We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a small charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Ranked #59 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly a small charming hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel. It's not flawless, as I'll explain further, but it is certainly an excellent place to stay. We were pleasantly surprised by the free airport transfer, and were immediately offered welcome drinks. Unfortunately, we had to move out of our first room due to a bug problem in the bed. While that was certainly unpleasant to experience, I'm willing to believe that was a one-off issue. These things happen, especially in tropical climates. The hotel responded very well, moving us to a nicer suite for the full 4 nights at no additional cost, and we had no major issues at all with the room after that. We had some minor issues with the shower, which seemed to take awhile to heat up, and where the water pressure was variable. But there are lots of nice touches at the hotel, such as a dessert treat in the evening, and the simply magnificent breakfast available. Henry and Ferney at the front desk were particularly helpful in assisting us throughout our stay. With only 18 rooms, the hotel never feels crowded, and we passed some quiet time reading by the pool upstairs. As long as the bug issue has been fully resolved, we would have no qualms about returning to this delightful little hotel, where the service really made us feel at home.

Room Tip: The music in the lobby can be a little loud - we could hear it in our room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado huésped

Gracias por escribir su valioso comentario, para nosotros ha sido un placer haberla atendido y es de mucha gratificación para nosotros recibir comentarios como el suyo los cuales nos motivan día a día seguir trabajando diariamente para hacer sus estadías inolvidables, esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente para tener el gusto de atenderla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    156
    28
    12
    24
See reviews for
63
274
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just went to Casa Canabal with my boyfriend for an AMAZING trip to Cartagena. The hotel is right outside of the walled city and is really a hidden treasure. It's a small boutique hotel and has such nice amenities included. The service is phenomenal and there are so many personal touches that make it such an enjoyable place. I would encourage people to stay in the Junior Suite with a bit more space and sunlight, but otherwise you can't go wrong with this hotel. If you are a person who does not like boutique hotels, this is not for you. But if you are in the market for something more intimate and unique, I would not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite. Much sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado huésped

Gracias por escribir su valioso comentario, para nosotros ha sido un placer haberla atendido y es de mucha gratificación para nosotros recibir comentarios como el suyo los cuales nos motivan día a día seguir trabajando diariamente para hacer sus estadías inolvidables, esperamos contar con su visita nuevamente para tener el gusto de atenderla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a very lovely hotel in Getsamani. I was a little worried about what we'd find considering the location it's in, but I was very pleased. We were greeted with welcome drinks when we arrived. The staff was very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. There are 2 pools at the hotel, we liked the rooftop one, as there was more privacy. The rooftop also has various shaded seating areas where you can curl up with a good book, or lounge chairs if you want to sit in the sun. They also have a bar that makes delicious fruity drinks. We liked that breakfast was included. It included fruit, bread, coffee & juice, and then you had several choices to choose from: pancakes, omelette, cereal, arepas, etc. The hotel has obviously had a massive renovation, and they did a beautiful job. It looks like they took their time and did things right, as well as used quality materials. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. I liked that housekeeping left candies on our bed in the evening. Little touches like that made it special. The bathroom shower had a wonderful rainfall showerhead, and great water pressure. There were cute little toiletries on a tray on the counter. Our room didn't have any windows looking to the outside, we did have a window that looked out over the pool. But we didn't really miss it, as the lighting is done in a very creative way. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old city, as well as several malls and lots of restaurants. If you'd rather not walk, there are always plenty of taxis around that will happily take you whereever you'd like to go. And their prices are pretty reasonable. We really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Casa Canabal, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laney86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Nos agrada leer su comentario donde expresa su agrado por alojarse en Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, esto nos llena de motivo para seguir esforzándonos por llenar las expectativas de nuestros clientes. Los esperamos en una próxima ocasión para recibirlos como se merecen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Casa Canabal is located on a busy street in the area of Getsemani. They are currently redoing streets and sidewalks, but that was not a deterrent for us. We had a two minute walk to the main areas of the walled city. The staff, including Leonardo, Henry, and Ana, as well as the housekeeping staff, maintenance, dining room, and Chef were so hospitable and friendly. The hotel itself has about 22 rooms. We chose a jr. suite facing the street. Surprisingly, we were not affected at all with any noise. Rooms are lush and pristine. The terraces and pool on the rooftop were great with ample seating, shade and towels. The hotel is a little gem.

Room Tip: Ask the desk clerk. He/ she will be happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Nos agrada leer su comentario donde expresa su agrado por alojarse en Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, esto nos llena de motivo para seguir esforzándonos por llenar las expectativas de nuestros clientes. Los esperamos en una próxima ocasión para recibirlos como se merecen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Cartagena is a bustling and wonderful place, however it was just bliss to stay in this beautiful boutique hotel. The hotel has been very attractively designed around a central landscaped pool and courtyard. The rooftop area has another pool and bar and is a lovely spot to spend some time. We arrived here without booking and ended up staying 6 nights. Our first room on the ground floor was a little small however as the air conditioning wasn't working we were moved to a larger room on the 2nd floor. The rooms generally don't have outside windows which is I suspect typical of the area. Breakfast was good and the staff were all very friendly although it was sometimes a little difficult to get a drink in the rooftop area.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are quite small. I think only one room in the hotel had a window to the outside. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Es para nosotros grato leer su publicación que muestra el deber cumplido de parte nuestra, su comentario nos alienta a seguir trabajando por brindar estadía placentera, tal como lo sintió usted. Lo esperamos nuevamente en nuestro Hotel para que siga disfrutando del mejor servicio que brinda Casa Canabal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel for a perfect get away, amazing service, nicest staff wanting to make ur stay even better, if u r coming for business the rooftop totally worth your time to have a quick drink or small snack. The rooms were pretty clean I liked the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroHdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Es para nosotros grato leer su publicación que muestra el deber cumplido de parte nuestra, su comentario nos alienta a seguir trabajando por brindar estadía placentera, tal como lo sintió usted. Lo esperamos nuevamente en nuestro Hotel para que siga disfrutando del mejor servicio que brinda Casa Canabal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good location in the Getsemani neighborhood. Lots of places to eat and drink. The neighborhood is not as touristed as some of the other neighborhoods, and less money too. I l paid $400 complete for 3 nights. Comfortable room with good bed, very nice bathroom with killer shower, Direct TV with lots of channels, bicycles available, one block from big supermarket.and excellent service from the front staff. Sound like a place you should stay?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Es para nosotros grato leer su publicación que muestra el deber cumplido de parte nuestra, su comentario nos alienta a seguir trabajando por brindar estadía placentera, tal como lo sintió usted. Lo esperamos nuevamente en nuestro Hotel para que siga disfrutando del mejor servicio que brinda Casa Canabal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 154 in Cartagena
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 154 in Cartagena
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 154 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 154 in Cartagena
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#62 of 154 in Cartagena
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Tripita Y Media Cra 10. # 31-39, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canabal House Hotel is located in the traditional Gethsemane district, 10 minutes from Rafael Nunez airport and steps from the convention center of the city. Our policy of personal customer service is especially designed for you and where we hope to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We have 18 rooms; Standard rhythms, Superior and Suites. You can also enjoy fine dining in our restaurant, created with local ingredients by our chefs. Disconnect will take pleasure in the world in the Spa, through its rituals, relax in the ambience of the Mirador Terrace and be tempted by our menu of cocktails and spirits at the Bar Lounge. Spaces that lead to know the city of Cartagena de Indias, declared by UNESCO Cultural Heritage and Historic Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing