We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better value in the same area”
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #83 of 156 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Bogotá
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better value in the same area”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I think this "hotel" is off its game a bit, there are much better choices in the same street for less money or far superior places for a few pesos more.

The staff were all charming without exception, but oddly they removed both my used and clean towels on the second day and sent all the hotels towels to the laundry leaving me (and the rest of the hotel) without any clean towels. Odd and quirky but not devastating.

My room didn't have a window, which meant it never got light, which in turn meant I didn't wake up. Probably worth clarifying when booking here that your room will have some natural light.

On the positive side, the air con worked just great and like I said, the staff were all top notch. It just should have been a few $$ less for the standard of accommodation that it offers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    19
    7
    15
See reviews for
9
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We originally booked here for three nights and ended up staying another seven! We had the Magdalena Room - which was a newly renovated triple which was great. New cool AC, comfortable bed, new sheets, small but modern and clean ensuite.

The staff here are great and very helpful. As we stayed here prior to Xmas is was fully decorated with lights, xmas trees, ornamanets and looked great. The owners daughter had a gorgeous birthday party while we were here, and we also got coke and cake!

Location is great, very close to the castle San Fellpe, lots of restaurants, bars and squares.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnolet, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed here for our first three nights in Cartagena and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was
it was very good value for the price; for a double room with air con.
We were in the top floor. No windows, but so no noise from outside.

The hotel is very well located and the staff really really helpful. One other awesome good point for this hotel: The front manager speaks English what is really not usual for Colombia and really helpful for the first days.@

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ialexandrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was - it was very good value for the price we paid for a double room with air con. The room was really big - on the top floor, with a table and chairs, spare bed and wardrobe. The air con worked fine - a real blessing as its so hot and humid in Cartagena. It was just right for us - short walk to the old town, several bars and little restaurants on the same street and breakfast also included. English speaking staff as well which is always handy for anyone like us whose Spanish isn´t up to scratch!

Room Tip: We were shown a few rooms - ours was much bigger than some of the others, but all seemed a reasonabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Id stayed at the hostels before in the area but this was my first time at San Roque.
we arrived at 1am and the staff were very friendly.
room had good aircon, basic but clean bath, cable Tv, cold water but in cartagena thats ok.

we found the people there lovely and the hotel very quiet, didnt really see much of the other guests although we were told they were full and I do believe them.

good place if you want privacy and a comfortable place to sleep.

didn't like being so far down at the end of street as the area isn't the nicest and there are a few wierdos around

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyroads11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I stayed in a single room Hablon as I recall. It was the closest I have experienced to staying in a coffin , tiny with no natural light. Dirty bathroom of tacky quality even by Colombian standards. It was so hot the fan had to be on Max all the time. I found the staff thoroughly unhelpful. The main casa entrance requires the opening of a steel cage. So much for the owners perception of risk and as for escape if there were to be a fire, there would not be an escape.

Luckily there are many better place nearby at similar prices. After one night I left as quickly as I could. I shared my displeasure with staff who did not give a fig.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imxxnantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a great stay here. The staff were super friendly and have a mini 'travel' centre (one lady!) in the reception who organised bus tickets, a boat trip to Playa Blanca (which I would not go to incidentally) and a trip to the min Volcano. The rooms are fine, nothing too swish but clean and we had plenty of space (3 bed room). Location is also excellent as it is just 8 min to reach the old city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenny500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Pedro Romero
Hotel Casa Pedro Romero
#35 of 179 in Cartagena
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mintaka Hotel & Lounge
Mintaka Hotel & Lounge
#30 of 156 in Cartagena
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#7 of 179 in Cartagena
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#4 of 156 in Cartagena
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Roman
Casa Roman
#68 of 179 in Cartagena
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Pedregal
Hotel El Pedregal
#49 of 156 in Cartagena
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Property: Hotel San Roque
Address: Calle de La Media Luna 10c - 48 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Roque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing