We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ceviche”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #47 of 669 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alemania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good ceviche”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to La Perla for lunch and had a very pleasant experience. Food was excellent and service friendly. Definitely y special style of food, no mainstream, varied but well balanced. Very good ceviches. I was a little bit disappointed about choice of wines (whites). Would have liked more choice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x_jorgito_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    177
    49
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche you can dream of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

La PErla has the secret to the most delicious ceviche I have ever had. Every time I go to Cartagena we stop by here just because Ceviche is on their menu!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MColijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Fresh fish seasoned to perfection, great service and fair price. Desert and wine options could be improved. A very good choice for dinner in Cartagena.

Helpful?
1 Thank MaxMauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Perla C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Perla, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recommendations about deserts and wine..we already sent this to the deparmtent in charge and we hope to solve this as soon as possible.

Lokking forward to hear from you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pearl among swine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

What a gem! The best restaurant in Cartagena! I had their signature martini, delish! appetizers, Shrimp cocktail and grilled octopus, yummy! Mains, Fish stew and grilled Seabass over risotto, wonderful! Shared a dessert, three milk soft custard with arequipe cream cheese, 10 out of 10! Food, service. Went back for second visit for our last night in Cartagena. Superb! Signature martini :) Cartagenian style shrimp cerviche, Seabass over lentils, yum! stuffed squid with veg,shrimp and creamy rice., fab! A bit difficult to cut, needed sharper knife. Squid ink on plate as decoration, makes a big mess on plate! But the taste is fantastic! They were out of the Disaronno orange carpaccio with lychee ice cream and gave us the limeno foam with meringue to try for free. We are not fans of meringue and the foam just wasn't our taste. Nothing wrong with it just not for us. A great end to a great wek in Cartagena.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Biananaingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Perla C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Perla, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for a wonderfull review and we are happy you enjoyed our martini and our food. We are also happy you had a second visit, so it says you really enjoyed the food at La Perla restaurant.

We are looking forward for your next visit and make it more special.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There are better restaurants in town...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently went to La Perla and were sorely disappointed with the overall experience.

I felt that the wait staff were too focused on their reservation book rather than ensuring a pleasant evening for their patrons. A number of them hovered around the front desk double and triple checking the book the entire night.

The food was ok but nothing to rave about. Seriously this is one of the most expensive restaurants in Cartagena and as a result should have done a better job with their food.

I would suggest to stay away from the meat dishes as these were too heavy (we had a bull's tail dish and a suckling/baby pig).

Ambiance was ok also but I didn't like the waitress looking over my shoulder and swooping in to clear the plate when I had just put down my fork... To then ask repeatedly how it was.

It wasn't that good.

Put simply, if you are I interested in Peruvian food I would recommend Cuzco instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene_Velasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing