We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is in the funky and energetic part of town. Once you walk in it is an oasis. Large, clean, modern rooms with lovely bathrooms and comfortable beds. The rooftop terrace is straight out of a design magazine. Although the pool is small, it is lovely to cool off from the heat. An absolute delight.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are not ideal. The second floor rooms are dreamy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan a continuar trabajando duro para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hoteles. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en nuestro establecimiento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 500 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just that. Very upscale in Getsemani with just a short walk to the Old City. Very clean with a great breakfast. I had only two small issues: 1. The maid service was a bit sloppy. Our room was not made up until very late in the day. 2. Noisy guests which is not really the hotel's fault. BTW, the noisy guests were Americans !! All-in-all a very nice hotel and a great value.

Room Tip: 101 is very close to the lobby and probably the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P598738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan a continuar trabajando duro para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hoteles. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en nuestro establecimiento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Because Cartagena is a pretty touristy and therefore expensive city, I think this hotel is probably pretty good value. The room was very nice - the bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked well. The shower was excellent. The breakfast was good. The pools weren't very nice, but it didn't really matter because we didn't want to spend much time at the hotel when we had a beautiful city to explore. The staff here was fine, but not exceptional - no complaints whatsoever, but not memorable either. The neighborhood is outside of the old city, but has a ton of people walking around. You will feel perfectly safe if you are used to traveling in developing countries. My main complaint about this place is the noise. The walls are extremely thin. Although the other guests were quiet, the speaker in the pool area was above our room and I could hear the music at all times it was on. As I said, we didn't spend much time in our room, and the speaker was not on at night, so this wasn't a huge deal, but it did annoy me when I was trying to relax in the evening. In the hotel's defense, I didn't complain about it, so it is very possible they would have moved me or turned the music off, had I asked. I would tell a friend to stay here if they asked, but I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend it. That said, my sense is that it may be a very good value for this city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado clientes Consideramos su comentario muy valioso y como un buen aporte para la mejora continua, fue un placer haberlo atendido y esperamos contar con su pronta visita para tener el gusto de atenderlo, en esta su casa Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is a great find. The rooms are very upscale and well maintained. The staff is amazing, and incredibly helpful. The only down side is that it is a about a 5-10 min walk from the main old city area but it is in a pretty cool neighborhood on its own - especially for night life.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room that doesn't look out on the street if you want to ensure it stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente Es para nosotros agradable leer su comentario, que da cuentas al deber cumplido, su calificación nos motiva a continuar trabajando arduamente para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hotel. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en Casa Canabal, su casa en Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

In Short:
Peaceful and stylish luxury.
Excellent room (208) - comfy bed/linens, powerful A/C, strong, hot shower. High ceilings but only one window.
Wonderful rooftop - smallish shallow pool. Comfy lounge chairs/pillows, shaded sofas, bar service, spa.
Hotel - Friendly service, good WiFi everywhere, free bicycles.
Tips - have breakfast on rooftop. Try arepas. Use the free bicycles. Try Getsemani restaurants on Calle de Tripita y Media (un-touristy)

Us: We are a male gay couple in their 50’s from NYC. We wanted a quick, 4-day winter getaway in Jan 2014

Summary:
We booked Casa Canabal (CC) after reading “Excellent” ratings on TA. Verdict: CC deserved all the rave reviews it’s received. It’s stylish, lush, elegant and well-maintained. The staff was friendly if a bit lacking for customers. We used the rooftop pool/lounge area a lot. We ordered breakfast one morning on the rooftop (normally served in the ground floor restaurant) and had cocktails throughout the afternoon on the roof ordered from a staff member. The stairs to the roof were steps from our room and we had the roof totally to ourselves when we climbed in the pool after dinner in the moonlit nights. Soothing music played softly and inconspicuously from speakers behind plants. One especially hot, steamy day we watched two movies on satellite TV snuggled in our comfortably crisp bed and feeling ever so slightly guilty for cranking up the A/C. We loved the roomy shower.

Details:
We arrived ~11 AM and were greeted with iced fresh fruit drinks. Enrique, the manager, offered us two bed combo choices, then took us up to our room immediately.

Our second-floor room (208) was a superior double ($159/nite booking.com). It was stylish and contemporary with a king bed, no windows (not so bad) and a spacious, beige-granite bathroom with 4’x4’ waterfall shower and a skylight above. The bed was really comfortable and had nice linens. The A/C was powerful and the WiFi was strong. Quibbles - clothes hanging space was skimpy, maybe 2.5’. There were only two towel hooks in the bathroom. A fan just outside the shower skylight glass was constantly audible but not too annoying.

CC, though elegant, seemed mostly empty when we stayed there. We chatted with a few young guest couples from the U.S. from time to time, but mostly we only saw staff - manager, cleaning, waiters, and young female massage therapists. The spa massage girls seemed to have no clients the entire time we were there, mostly b/c CC wasn’t very full and the youngish guests likely didn’t fancy massages. During the first two days, the spa girls kept asking us if we wanted massages (we didn’t) almost to the point of pestering us. They were pretty and friendly, but just seemed a bit desperate for business.

Breakfast was the standard sliced fruit plate, basket of rolls and your choice of eggs. My favorite item was the arepas. Their version was a corn pancake with a scoop of ground meat and an egg, wrapped in a thin crust and deep-fried - yumm!

Getsemani is a working-class neighborhood, with trucks, taxis, cars, motorbikes and handcarts vying with workers, single vendors, families, and feral cats and dogs on the narrow, crowded streets. There are lot of hostels in the area and backpackers populate some of the bars along with the locals at night. The street that CC is on, Calle 10 on the map but signed “Calle de Tripita y Media,” is busy at night and we never felt apprehensive but then we are two guys.

You can walk to the San Diego section in about 5 minutes by crossing the busy Avenidas Daniel Lemaitre and Bias de Lezo/Venezuela. The clock tower, gateway to Central is 10 minutes in a different direction. We didn't feel far away from the "action." We actually liked the cheaper, scruffier, less touristy Getsemani; it felt like “real” Cartagena. And, from the crowded, noisy Getsemani streets, once you walk through CC’s thick, dark wooden doors you step into a quiet and elegant lobby of Casa Canabal. It seems instantly like another world and it’s blissful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ScottKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente Es para nosotros agradable leer su comentario, que da cuentas al deber cumplido, su calificación nos motiva a continuar trabajando arduamente para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hotel. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en Casa Canabal, su casa en Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were greeted by the Front Desk then quickly by the Manager of the Hotel. He let us know that they were overbooked but he immediately bought us a great lunch in their restaurant, put us on a cab paid by him to another more expensive hotel for one night then bringing us back and putting us on a two floor suite. This was all paid by them.

There is only one word that describes this: Wow!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Estimado cliente Es para nosotros agradable leer su comentario, que da cuentas al deber cumplido, su calificación nos motiva a continuar trabajando arduamente para que la experiencia de clientes como usted sea grata y placentera en el hotel. Nos encantará poderlo recibir nuevamente en Casa Canabal, su casa en Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Walk through the big wooden doors off of a busy side street in bustling Getsemani and be transported into a lovely, calm hotel with staff who are genuinely warm and helpful.

Room was perfect for us - no windows to the outside meant it was cool and peaceful (which for us was perfect). Great aircon / room fan and comfy bed. Plus a powerful hot shower. Good breakfast. Roof-top terrace with small shallow pool to cool off in was heavenly - lots of room, nicely landscaped and tranquil.

Location was great - 5 min walk to clock tower (main entrance to walled part of the city) and in a lively area with lots of hotels, hostels, bars and convenience shops. Never felt unsafe as there were always people about.

Our flight out was 9.30pm so it was a huge help to be allowed to keep our room until 6pm at no extra charge (although we understand this was because the hotel wasn't too busy) - this allowed us a morning on the roof terrace, a shower and a siesta which put us in a better position to cope with the hefty overnight travelling which we had lined up.

Can't compliment the staff enough - felt genuinely welcomed. Staff and management should be proud of a smoothly run hotel with a personal feel to it.

Room Tip: We were pleased with a ground floor room with no window to the outside which no doubt helped with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por escribir su valioso comentario, para nosotros ha sido un placer haberlos atendido y es de mucha gratificación para nosotros recibir comentarios como el suyo los cuales nos motivan día a día seguir trabajando diariamente para hacer sus estadías inolvidables, esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente para tener el gusto de atenderlos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.4 mi away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle Tripita Y Media Cra 10. # 31-39, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $107 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canabal House Hotel is located in the traditional Gethsemane district, 10 minutes from Rafael Nunez airport and steps from the convention center of the city. Our policy of personal customer service is especially designed for you and where we hope to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We have 18 rooms; Standard rhythms, Superior and Suites. You can also enjoy fine dining in our restaurant, created with local ingredients by our chefs. Disconnect will take pleasure in the world in the Spa, through its rituals, relax in the ambience of the Mirador Terrace and be tempted by our menu of cocktails and spirits at the Bar Lounge. Spaces that lead to know the city of Cartagena de Indias, declared by UNESCO Cultural Heritage and Historic Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing