Cartagena
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Venecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Venecia

Address: Calle Tripita y media 31-68 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $13 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Casa Venecia 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hostal Casa Venecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing