We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in Cartagena”
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #102 of 171 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel is on calle Media luna ,very close to Castle San Fellipe.In the area you can find a lot of small restaurants and bars ,where you can enjoy nice and cheap meal.The hotel is located very close to old city ,too.Only 10 min. walk to "Clock Tower"(Torre de Reloj).Staff are very helpful ,rooms are clean with good air -condition and tv.They serve the continental breakfast with good coffe every day with the price of the room.Facilities in kitchen let you cook your dinner ,if you don't have time to eat in the city.Big grocery market is only 5-10 min. away.
In hotel you can meet a lot of people from other countries and make a new friends.Go and see it on your own!And have a nice time!

Room Tip: We stay on the last floor and the room was ok.The window was on the street side ,so you can hear som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1puszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Hotel is located in a part of town that has been renovated. I was hesitant at first when I made the reservation because the price seemed "too good to be true" as hotels in Cartagena are extremely expensive. Very convenient to all the attractions. Excellent air conditioning (which is a must in Cartagena in April). Very helpful staff. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get a room with A/C as they do offer some with fan at a lower rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mile13Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I think this "hotel" is off its game a bit, there are much better choices in the same street for less money or far superior places for a few pesos more.

The staff were all charming without exception, but oddly they removed both my used and clean towels on the second day and sent all the hotels towels to the laundry leaving me (and the rest of the hotel) without any clean towels. Odd and quirky but not devastating.

My room didn't have a window, which meant it never got light, which in turn meant I didn't wake up. Probably worth clarifying when booking here that your room will have some natural light.

On the positive side, the air con worked just great and like I said, the staff were all top notch. It just should have been a few $$ less for the standard of accommodation that it offers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We originally booked here for three nights and ended up staying another seven! We had the Magdalena Room - which was a newly renovated triple which was great. New cool AC, comfortable bed, new sheets, small but modern and clean ensuite.

The staff here are great and very helpful. As we stayed here prior to Xmas is was fully decorated with lights, xmas trees, ornamanets and looked great. The owners daughter had a gorgeous birthday party while we were here, and we also got coke and cake!

Location is great, very close to the castle San Fellpe, lots of restaurants, bars and squares.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed here for our first three nights in Cartagena and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was
it was very good value for the price; for a double room with air con.
We were in the top floor. No windows, but so no noise from outside.

The hotel is very well located and the staff really really helpful. One other awesome good point for this hotel: The front manager speaks English what is really not usual for Colombia and really helpful for the first days.@

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ialexandrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was - it was very good value for the price we paid for a double room with air con. The room was really big - on the top floor, with a table and chairs, spare bed and wardrobe. The air con worked fine - a real blessing as its so hot and humid in Cartagena. It was just right for us - short walk to the old town, several bars and little restaurants on the same street and breakfast also included. English speaking staff as well which is always handy for anyone like us whose Spanish isn´t up to scratch!

Room Tip: We were shown a few rooms - ours was much bigger than some of the others, but all seemed a reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Id stayed at the hostels before in the area but this was my first time at San Roque.
we arrived at 1am and the staff were very friendly.
room had good aircon, basic but clean bath, cable Tv, cold water but in cartagena thats ok.

we found the people there lovely and the hotel very quiet, didnt really see much of the other guests although we were told they were full and I do believe them.

good place if you want privacy and a comfortable place to sleep.

didn't like being so far down at the end of street as the area isn't the nicest and there are a few wierdos around

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustyroads11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pueblito Playa
Hotel Pueblito Playa
#62 of 158 in Cartagena
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Pedregal
Hotel El Pedregal
#59 of 171 in Cartagena
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Claustro Hotel House
El Claustro Hotel House
#109 of 171 in Cartagena
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Auaecoco
Hotel Auaecoco
#82 of 171 in Cartagena
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Carmen
Hotel Casa Carmen
#22 of 171 in Cartagena
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pachamama Hostel
Pachamama Hostel
#21 of 221 in Cartagena
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Address: Calle de La Media Luna 10c - 48 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $28 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Roque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing