We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Ranked #58 of 152 Hotels in Cartagena
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Perfect hotel for a short stay in Cartagena. The staff are very helpful and friendly, particularly if you don't know much Spanish. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if ever I return to this beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Guest

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    156
    28
    12
    24
See reviews for
63
274
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Lovely staff, all the time ready to help, book tours and restaurants.
New hotel, very beautiful area, with a fantastic rooftop.
Clean rooms. The superior room is quite small, but well equipped with great bath shower.
Location is good, close to central town, but sometimes we felt not safe to walk at night from old town at night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear guest

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a nice stay in this beautifully furnished boutique hotel in Getsemani. The standard room is a little small but well equipped, and while we would have appreciated having a window, the back rooms allow for more quietness than the street-facing ones. Breakfast was very good. We also enjoyed the roof terrace which is beautiful and nice to relax, although the 2 pools (on the terrace and on teh ground floor) are both too small to be able to swim.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is a mixed bag, not unlike many new establishments on the coast that are just beginning to receive tourists from abroad. When we entered the hotel, we were really taken by how beautiful it is, but by the end of my stay I did not feel we got proper value for the money we paid. The rooms are tidy and elegant, but the first Junior Suite we used lacked adequate sunlight and felt dungeon-like. The one we moved into was very loud from the street noise. The hotel maintains a huge rooftop deck, which is not very inviting and something much more cozy would be much better. The food is very hit-or-miss (breakfast items are much better than lunch or dinner). Service is uneven: the hotel told us they would pick us up at the airport, but no one ever showed. The street noise was a major problem one night, but it was not dealt with properly, either by asking the neighbor's jarringly loud house party to move indoors or by giving us a new room at the right time (i.e. before 1:30am). Upon leaving, we asked the staff to arrange a van to take us to Tayrona, but the van was told only to take us to Santa Marta, and we didn't realize this until the van deposited us 30 miles from our destination. All in all, you just get the sense that this is a new operation, and that they need some time to figure out how to provide full value for the money guests are paying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VP_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Customer,

We really apreciate your comment, it helps us to continue working hard for our continuous improvement .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We visited Colombia for a month out of a 4 month round the world trip and Casa Canabal was by far the best hotel we stayed out in Colombia and in the top 3 of our whole trip.
Beautiful and quiet rooms with great service and fab location. We personally prefered to be outside of the old Cartagena cidadel as there was much more atmosphere in the evening in Getsemani. Casa Canabal was like an oasis of luxury and peace.
The staff at Casa Canabal were really lovely and went out of their way to make our life easy (even organise doctor appointment for me).
I would love to go back one day and would definitely recommend it.
Karine

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paloma72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear customer,

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , comments like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here twice as we travelled along the coast and then came back. Both times we had a great stay although we learnt that there was a big difference between the standard and superior rooms for a small difference in cost - we took a superior on our return. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and going out of their way to find my pregnant girlfriend find a doctor for a scan. After staying at some disappointing "good" hotels and roughing it along the coast to Riohacha this was an oasis and very happy memories of chilling in the roof top pool. We also preferred the area it is in compared to a stay in the city. Generally in our 4 weeks in Colombia we struggled even with a good budget to get decent accommodation but this stood out as the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will get a better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbruce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear customer,

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , marks like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We left this morning very happy with our 4 night stay at Casa Canabal in Cartagena. We found this rather new and cute 16 room boutique hotel through our Colombian friend (originally from Medellin but now in Nebraska) who also stayed there at the same time as us. The decor is the traditional Spanish style but with a modern twist. We upgraded from the Standard to the Superior, which only had minor upgrades like a iPod docking station, mini bar and a safe. The website has more information but that's what I got… Our friends upgraded to the Junior Suite which was very spacious compared to our tiny room. But, I thought it was rather cozy. And of course clean! There are two pools in the hotel, one in the courtyard and the other on the rooftop. Yes, the roof top pool is pretty darn cool. Both pools are smallish but did its job of cooling us off on those hot and humid days. The English speaking staff were super friendly and always made sure we knew that they were available. I also loved the fresh fruit, granola and yogurt for breakfast and made to order eggs. The fact that the breakfast was included was totally a bonus.

The neighborhood is much more local since it's outside the walled city but then, if you want to experience all that Cartagena has to offer, staying at Casa Canabal might be that place. It's actually rather convenient… not too far from Exito, which leads you straight into the San Diego area, and close to Cafe Havana and The Australian Restaurant #1 on Trip advisor. It was a bit daunting the first day with all the locals milling about but soon got used to it and wondered how we were overwhelmed on the first day.

What I didn't like is that the rooms facing the courtyard/pool area did get noisy… We definitely came at off season so that hotel wasn't full but can't imagine how noisy it would be during the peak season.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Jr Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicoastalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanabal, Ejecutiva de Cuentas y Eventos at Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear customer,

is for us a pleasure reading your comments , marks like yours encourages us to continue working hard to make the customer experience as you are enjoyable at the hotel. We would love to welcome you again in this your home in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 152 in Cartagena
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 152 in Cartagena
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 152 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 152 in Cartagena
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Ana
Casa Santa Ana
#64 of 152 in Cartagena
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique

Property: Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle Tripita Y Media Cra 10. # 31-39, Cartagena 57, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 152 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canabal House Hotel is located in the traditional Gethsemane district, 10 minutes from Rafael Nunez airport and steps from the convention center of the city. Our policy of personal customer service is especially designed for you and where we hope to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We have 18 rooms; Standard rhythms, Superior and Suites. You can also enjoy fine dining in our restaurant, created with local ingredients by our chefs. Disconnect will take pleasure in the world in the Spa, through its rituals, relax in the ambience of the Mirador Terrace and be tempted by our menu of cocktails and spirits at the Bar Lounge. Spaces that lead to know the city of Cartagena de Indias, declared by UNESCO Cultural Heritage and Historic Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing