We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location, very friendly staff and few bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chill House Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #134 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Best location ever! Inside the historic distric! Can be noisy until midnight in the front rooms. Has only two bathrooms, so there can be some lines during the morning and before sleeping.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they are the heart of this hostel. During the day from time to time they serve free lemonade.
The beds could be better, but you still can get a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JomarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

This place was horrible. The rooms were so tiny, there was no room for our bags anywhere! The kitchen and bathrooms were awful, the beds were so ridiculously saggy and uncomfortable both my boyfriend and i barely got a wink of sleep! I actually got sick when i lay down on the bed after eating because it is so sunken it made the food come back up my throat! Worst of all, we had a serious emergency back home and had to leave after 1 night and management refused to refund the rest of the 3 nights we paid for in advance in good faith! We gave them 4 hours notice to arrange a refund and they still did not give it to us! My boyfriend's swiss watch and iphone charger were stolen in this hostel. There was constant LOUD MUSIC on all the time and an unnecessary party atmosphere on a monday night, which was irritating after a long journey to get there and just wanting to relax. The staff was too young and annoying and unhelpful, find something with a basic level of comfort at the very least!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny82032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

we booked in 3 nights and on arrival you have to pay up front. We went for the air con dorm which had no room for anyones bags so 10-11 people stuff were scattered throughout the room. For this dorm and another 2 dorms there was only 2 showers with toilets for all. On the 2nd night music was still playing at 4am and the air con was set for 28C. we asked if this could be made lower and were told that 28C was ok. No one slept much that night as it was too hot. The 3rd night was like a night club. Loud music, drink and drugs being used right in front of you and the hostel staff did nothing. There is no escape to the loud music. There was 1 computer for use with internet but the staff seemed to be on that most of the time (facebook and youtube).Out of 11 months traveling this is the worst hostel i have ever stayed in. The only good thing is the location and the cleaner lady who was smiley and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I have stayed at 100's of hostels in my days of traveling, and this is the worst. There was 1 dirty bathroom for the 2 10 person dorms. 10 person is a term loosely used. at 4:30 in the morning they pulled 2 more mattresses in the room and put 3 more people on them. On the balcony area they put 4 more mattresses with 7 more people. The bed was terrible. Both on my bed and another persons in the room the wooden slats that hold up the mattress kept falling (unfortunately for the person sleeping under me) causing the mattress to then fall through. If you or the person in your bunk moved a small amount, it was like an earthquake. (see pictures). I booked online for 2 nights, and after my first sleepless night, sacrificed my 25,000 COP to not have to sleep there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Great location in the middle of the historic centre, really nice staff, some of the worst beds I’ve slept in. Mattress is so thin you can feel the uneven planks right through. Bedsheets did not feel clean. When I first got into bed I discovered a pile of black hairs on my pillow. The receptionist could not see the problem but eventually offered to change the sheets at the sight of my less-than-happy face. Still the linen felt unclean, it felt pricky like there were grains of sand or something and I still found hair on it.

Dorms are a bit crammed and the fact that there are no lockers or luggage storage doesn’t make it better. There are small lockers in the reception for valuables, but I could not fit my PC in there so they took it behind the reception.

As in most Colombian hostels breakfast is not included, but there is a kitchen for guests (and a huge supermarked, Exito, strategically nearby). There is a TV-room with a balcony and a small patio with one hammock and a bathtub-sized pool. As a solo traveller I really felt there were nowhere to hang out and meet fellow travellers; the TV-room does not encourage conversation. The hostel’s got potential, the building itself is nice, but they should just do something drastic about the furniture and the layout.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fgener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bilosevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
0.3 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 234 in Cartagena
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Media Luna Hostel
Media Luna Hostel
#42 of 234 in Cartagena
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 158 in Cartagena
737 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#26 of 158 in Cartagena
2,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Venecia
Hostal Casa Venecia
#46 of 234 in Cartagena
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill House Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill House Backpackers Hostel

Address: Calle de la Tablada # 7 - 12 | Plaza Fernando de Madrd, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chill House Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing