We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable hostel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #87 of 159 Cartagena B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hostel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here for two nights. Our room was clean and quiet (helped by the lack of any windows) with good air con and a decent shower. Definitely felt more like a hostel than a hotel as it claims. There were plenty good, cheap restaurants nearby and a lively nightlife as it seemed to be the backpackers' area of town.
Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dephill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    19
    7
    15
See reviews for
9
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South America
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Friendly, good value place with lots of character - it's converted from an old colonial style house with a higgledy piggledy layout - although not unpleasant, it means few rooms get natural light, but this is common in old colonial houses. There is wifi, but you sometimes have to leave your room and go into one of the common areas (which are very nice) to get a good reception. It is on an up and coming, slightly Bohemian street with lots of other hostels and bars and cafes - the steet has lots of character, but it is a little rougher than the historic walled centre, which is 5-10 minutes walk away. I paid about £28 or $43 for an air-conditioned double room, with a very basic breakfast. The only negatives were the breakfast was a little too basic and I got bitten by insects during the night - mosquitoes I presume - and water kept building up on the air conditioning unit and blowing a fine spray on my face. If you've got a big budget, stay in a luxury place in the old historic centre, but otherwise you can't go far wrong with San Roque.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning. Cartagena gets very humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was such a gem. Not only was it lovely but it was also quite cheap as well. The staff were lovely and although they didn’t speak English they were most helpful when we tried to ask for information or additional blankets with our Spanglish. They also booked our transport to take us to Santa Marta. The room was a good size with lovely furnishings and was very clean. It was a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of Cartagena. Breakfast was simple but adequate. My only negative comment was there was building work going on in the room next to us and it was sometimes quite loud. This wasn’t a problem for us though as we had ear plugs.

Room Tip: There isn't any hot water however I was so hot that I found it refreshing. Also our room was los...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Small rooms but clean and comfortable if you have one with aircon, no windows so no natural ligth.
Walking distance to the Walled city, there are cheaper options close there but in the hot Cartagena the aircon is the difference.
Breakfast was very basic but you can go to many places near the hotel for cheap eats.

Room Tip: Choose ine with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights, the Staff was always super friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was always fresh and with tons of coffee to spare.

The hotel is in a great location, and not as loud as others. This is not a party hostal / hotel so if you are looking for a good nights sleep, Hotel San Roque is the palce for you.

Room Tip: A very short walk from the closest Supermarket. There is a communal kitchen in the hotel. No parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a double room which was rather spacious, though not all of them were.
We also haggled to get the price down a little.
Breakfast was good.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Laundry service was excellent!
Located at the end of Gatsemini, a little far from the center.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odedfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been staying at San Roque now for 5 days after moving from Hostal Real. We popped into every hostel on Calle Media Luna (there are many!) to check prices and rooms and San Roque and Mamallena were the stand outs for the price.

As we are trying to keep to a budget we went for the cheapest, smallest private room $44,000 per night with fan and thought we would upgrade to aircon if need be, but we haven't needed to.

Breakfast is included each day including cornflakes, yoghurt, juice, bread and arepa con huevos (deep fried pastries with an egg in the middle) and there are some nice airy living spaces on each level with good Wifi access.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and have nice touches and better linen than many places we have stayed.

The kitchen is small but usable, and the family and staff are seriously friendly and helpful.

If I came back I would definitely stay here or at Mamallena's.

Room Tip: For our little room (Las Puntales) my tip is to use a mosquito plug at night. If you have an air-con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Roman
Casa Roman
#51 of 166 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leyendas del Mar
Hotel Leyendas del Mar
#17 of 166 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republica Cartagena
Republica Cartagena
#88 of 166 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Claustro Hotel House
El Claustro Hotel House
#99 of 159 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Alba Hotel Boutique
Casa de Alba Hotel Boutique
#28 of 159 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#2 of 166 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Property: Hotel San Roque
Address: Calle de la Media Luna No. 10C - 48 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Roque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing