We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Beautiful, Romantic--Great Stay!”
Review of Karmairi Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karmairi Hotel Spa
Ranked #64 of 156 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the Karmairi after several humid and overwhelming days in Cartagena's old city, and we're so glad we did! The hotel was beautiful--peaceful, intimate, unpretentious, and extremely relaxing. Our second floor room was spacious, quiet, and had the most comfortable bed of anywhere we stayed in Colombia. The pool deck had lovely ocean views and friendly staff who would bring us delicious fresh squeezed juices and snacks at the push of a button. We also enjoyed a terrific aromatherapy massage in a palm-thatched hut.

Meals, drinks, and spa services at the hotel were a bit expensive by Colombian standards, but reasonable by U.S. standards and I think the quality was worth it.

Highly recommend as a relaxing romantic getaway!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for taking time and leave a review, for us is very important you opinion as we can know if need to improve our service or not.

We are happyyou spent a quality time with us and you like all our hotel and services. Karmairi hotel spa is a place for relaxing and be away of the regular life.

We hope to have you again soon and enjoy even more your stay here.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 377 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed the first week of August , the hotel is a really nice place to rest and stay away from everything, the rooms are nice and clean, the service and the people is very good, the food is excellent Some things to improve

1, Service during the weekend was very slow constantly the waiters forgot our orders, lunch took very long and I think the hotel should consider what is the capacity for day guests.

2. The transport service to Cartagena could be more often as the van is available, only three times a day is quite limited and the taxi is quite expensive.

3. Breakfast becomes boring after some days there should be more options

4. Spa prices are quite high

In general we had a great time I would definitively recommended it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anarser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Hi,
First of all for staying at Karmairi hotel spa, for us is very important your opinions as we already sent your recommendations to all departments you talked about.

We already implement a new system for the restaurant and bar in order to improve the service so we believe it won’t happen again. The service is one of our main goals to improve so, thank you for your recommendation.

About the transport we have 3 times a day as you say, but you can use our vans at any times for a cheaper price as the regular taxis, so we believe is a good option for our guests.

We already sent your recommendation regarding breakfast, is the first time someone says this but we definitely do something about it in order to have all our guests very happy.

Once again thank you for staying at our hotel and we hope you had a great time. Hope to have you here soon.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We´ve stayed in Karmairi Hotel Spa for one week during our honey moon in May 2012, the hotel was everything we expected!

The most important thing for us, was to find a place where we could stay out of the noisy city, and that was Karmairi!

The staff was really friendly and ready to help in every situation, the pool area was lovely and the room confortable! This was really a fantastic hotel for a reasonable price.

Actually a really nice surprise to find places like this hotel, that keep what they are promising

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi,

We are glad you enjoyed your honey moon and had a great time. Altough we are quite far from Cartagena we offer free transfer from/to the city, so we can make your stay a ver relaxing time away from the city.

The staff is fully commited with the service and we are improving every single day, your review and our guestes review make this possible.

We hope to have you here again and make your stay the most pleasant time in your life.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here and also Casa Lola and I'm dumbfounded that this hotel has a higher score on Tripadvisor. The general decor is nice, but not chic, and the bathrooms had some privacy issues (no door by our toilet) and overall the room felt muggy and dark. The pool is reasonably nice and is the best thing the hotel has going for it, and this and the food are what earned this place the stars from us instead of one. The beach nearby is dirty, but it's nice to see the locals hanging out, so I recommend it for a walk but not for lounging.

The food at the hotel was good and the waiter was very nice, but the rest of the staff at the hotel was comically bad. We had to ask 8 times for them to call us a reservation at a Cartagena restaurant for the following day for our stay in the city, and even though the concierge wasn't doing anything at all whenever we asked them to call they kept telling us "I'll call later when I get around to it." When we finally got frustrated and insisted that they call now or let us use the phone so we could call ourselves they eventually called and booked our table, but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told that someone from the hotel called back later and cancelled the reservation so they gave our table to someone else!!! So we had to wait an hour for a table. Again, when we were leaving the Karmairi we had trouble with the concierge since even though they knew for over 24 hours that we had to leave at a specific time they didn't get around to calling the taxi in time and we wound up simply sharing a car with another guest headed to the airport since they arranged the taxi independently.

One other complaint - the hotel staff invites their friends to party with them at the hotel once the guests go to sleep, which I don't object to in principle, but these friends spend the night sleeping on the lounges as their beds and decide to continue sleeping there while hungover the next morning. It doesn't feel like paradise when you go to the pool's lounge in the morning and there's someone hungover sleeping right beside you in street clothes and smells like booze.

Do not stay here. There are so many lovely hotels in Cartagena so it's a waste of a vacation to stay here.

Room Tip: just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Online Marketing Director at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Hi,
First of all we would like to apologize about all the inconveniences you had. Relating the privacy issues we solved that five (5) months ago and the only room that we had that problem now is working according all our standards. About the reservation we would like to know more about this issue, as we take very serious the customer service and to be honest is the first time we hear this, so we would like to track this problem ASAP. You are more than welcome to contact us in order to know more about this.

About the issue for the transport to the airport we have our own van for this purpose, we only use taxi services to transport our guests to/from the old city, and we only have a few taxis that we trust on them. As I said for the airport we use the hotel van, so we do not understand what happened here.
We would like to know also more information about the party you said, as all our staff leaves the premises by 11 pm. The only staff stays here is the concierge and the security guys. We are handling this issue internally and we are not let pass this issue, as you said it does not feel like paradise, but believe me we are taking very serious this event.

As we said at the beginning we really apologize about the inconvenience, we hope you help us with more information about all the issues we need to know more about it, and we really hope you can come and see for yourself that we solved all the issues more than five months ago.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Karmairi was beautiful, relaxing, right on the beach and run by friendly, happy staff. The food was good, drinks tasty and the spa treatments wonderful (GBP90 for 2 hours). Don't stay here if you're looking to in the middle of the action - it's a 25 min (free hotel-provided) trip to the city. Do stay here if you want to be within easy reach of the city whilst chilling out by the pool, on the beach and sunbathing. My partner and I loved every minute of our stay there and I found it good value when compared to the more expensive options in the city.

Room Tip: The only ones with views of the sea are the most expensive ones. Mid-range rooms have balconies to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamharrison31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi,

We are glad you enjoyed our beach and our view. Our staff is always pleased in serving you and make your stay the best experience in your life.

We hope to have you here again and be part of your life any time you want.

Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A really nice hotel in a peaceful place with a small pool and sea front spoilt by its management and pricing policy.
We arrived and were given a room right above reception. We asked to move to a quieter room and were told we could if we waited an hour for the only other available room to be cleaned. We did but during that day and the next we worked out that there were only 3 rooms occupied. Why were they so awkward?
Lovely, long, quiet beach to walk on, which we did, despite the receptionist initially telling us not to, as it might be dangerous.
The food was very good, but expensive. The restaurant was always empty (us and another table occupied both nights).
Service friendly, but the spa treatments seemed expensive by Colombian standards (€75 for a facial).
At the end of the stay we were going to a hotel in Cartagena Old Town. Reception offered to take us there in the mini-bus if we stayed until 3 pm (15 minute ride). We did, eating lunch (with only one other table occupied in the restaurant). At 3 pm reception told us that they could not take us “because they had other clients” and they would order a taxi. After a big argument they took us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul7777000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hi,

First of all, thank you very mucho for your review. We really appreciate all you said and we are now investigating the issue.

Sometimes we look after our guests and try to give them advices in terms of the area so you can have the best time at our hotel.

We sorry about the inconveniences but at the same time we are glad you liked our hotel. We try to improve all the time all our services as we are trying to give the best service in Cartagena.

Hope to have you here soon and see our improvements in all our services

Have a nice day.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would say this offered the best value in terms of relaxation and access to Cartagena's walled city. It is a good 30 minutes from Cartagena by car, but Karmairi provided a free shuttle to Puerta del Reloj (the clocktower) up to 3x per day (10 AM, 3 PM, 9 PM). Insects generally kept out if you did not leave the room light on.

The pool was nice, though small. The beach is similar in consistency to Daytona Beach, Florida (very hard), but this makes it easier to walk on. There are very few people on the beach, so feels very private and secluded. The breakfast is complementary and they can cook to order (eggs, toast, fruit plates, coffee, drinks).

If you are getting a taxi on your own it is about 35,000 pesos each way to the airport or downtown Cartagena. The host, Omar is very friendly and assisted us with a lot of requests on the whole trip. Overall a good time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashmunygofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Karmairi Hotel Spa is commited with all the guests in terms of making the hotel the best space for relaxation.

We are also happy our staff help you in your stay and he hope to have you here again.

Karmairi Hotel Spa is waitting for you any time you want.

Sincerely
Andres Lesmes
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Kohsamui
Kohsamui
#106 of 156 in Cartagena
155 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 156 in Cartagena
1,909 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
#21 of 156 in Cartagena
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Occidental Cartagena
Occidental Cartagena
#49 of 156 in Cartagena
1,224 reviews
7.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 156 in Cartagena
440 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#66 of 156 in Cartagena
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmairi Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmairi Hotel Spa

Address: Km 3 Via Manzanillo Del Mar, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:5 star — Karmairi Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Using our main resource, water, Karmairi Spa show a comfortable space full of relaxation and healthiness, where our guests can find themselves and enjoy Cartagena. Come and enjoy our private beach and all the spaces that Karmairi Hotel Spa has for you. Enjoy the Caribbean in Colombia with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karmairi Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmairi Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing