We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in colombia”
Review of Karmairi Hotel Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karmairi Hotel Spa
Ranked #64 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel: it is 20-30 minutes outside cartegena, depending on traffic. Typical cab fare is 30,000 pesos, about 16 USD. Rooms are very nice and comfortable beds. Service is good but limited English speakers. There was 1 or 2 people at the front desk who spoke good English and were very helpful making reservations for outings and transportation for us. We felt very safe at this hotel. It is very small so most of the time we had the pool to ourselves. It was more busy on the weekend. The only negative about the rooms was there is no door for the bathroom or shower curtain.

Pool and beach: very quiet and relaxing. No fighting for space on chairs or lounges, there are plenty for the limited guests. The two hot tubs are very private. The beach is pretty empty and far enough away from town that there are almost no locals trying to sell you stuff on the Beach.

Didn't use the spa.
The hotel provides a shuttle into town 3 times a day. Cab drivers don't know how to get to this hotel so make sure to take directions written out with you. The hotel has a card with a map on it. Cab drivers charge anywhere from 30-50k pesos to take you home so you may have to negotiate.

While there ask the front desk to book you a trip to Isla de Encanto for the day.

Room Tip: The main building is the neatest. There are 4 rooms in the back building that are not in as good of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 377 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked this hotel for a weekend away from kids and any reminders of work. We were initially drawn in by the idea of a spa with a beach. What we found was an exclusive hotel, with great rates by Cartagena standards, an amazing staff, focused on making you feel comfortable (they even fixed the jacuzzi with romantic lighting for a moonlight date). The installations are not only very clean but also show great taste.
Breakfast is not their strong suit, although their kitchen menu is incredible for lunch and dinner.
The hotel is away from Cartagena, but they have transfer services three times a day included in the price, so you can go into the city for dinner, drinks and tourism if you want and escape back to the hotel for R&R.
Great experience for couples without children. Would choose it again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dossma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmairi, Director Internet Marketing at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Hi,

First of all we would like to say that we are very happy you spent an amazing weekend in hour hotel. Our kitchen staff really appreciate your review about the breakfast and they will work hard in order to improve the menu and service.

We hope we can have you again in our hotel and share more good moments with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed recently for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment in peace and quiet in idyllic surroundings. Gorgeous hotel with fantastic decor, lush garden overlooking the sea. The pool/garden area is very relaxing as this hotel is only for over-15s. The spa is fantastic and the staff are very friendly. Restaurant serves fresh local produce, with an emphasis on maintain a healthy/balanced diet. Everything we ate was delicious, including the breakfast. Drinks are also highly recommended, including the complementary "Azul" welcome cocktail.
Although the hotel is 15-20 mins from downtown Cartagena, they provide free shuttles to and from town/airport at convenient times throughout the day. One drawback is the beach, although the hotel has beach access the beach is not the best beach in the world, although the pool and garden area on the hotel premises more than make up for this! Rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated.

Highly recommended for couples and/or small groups wishing to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city for a night or two for some pampering.

Room Tip: Book online, it's very easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank h_russell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Cartagena hotels can be expensive, and for anyone looking for a beach vacation - Cartagena is not an ideal destination, which is a shame because the nightlife and the old town are so terrific. However the Karmairi hotel, which only opened 4 months ago - may change that for travelers to Cartagena. It isn't listed in any of the guides and has almost no reviews online, perhaps because it's so new - but we took a gamble and booked it anyway. Karmairi is 15 minutes drive north of the city and positioned on a curved beach bay. The hotel is stunning and stylishly decorated, set on the beach with a great little pool and lots of comfy sun loungers, sofas and day beds and bougainvillia everywhere. It's amazingly relaxing and quiet, and offers tons of spa treatments in little bamboo huts. There's a great bar and restaurant with terrific food and some of the best drinks I've ever had. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and relaxing. The rooms are beautifully done with lots of teak and stylish touches, super comfy beds and cable tv. There's a free shuttle several times a day and night into cartagena. Cartagena actually can get a bit claustrophobic so it's almost nicer to stay out of it somewhere super relaxing and pretty and have easy access to the city - so definitely consider booking the karmairi on a trip to cartagena. It's also amazingly reasonably priced for what you get. This will for sure start cropping up soon on hip hotels and other sites and books like it so come before it gets overrun! NOT for families - this is really a small resort/ spa for couples and singles so not ideal for people with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MINOU8977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que tienen vista al mar obviamente cuestan más. Mi habitación no tenía vista a ning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroVelezV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Kohsamui
Kohsamui
#111 of 157 in Cartagena
156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 157 in Cartagena
1,931 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
#14 of 157 in Cartagena
227 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#65 of 157 in Cartagena
175 reviews
7.3 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 157 in Cartagena
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmairi Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmairi Hotel Spa

Address: Km 3 Via Manzanillo Del Mar, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Hotel Class:5 star — Karmairi Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Using our main resource, water, Karmairi Spa show a comfortable space full of relaxation and healthiness, where our guests can find themselves and enjoy Cartagena. Come and enjoy our private beach and all the spaces that Karmairi Hotel Spa has for you. Enjoy the Caribbean in Colombia with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Karmairi Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmairi Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing